We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice suite older hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice suite older hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Remington for a family wedding. The lobby of the hotel was beautiful and the staff was great. The valet service was super fast and the free breakfast had a lot of options. Our room had been renovated however the bathroom was dated and the floor could have used some bleach. Also our window faced directly into another building which was not ideal and I wish they would have told me this upon booking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxtigers8511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding our historic property and Shreveport’s only boutique hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The Remington features 22 suites, each suite is unique in its own way from furnishings to views. The beauty about the Remington is that no two suites are the same, so upon your next stay we will be sure to accommodate you accordingly. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope next time you are in Shreveport, you will “Remember The Remington!”

Jeremy Tujague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    51
    13
    2
    10
See reviews for
65
102
15
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed the weekend of June 28-30 for a girl's weekend. Everyone there was great! The ladies at the front desk remembered us by name. They treated us like friends, not guests. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. There weren't the usual loud noises or kid's running through the halls at all hours like the big chain hotels. Breakfast was wonderful. Would give it more stars if I could...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txchic1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Remington because we had a sleepover with 5 girls to celebrate 5th grade graduation. I was told by the manager Jeremy that we had 3 too many people in our room so there was an extra charge of $20 per person. Ok, I understood that no problem. The offense took place when he told us that he checked & the kids weren't causing any problems & were quiet However, if we made any noise we would be Asked to leave. Why am I offended, because unknowing to Jeremy, I just recently stayed at the hotel(my 5th stay) and their was a family with a bunch of kids running up & down the hall, making loud noise & going in & out of doors but they were not asked to leave but we were threaten we could be dismissed. Was it because we were African American?...the other family was not. So needless to say the kids didn't enjoy themselves because they were afraid if they laughed to loud after 10pm, we would get put out!! But overall it's a great hotel & Kate is Amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, Manager at The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concern. To better improve our service, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We want to thank you for being a loyal, repeat guest of The Remington. We apologize that your most recent stay with us was not as pleasant as you had hoped. Per our hotel policy, we have a suggested occupancy of 2 adults per suite with a maximum of 3 adults or 4 persons. We do however make occasional exceptions for families with children. The Remington Suite Hotel is very proactive in assuring all of our guests are able to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing stay. I can assure you that our hotel policy is applied to all guests and not on a selection basis; verbally and in writing on their guest registration which is signed upon check in. Here at the Remington, we pride ourselves in customer service and providing a hands-on experience like no other. While we believe our people make the difference, we know beyond a doubt that our guests make us who we are. Because of you, and those you have referred to us, The Remington Suite Hotel & Spa is the proud recipient of the 2013 Trip Advisor “Certificate of Excellence Award” for being consistently rated the “#1 Hotel in Shreveport” , Shreveport Chamber of Commerce “2012 Small Business of the Year Award” and the Better Business Bureau “Customer Commitment Award for 2012.

Again, we thank you for your feedback.

Jeremy Tujague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel has all the special touches that make one's stay so enjoyable. The whole staff was super nice and accommodating. The hotel has it's own charm with warm and inviting décor. The breakfast was wonderful with great food and coffee. The room had comfortable beds and a little kitchen. It's a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jk502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight for our anniversary, what a classy hotel with wonderful amenities. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean, quite, and just top notch! The bed was so comfortable!! We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm so glad I did. The location is safe and convenient, the decor is rich and warm. The stone floors and all the dark wood add to the upscale but comfortable (non-stuffy) ambiance. The attention to detail is also impressive - I loved the dining table sets in the breakfast area with the little ceramic birds on the chair backs. I know that's a small thing but it's one of a multitude of "small things" that made me notice how beautiful this hotel is. All of the staff were exceedingly friendly, and the little box of chocolates delivered after check-in was a nice touch. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, both very nice, and again with the back drop of exposed brick wall, admired the ambiance and "boutique ness" of this place that made me never want to see a chain hotel again. Really, there is no comparison. Breakfast was a cut above the usual continental fare and wifi was decent. The bed was suuuuper comfy. My only disappointment was the $20 plus tax to park my car. I felt okay about leaving it on the street until it was stressed that their garage had 24-hour full security, then either way I was going to feel a little buzz kill...either insecure about my car overnight or reluctant about adding 22 bucks to my bill. I don't like buzz kills on vacation! But, as you can see, I'm still rating this lovely hotel a 5, so the parking situation was a small thorn in an otherwise lovely Remington rose!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite because my teenagers thought a two-level room would be "so cool" bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I are from California and recently stayed at the Remington Suites Hotel in Shreveport.
We LOVED the decor and ambience of this boutique hotel. Every attention to detail was covered. The suites were beautifully decorated with inviting comfortable bedding that beckoned you.
From the warm friendly staff who were there to make sure your stay was perfect to fabulous homemade "red beans and rice" meal that was served for guest on sunday evenings!
We felt like we had stepped back in time with all the southern hospitality we received.

We only had a few days in Shreveport but we had such a great time at the Remington, we are planning to go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are suites and uniquely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#2 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
0.6 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#3 of 35 in Bossier City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shreveport West
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#9 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport

Property: The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Address: 220 Travis St, Shreveport, LA 71101-3298
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
#1 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#5 Family Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Shreveport's downtown business and entertainment district, The Remington Suite Hotel & Spa has no equal in its class. What began as Shreveport's oldest pharmacy in 1907 was converted into a hotel in 1986. Renovations began in 2006 under new ownership and has since been converted into the stunning establishment it is today. Refurnished and redecorated, The Remington has undergone some amazing changes since its rebirth. A gorgeous lobby, two separate indoor event spaces, a rooftop event space, a fully-serviced spa, an indoor pool and hot tub, a full service bar, and The Gerard Butler Movie Theater are among the amenities The Remington holds. The rooms are spacious and elegant, with 5 classes of suites to choose from. Each room offers a bathtub with Jacuzzi jet, a kitchenette, a safe for valuables, and one of the most comfortable beds you'll ever sleep in. We at The Remington take pride in maintaining our rooms and common areas to provide consistent comfort and charm. We welcome you to The Remington Suite Hotel & Spa, Shreveport's premier boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Remington Hotel Shreveport
Remington Suite Shreveport
Remington Suite Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing