We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it and romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mabry House Restaurant

Mabry House Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 488 Restaurants in Shreveport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fine dining restaurant, evening only, tue-sat, reservations recommend, proper business casual dress required, perfect for special occasions.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth it and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Mabry House is and very romantic setting, the food is an experience. A little pricey but worth it for a wonderful dinning experience. Beautiful victorian house, with all the finery of a lovely table. Also service was exceptional. Yes will will return to Mabry House.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    5
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Utah
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This restaurant is worth every penny and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This would be the perfect location for a proposal. The food was fantastic. The host even gave us a tour of the entire building. They have an amazing chef's table in the kitchen.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner alone or with a friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Everything is original and described at your table - no menus necessary...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

It you are looking for a wonderful, quiet dinner and an experience - try the Mabry House you will not be dissapointed - Fresh items on the menu - all dishes are well prepared - staff is very upscale.

Helpful?
1 Thank mjoyandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Good, Maybe declining a little”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We discovered Mabry House restaurant about 8 years ago based on a referral from a colleague. We were looking for a nice, quiet place with excellent food for a special occasion like an anniversary or birthday. My wife and I love to eat and when we do on these occasions, we like to talk while we eat. Not a lot of places in Shreveport are places were you can have an easy conversation over food. Mabry House was exactly what we wanted. Other have described the setting. There are three serving rooms downstairs with 6 or 7 tables in each. The upstairs can accommodate a larger party and used to be a hot spot for pharmaceutical company reps to wine and dine local physician groups. The food has always been excellent although we may be getting jaded or maybe the food is a little less fantastic recently (the sorbet is commercial rather than home made as in earlier visits). Waiters had worked there a long time and knew the food as well as the chef. I have noticed that both the long term waiters have left for other restaurants. While the Mabry House's small size serving areas are nice, the tables are a little closer than I like, and it is not uncommon to find a table of four sitting beside my wife and me and their conversation becomes part of our table. It doesn't take a lot for a close table to be "loud". Several have mentioned the Chef Table. We tried to book this one time but were told that the table could only be reserved for a group of four or more and could nnot be booked by a couple. Seemed a strange policy to me, but I assume they want the Chef's Table to generate more revenue. Mabry House is not cheap by any means, but continues to be one of those few places that is good for a quiet special evening of grown-ups (without a gaggle of young children) eating some very well prepared food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabry House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mabry House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing