We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not kid friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great customer service, clean rooms, and nice location if you plan to site see. Located downtown. Booked on Hotels.com and they dropped the ball on our booking so we got the room at a really great rate. This is not a place for families with children. It's more for couple getaways, business associates or relaxation getaways. The complimentary breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krembert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Remington Suite Hotel & Spa during your recent stay in Shreveport. We pride ourselves on commitment to the highest standards of customer service. Our professional and friendly staff is committed to ensuring that every guest’s stay is pleasurable. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Tujague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    59
    13
    2
    10
See reviews for
72
111
15
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolfforth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel was everything it sells itself as. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms incredibly spacious. The beds...well, I have a phobia about hotel mattresses, this was the most comfortable and clean bed I've slept on in a hotel in years. Over the top pillows, comforters etc. It was easily walking distance to several restaurants. My daughters and I spent an afternoon sightseeing and window shopping, while my husband had business meetings, and it was within just a few minutes walk of the hotels front door. I can't say enough. I loved my stay here and will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Renoir room (all the rooms are named after artists). It was very quiet. Almost lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyintexas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the nicest hotel in Shreveport, hands down. I chose this property for my wedding night because of the attention to detail, service received, well appointed accommodations, and genuine hospitality. We felt our only other option was a casino, or the local Hilton (where I am a HHonors member), but, I did not want to spend my wedding night in a casino. I found the guest service at a nearby casino to be average when I toured the rooms, and the Hilton, being a business hotel, would not offer the unique features and romance that I was looking for. The Remington was exactly what we needed!

The Remington is a true, boutique hotel, designed after a European property. Each room is named for, and themed after a well known artist. You will not find another property like this is Shreveport-Bossier. Since our stay was only for one night, I can not speak to many of the amenities that are offered (i.e. spa, pool, fitness center, dining options); however, I can tell you that the service here is unparalleled in Shreveport. Each room is unique, warm, and inviting. The bed was outstanding, and well appointed with fresh, soft linens, and pillows.

I had my luggage taken to Shreveport early that morning (prior to the wedding) along with 3 dozen roses to be spread throughout the room. The guest services team ensured that all our luggage and items were delivered to our room, and setup prior to our arrival that evening.

Valet parking is your best bet, as the metered spaces (which are free nights/weekends) tend to fill up fast. I would have liked my check in to be completed prior to our arrival, but the delay was very minimal. Also, a bellman would have been a tremendous help, as we had some additional luggage items (Brides Basket, and gown bag) that were a bit cumbersome.

Upon check out, I found the lady at the front desk to be almost family like in her hospitality. She even walked out to the curb and made small talk with us while we loaded our cab, and hugged my bride sharing her "congratulations." We both remarked that we will be staying here again in the future, and I would highly recommend it to any traveler looking for a gem in and otherwise mediocre destination for lodging.

Room Tip: I toured several rooms prior to our stay and did not find one that would have left me disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSFMEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

From the moment we stepped foot into the foyer, we knew this was a very special hotel! Besides great amenities and excellent service, the hotel offers a quiet morning Bible Study to anyone interested. We studied on How to Experience God's Peace in a Chaotic World - just what we needed in this season of our lives! We left rested, refreshed, encouraged and blessed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had to be in Shreveport for a funeral. The staff were absolutely wonderful. The rooms were very nice and comfortable but for me the make or break of a hotel is the bed. The beds were as good as any I have had in any 5 star hotel. I slept GREAT as did everyone. The coffee makers were Keurig which in my opinion are superior. Our room also had a refrigerator and free wi-fi. I am so sick of really nice hotels charging for wi-fi (Four Seasons Philadelphia). Everything about this hotel was comfortable and soothing. The only down sides were so minimal: the floor in bathroom had not been mopped behind the door and although not filthy it showed. Also some very minor mold in one corner of the shower. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NGW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I travel to Shreveport from time to time on business and stumbled across this place quite by accident, or rather my secretary did when she was looking to book me a room earlier this year. I've stayed at the Remington Suites several times and won't consider staying anywhere else on my next trip.

What a pleasant surprise. I've stayed in hotels that cost five times as much that weren't as nice as the Remington Suites. When I tell people one of my favorite hotels is in Shreveport, they look at me like I just grew a third eyeball, but it's true.

There's really nothing to eat for dinner in downtown Shreveport within walking distance that you won't get sick of pretty fast, but aside from that, this place is just about perfect. This hotel is a very nice, pleasant little surprise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJM627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This small hotel is simply great! Very personalized service. Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean hotel, in rooms & everywhere else. Nice indoor pool, hot tub, full service spa, weight room, and onsite barber too. Quiet, peaceful rooms with comfortable beds. Even though the complimentary breakfast is continental, it is way above average from the usual continental fare. Good hotel location also. The best part- a small 2 room suite here is less expensive (even with the valet parking added in bill) than most chain hotels around that don't offer near the quality stay! This hotel will spoil you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBook007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#2 of 37 in Shreveport
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
0.6 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#6 of 35 in Bossier City
4,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport-Bossier City/Downtown
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#8 of 37 in Shreveport
242 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport

Property: The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Address: 220 Travis St, Shreveport, LA 71101-3298
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
#1 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#5 Family Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Shreveport's downtown business and entertainment district, The Remington Suite Hotel & Spa has no equal in its class. What began as Shreveport's oldest pharmacy in 1907 was converted into a hotel in 1986. Renovations began in 2006 under new ownership and has since been converted into the stunning establishment it is today. Refurnished and redecorated, The Remington has undergone some amazing changes since its rebirth. A gorgeous lobby, two separate indoor event spaces, a rooftop event space, a fully-serviced spa, an indoor pool and hot tub, a full service bar, and The Gerard Butler Movie Theater are among the amenities The Remington holds. The rooms are spacious and elegant, with 5 classes of suites to choose from. Each room offers a bathtub with Jacuzzi jet, a kitchenette, a safe for valuables, and one of the most comfortable beds you'll ever sleep in. We at The Remington take pride in maintaining our rooms and common areas to provide consistent comfort and charm. We welcome you to The Remington Suite Hotel & Spa, Shreveport's premier boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Remington Hotel Shreveport
Remington Suite Shreveport
Remington Suite Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing