We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed the night of August 13, 2014, in room 2207. It was very comfortable, clean, and roomy. LOVED the vanity area with the light-up makeup mirror. There was a small refrigerator in my room, which was quite unexpected for a casino hotel. From my experience at previous casino hotels - both in the Shreveport area and in Las Vegas - refrigerators are not provided because they want you to spend your money buying food and drinks from them.

My bed was very comfortable and there was no outside noise. Since I was on a concierge floor, a delicious continental breakfast was provided in the concierge lounge. I would definitely stay here again. The price was unbeatable for such a great room.

The only (very small) negative about this hotel is that the selection of TV stations leaves much to be desired. If you like sports or news, there is a great selection; otherwise there are only a few channels. This again lends itself to a casino hotel, I'm guessing; they want you downstairs in the casino and not in your room watching TV!

Room Tip: I can vouch for the rooms my party stayed in - 2205, 2207, and 2211. They were all clean, quiet, an...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Ok I am not picky but the bathroom had hair all over, and don't bring your kids , Ok I understand making the pool 21 and over after Dark but heck check in is 4 and at 6 they make the pool 21 and over! Look Sam's Town, 21 and over is fine, but make it from 10 pm, most Kids are in bed by then just saying, this place needs to rethink some of their policies!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. As you mentioned we have recently changed the hours that guests under 21 years of age can enter the pool area. The policy change was put into place for the comfort and exclusivity for our guests that are 21 and over. Remember that all guests can enjoy our pool area until 6:00 PM everyday.

Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had made a quick, unexpected trip to Shreveport for a weekend in February. Sam's Town was very accommodating. Staff at check-in was very friendly. Room was surprisingly nice. Only complaint was from excessive noise on the floor of my room. Apparently, someone was having a party. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TonyaHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel before and it is actually really impressive. Each time, however, the casino leaves something to be desired. There is no "atmosphere". It's just a bunch of horrible fluorescent lighting, table games and slot machines. They really need to do some renovating. You are better off walking next door to El Dorado's casino even if you are staying in the Sam's Town hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Oriley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

I would like to thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that we are constantly updating all facets of our services and products to meet our customers’ high expectations. Your candid feedback has already been passed on to our Hotel Management so these issues can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Check in area was not easy to find. A/C in room was not working properly and had to deal w/maintenance in getting it repaired. Fire alarm went off for no reason. Room was by ice/vending machines and was noisy all night. Food at restaurant was mediocre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank terrig308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for posting comments regarding your most recent stay. We apologize that your experience was not satisfactory, and we can assure you that these issues will be researched and resolved. We strive to provide a notable experience and it is customer feedback such as this that helps us to do just that. We would hope that you give us another chance to give you the type of experience that we have become known for in the Shreveport-Bossier market.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

July 31-Aug 2,We got here on Thursday evening,the room very nice and spacious,the staff very friendly and welcoming,the bathroom in the room,could have been cleaned more thoroughly the casino is so so,we played a lot lost a lot,we ventured out to other casinos in the area,the buffet left a lot to be desired,smokey joes awful,the Java cafe was ok,housekeeping can do a little better,

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayoubella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I would like to thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that our culinary staff is constantly working to improve and also update the products in each outlet in order to meet our customers’ high expectations. Your candid feedback has already been passed on to our Management Team so the additional issues you mentioned can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have stayed at this Casino Hotel for several years. My current stay has moved me to post a review.
The hotel rooms get high marks. They are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. They are a value for the prices charged. Bedding is excellent. The only negartive in the rooms is the internet service. The wif-fi here VERY inconsistant. I have had to re-connect to the service several times per evening. The speed is also inconsistent, very slow at times.
The lows at this casino hotel are the International Buffet, and the Casino itself.
The buffet has dropped in quality dramatically from what it used to offer. The food does not look appetizing, and the taste often confirms the appearance. Even the selection of dishes has diminished. I suggest a walk next door to the buffet at the Eldorado Hotel. It costs a little more, but you get your money's worth.
The second low is the casino. It looks old and tired. The employees are pleasant enough. The casino could use some re-freshening and some excitement.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teeville51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you provided regarding your most recent visit. We value this information because it helps us to better serve you and assists us in making your overall visit to our property an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Please know that we are constantly updating all facets of our services and products to meet our customers’ high expectations. This candid feedback has already been passed on to our Hotel Management Team so these issues can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#6 of 35 in Bossier City
4,984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
235 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
650 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#7 of 37 in Shreveport
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range: $75 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing