We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you see on the outside is different than on the inside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonrider Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonrider Inn
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What you see on the outside is different than on the inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The title is a good thing, the outside looks like someone ran over the place with three cans of paint. It needs a new coat of paint and a new color as well. The rooms are very nice, new carpet, bathroom, marble vanity, the whole enchilada. My room had this ginormous spa bathtub, it looked like one of those private spa rooms at fancy hotels. It had a glass panel that covered it and was very impressed with it. They have safe deposit boxes in the room to insure that the maids dont steal any of your valuables, ive had bad experiences in the past. So the safety deposit box is a plus. For a motel in this condition, i must say not bad. Their still in the process of renovating as i heard and they hope to finish everything by the fall of 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for the wifi password when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurtisSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pocono'Mtn, Pa.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We checked in early,watched a little tv and then went to eat dinner. When we returned the TV was out and did not return until the next morning as we were checking out. They blamed it on the cable supplier but I don't know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shreveport hotels

shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

hi,my name is Teresa , I just want to say that ,i remember what the Pelican used to be like ,because i used to work here in 2004...Yes it had a very bad reputation,but like people,things can change for the better..Now i am staying at the Pelican ,we tried the regency,but the management wasn't very professional and the bad things i think have moved over there.then the marrington,but it was to loud in the hall ways and the pool wasn't clean,couldn't get on wifi the whole time we were there.So i came over and look at the rooms at the Pelican and was very imprest,see i worked at the Quaility inn which is a choice hotel and the rooms at pelican were cleaner then ones at the quailty inn,the staff here are superb,the pool is wonderfully clean they have a nice barbeque area by the pool,frankly i am very impressed with the change around here ,and am really enjoying our stay here....Everyone needs to give the Pelican another chance and check it out for yourself..... Thank you Pelican Inn,we are really enjoying our stay here....

Room Tip: it is very quit around here.get a room around the pool,i love waking up to see the beautiful blue wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long View, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at this property all last week. They have just re-opened. It has been renovated. It is great! The service was the best at any property that I have stayed in the area, very FRIENDLY!

Room comfortable & clean. I understand it is under new ownership as well as management.
If you have to stay in the Shreveport-Bossier City Area. you need to give them a try....our company has made them our new place to lodge.We are out of Longview,Texas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickLongView_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Moonrider Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks for your support. Glad to hear you enjoy staying with us. The Brand New Pelican Inn & Suites wants to be a place where our guest can feel like home. Be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to serve you better in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

The Hookers Kept You Up All Night
Scary Blood Stains And Holes In The Wall
Fighting Outside
The Pool Was Never Clean

The Hotel Went Out Of Business And Is Still Out
The Health Department Closed It Down Becuase It Was In Bad Shape...If It Ever Opens Up I Wouldnt Reccomend Staying There, My Advice Would Be Drive In To Bossier City Which Is Probably 5-10 Miles From The Pelican And Stay At The Days Inn

The Pelican Inn Is An All Around Bad Hotel.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmanningboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shreveport hotels
1.9 mi away
Motel 6 Shreveport
Motel 6 Shreveport
#30 of 37 in Shreveport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 37 in Shreveport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#5 of 37 in Shreveport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Medical Center
1.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Shreveport Airport
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrider Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrider Inn

Property: Moonrider Inn
Address: 5215 Monkhouse Drive, Shreveport, LA 71109-6511 (Formerly Pelican Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonrider Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a happy day at Moonrider Inn & Suites Shreveport! We are bringing back a place in time that has a deep social history in Shreveport. Our new owners and management team are hand crafting a happy country Inn offering true Southern hospitality experience to travelers in United States and around the world, right here in Northwest Louisiana with a Authentic Louisiana sense of place Conveniently located at the doorstep of Shreveport Regional (SHV) Airport and TAC Air private aircraft airport. Easy on/off IH 20 close to IH -49 and IH-220. Center point connecting East Texas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, to all points within the US. Located near Louisiana Texas state line. & minutes to downtown CBD, University Health, State Fair ground, 6 Vegas style casinos /riverboats and entertainment district. Super Walmart, national brand fast service restaurants, local specialty restaurants, major drug stores, local and national retailers. major medical facilities nearby. Area attractions, lakes, nature , gaming excitement, great local shopping . Our team members are all locally based and very knowledgeable of the region. The hotel offers fresh,clean rooms,comfortable beds for the best value for your money. We have different room types from Single , Double, King to Family and Jacuzzi suites to accommodate your needs for any occasions. . The Inn has open easy walkable corridors with two stories offering direct access to your room. park in front. No elevator wait. No long walk in winding hallways. We have the largest, cleanest outdoor swimming pool in the area with children friendly 3.5' shallow side to a 9'deep end. A multi gills covered gazebo provides the best outdoor gathering place for friends and family. We also have a most loved chef own and operated Cajun Creole restaurant Crescent City Bistro right here on-site. Executive Chef Darrell Johnson welcomes you with his fresh, made from scratch creations Wednesday to Sunday from 11 AM-9 PM. CCB offers a great Sunday JAZZ Brunch. We are the lodging of choice for business, commercial, leisure travelers . Family reunion headquarters in the new South .Event, Meeting, Conference planner planner welcomed. We are not a fancy brand hotel , just a down-home privately own country Inn with a passion in Caring for you the traveler in everything we do. Moonrider Inn and Suites " Your home away from home, stay a day, stay a while ". Come treat yourself to Southern Hospitality today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Moonrider Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing