We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of good here, some issues though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lots of good here, some issues though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel had its ups and downs during my stay. I was here for over 2 weeks so I saw almost everything there is to see here. I was in a king suite.

The pros:
Great layout! The room itself is well appointed with an "island" style room divider/work station. So there is tons of work top area to spread out on. And the TV is on a swivel mount so you can watch TV from the couch, desk, or bed.

There are lots of plugs throughout the room and at easily accessible locations. And the lighting is positioned so that it lights up the entire room. This hotel must have been remodeled not too long ago as not all the Hampton Inns have been updated in this way.

There is a good breakfast similar to most Hampton Inns. There are a lot of guys here for work though, so breakfast can run out quickly around the 6am-6:30am time.

The location is near a lot of restaurants, a Wal-Mart, and 3 gas stations, which is good for those who are working long hours and need these things close by.

The laundry company they use is Porter's which has awesome service. They also manage to get out old stains from my work clothes.

The front desk staff is very friendly and was able to accommodate me when my business trip ran long and I had to stay for 2 extra days. I appreciate that immensely!

The fitness center and pool were both very nice. The fitness center had a weight machine in addition to the treadmill and elliptical.


The cons:
The toilet has the type of seat seat missing the front part of the toilet seat.

There is water damage on wall closest to the shower that was there before I arrived.

The sink is slow draining which was a constant problem.

The shower has issues with maintaining temperature. The temp will change from burning hot to cold and back again within the space of a 10 minute shower.


Housekeeping:
The housekeeping staff was great about the little touches that make the hotel room look extra special. The only thing was that they always took the open bar soap from the bathroom even though the bars were only used once. I had even left a note asking not to take the soaps until they were used up more so I don't have to unwrap new ones every night.

Room Tip: I was in room 124, which is one of the closest to an exit and to the pool and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    80
    23
    11
    16
See reviews for
147
60
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Love the beds here! The man who checked me in was beyond rude; however, the woman who was there during check-out brightened up the whole lobby and started my morning off beautifully. Other than the night clerk, my bathroom shower curtain smelled very musty. I just closed the door and spent minimum time there. The hotel is nice, and otherwise clean. Again, love the beds! They have a nice touch in the mornings with a "breakfast to go" bag, which I appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff go above and beyond friendly. We stayed in the king suite which was a really nice room except the bathroom vanity is outside of the bathroom next to the bed. Turning on the vanity light makes it impossible for someone to sleep. I ended up brushing my teeth and washing my face in the dark. We didn't really care for their pillows but our poor sleep quality was due to the person stomping around on the floor above us. Next time, I'll pack my own pillow, request a room on the top floor, and make sure the bathroom vanity is actually in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank paintslinger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Friendly staff and overall good experience. Only suggestion would be to improve lighting in the room. The room I stayed in had no light fixture on or near the desk, making the desk useless after dark!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The family were here for a wedding and family reunion.The room was top notch, hotel was quiet at night, comfortable beds, breakfast in the morning was excellant than other Hamptons I've stayed in. Close to a serveral strip malls & other stores. Family enjoyed the indoor pool althought it was not heated (heater broken but we were warned). The staff were friendly and gladly met all of needs. When we ever get back to Shreveport we would want to stay here every time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on April 9th. Very clean and great staff. Looks like it opened yesterday, but has been open 3 years. If in area in the future, I would stay there again. They really work hard to keep nice and clean. A very large and good breakfast. Near fast foods and a couple of hospitals.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstribling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hampton. The room was so nice and clean. The bedding was first rate and so comfortable. They thought of everything including packs of popcorn to pop in the microwave. The flat screen TVs were awesome as were all the bath products supplied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shreveport hotels
6.6 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Shreveport Airport
9.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#4 of 37 in Shreveport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Shreveport
Homewood Suites Shreveport
#8 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South
Address: 8340 Millicent Way, Shreveport, LA 71115-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shreveport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
#3 Business Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South Hotel Shreveport
Hampton Inn And Suites Shreveport-South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing