We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep. We will be back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jimador Mexican Grill

El Jimador Mexican Grill
Ranked #41 of 488 Restaurants in Shreveport
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yep. We will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We pass thru the Shreveport area every 6 to 8 weeks on business and this past time we happened to be thru on Mother's Day. We picked El Jimador because of it's reviews here on TA. Thanks, you, as usual did not let us down. They were very busy but because it was just the two of us we were seated quickly. Menu is extensive, chips and salsa are very good and I was given a complementary queso dip because it was Mother's Day. Entrees were great and very filling. The live music was a special treat and very amusing too. They were making all the Mom's feel special and even got a special piece of cake too. Did not leave hungry at all. Thanks to the staff at El Jimador for a lovely Mother's Day lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tannedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stumbled across El Jimador while reading trip advisor and searching for new Mexican restaurants. This one is a little off the beaten path, but well worth the journey. The building appeared to be new construction, and the interior was well-appointed., We both ordered the "Special Dinner" which consists of much of the food offerings, including chili relleno, meat taco, beef (shredded) enchilada, tamale, quesadilla, guacamole and rice and beans. The food was very good, with the spices being different in each dish. While we waited for the food, we had their excelent salsa and chips, and ended up ordering a take-out of the salsa it was so flavorful, but not too spicy. (We like it hot, most people do not.). The meal, although a complex offering, was out and on our table in less than 10 minutes. Javier, our server, was efficient and courteous. We will definitely return, and the sooner the better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemax1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new Favorite Mexican Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We went for the first time tonight (busy Friday night). We were seated right away. Drinks and appetizers brought quickly. Great frozen strawberry margarita. Had the chicken chimichanga with white queso on top, which was SO good! Great Service. Family friendly. Will definitely be back!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overbrook, Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place, margaritas were great, food couldn't have been better and the Thurs night we were there they had a guitar/singing fella who was the best part of the whole day! Could have listened to him all evening. Don't miss this place, we love good Mexican food and eat it often - this place was tops!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcher, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Great cooking and excellent service. I have gone several including going with a large group and the staff was great. The carnidas are excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Major345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jimador Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Jimador Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing