We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Chianti Restaurant

Chianti Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 498 Restaurants in Shreveport
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Weve been there maybe a dozen times over the last several years. I'm from N NJ where there are many good Italian restaurants and have gone back there many times over the last 10 yeras. This place ranks up with the best . The service is always good and so is the food.

It is not a spaghetti /pizza palace but a more refined place with soft music and a good N. Italian menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RfoxtrotMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I Can't Wait to DO IT AGAIN here!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was visiting an friend from years past and we decided to go to dinner. She recommended Chianti's. So we went.
We were both in the Live Show/Theater business for the last 20 years and understand about being on stage or in SHOW MODE!
Well everyone at Chianti's was in SHOW MODE!
A very romantic atmosphere with mood lighting, quaint table settings and excellent waiters/waitresses.
It was like something out of a movie! Bill (I think that was his name) was so personable and a marvelous waiter.
The atmosphere was perfect, the food was perfect, the wine was perfect, the service was perfect and the valet out front was perfect!
The memories of most places you visit nowadays all kind of run together after awhile, but NOT THIS MEMORY!
I will remember this forever and will be a customer every time i get to Shreveport.
I WILL DO IT AGAIN HERE!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cliffsiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I pass thru Shreveport about 6 times a year. We discovered Chianti accidentally and what a find! We now spend the night in Shreveport so we can dine here. Our favorites are any of the veal dishes, although all the food is wonderful. We recently, for starters, each had ceasar salads, then escargot and crab claws. For entree we had the Signature veal and veal marsala, fantastic! For desert the tiramisu. Wonderful wines and great coffee! You will be asked if you would like to dine in the dining room or in the piano/bar area. We choose the dining room where the music is heard soft enough for good conversation. We love the atmosphere and the feel. Our server was Michael and he was very attentive without making us feel rushed or in need of anything. All we wish is that it was closer to our home so we could go more often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Shreveport”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Best veal in the Ark-LA-Tex. Everything on the menu is good. The older wait staff is consistently good, but an occasional new waiter may irritate you. Don't go home mad though, if your order comes out wrong, ask them to redo it. I like the snails, but sometimes, they are overcooked and rubbery... that's maybe four times in the last 15 years. Seriously, I would rather eat a Chianti's than anywhere in N.O., N.Y. or Dallas. Generally, the older clientele frowns on young children in the restaurant, but if they are well behaved, it's no problem. One evening Nicolas Cage was there with his wife and young son at the next table; the youngster was so quiet and well behaved that it was no problem at all. The desserts are to die for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Old School feel”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Awesome delicious consistent food, service that makes you feel like its always a special occasion. It can be romantic or fun casual if you go on a jazz night

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rawfugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti Restaurant also viewed

Bossier City, LA
 

Been to Chianti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing