We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Treasure in Shreveport”

R. W. Norton Art Gallery
Ranked #1 of 60 things to do in Shreveport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum chronicles more than four centuries of American and European art featuring the works of Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell. The springtime sees more than 10,000 azaleas bloom in the museum's garden.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure in Shreveport”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This art gallery's exhibits have "Quality and Quantity;" great works by famous artists and a huge collection of works of art in multiple forms (more than one can see in a single visit). An impressive gallery building, free admission, helpful guides, well-labeled works of art, and free parking close to the gallery make this museum a great one for all to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPGTheATeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    51
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I love art museums, and when our family moved to Shreveport this was one of the first places we visited. It wasn't that great, it wasn't bad, but definitely not great. We tried really hard to make the visit enjoyable, but overall it was pretty stuffy and boring. The gardens were great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art Hideaway”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was such a beautiful museum in a pretty neighborhood. I really enjoyed the dolls and guns. The grounds are expansive and have walking trails. Admission is free and is such a nice retreat from the city. Plan for 1-2 hours

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Americanflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFAYETTE
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting Exhibits”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The R.W. Norton Art Gallery is tucked away in an older neighborhood in South Shreveport. My wife and I enjoyed the Rodan scultors, the doll collection and the supperb collection of hand guns and rifles. The paintings were nice but saw nothing that we felt was exceptional, except for a large Monet, that we enjoyed. Many of the frames on the paintings were way more interesting than the paintings. If you enjoy art and want to stay out of the heat, it's free to everyone and a great way to spend part of an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imaspacecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“What an amazing place”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our first visit and what an amazing collection of art! The gun collection surprised us but was very interesting. There's a great mix of sculptures and paintings. I enjoy the Stuben glass collection. Too hot for us to enjoy the outside art but look forward to returning in the fall so we can see that too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R. W. Norton Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to R. W. Norton Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing