We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the plane fanatic!”

Barksdale Global Power Museum
Ranked #5 of 64 things to do in Shreveport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Military museum features authentic uniforms, battle exhibits and aircraft dating back to World War I.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for the plane fanatic!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Brought my 2 kids & my nephew to see the museum & planes. It was a fantastic trip! Would do it again! Loved all the planes outside!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daralilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    54
    13
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilmer, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This museum is on the grounds of Barksdale AFB and had several planes outside to view. There was a SR-71 Blackbird on display which I thought was amazing since this was a top secret plane for such a long time. Was able to see WWII bombers up close as well as currently used bombers B52's. While there a B52 took off at Barksdale AFB so we were able to see one of these giants in flight.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DownsFamily622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went here on a day trip and had a very good time.Our boys even found it very interesting. So much history and the planes were amazing! If you are planning a trip to Shreveport you have to check this place out. You won't regret it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport/Bossier City, LA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful museuem run by volunteers”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

While not a "top Tier" museum, displays are wonderfully arranged, even a tribute to Pres. Bush's speech given from BAFB on 9/11. "Indoor" exhibits are alwaus being updated by the all-volunteer staff, and done well. Nice array of military aircraft on static display (sad to say, but they are outdoors), Also, a great little gift shop. Please leave them a nice tip, as it is again "all volunteer". Located right inside the "north gate" of BAFB, and best of all, it's FREE!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rouxroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEBASTIAN
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a long walk”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Interesting display of aircraft, but a long hike to see them. The pictures of flight history are comprehensive. The entire museum is rather small. I expected more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NORMAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barksdale Global Power Museum also viewed

 

Been to Barksdale Global Power Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing