We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are not big gamblers, but enjoy playing the slots a little. We've only been to Vegas for the NFR. We decided to sneak away for a couple of days last June and asked our daughter to find us a room at one of the Sheveport/Bossier City hotels online. We ended up at Sam's Town and we are so glad. The rooms were spacious and nice with a wonderful bathroom. The valet, bell staff, and front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The buffet, restaurant and deli were good. The casino was also fun - and generous! It's nice being able to step outside onto the deck and enjoy the river. We joined their players club and before we knew it, the comp emails came with extremely generous offers to stay, dine and play. We've already taken advantage of one offer in September and can't wait to schedule another get-away!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MelindaMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 681 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had one of the best, if not the best, rooms we've ever stayed in. It was beautiful, and the cost was way below what I would have expected for such a wonderful room. Our dining experience was also fine. Although the gambling floor was quite small, it detracted only a small bit from the overall experience.

Room Tip: couldn't imagine anyone would be disappointed if they have the same experience we did.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJDAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was amazing. The rooms were outstanding. Very large and well appointed. We dined at the Grill near the lobby and the food was delicious. The desserts were fabulous. If there was one downside to the entire stay it would be the parking valet, front desk and bell staff. Quite simply they need to work on their people skills. They seemed to be bothered that we wanted to check in without letting them take our vehicles. We nearly decided to leave. Thankfully we did not, the rest was super.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good. As far as we could tell, they all have a view of the city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I grew up on the west coast and wanted to visit states in the deep south. I drove through Mississippi, Arkansas, and Louisiana. The lush green fauna and climate of the southeast is ideal for agriculture. During my drive I saw a lot of cultivated fields, and cotton is still important. I really enjoyed the cuisine in Louisiana. I had a wonderful stay and breakfast at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino. My waitress at Sam's Town gave me complimentary, fresh baked coffee cake which was wonderful. In addition, I visited the French Quarter while I was in New Orleans. I met some French tourists and they indicated that the architecture in the French Quarter is actually Spanish, not French. I ate beignets at Cafe du Monde. I had lunch at Cochon Butcher. I had a Muffaletta sandwich. Cochon's Muffaletta is a hot sandwich and it was flavorful. I also had their brussel sprout salad along with my Muffaletta. The brussel sprouts were grilled and in a oil-based spicy sauce. It was wonderful and unique. I have never had a salad like that before. If you don't like bitter salads, then it may not be right for you. As a Chinese-American I love sauté bitter melon, so I enjoyed the bitter quality. Watch out for New Orlean crazy road signs. I took a west bound highway 90 road sign and ended up heading east.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A two night stay with my cousin and her husband, great hotel, very comfortable room, large with great views. My wife and I are not gamblers, so the visit to the casino was like a vision of hell, we spent the $5 the casino gave us and couldn't get out fast enough. The highlight of our stay was the Red River Revel with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band from New Orleans, great music. Easy to walk from the hotel across the Red River to the Riverwalk area of Bosier City, lots of shops and restaurants there. Hotel food was OK, the buffet bit overpriced and just encouraged you to overeat to ensure you got your money's worth!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and have the best views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend when we went to the Red River Revel Festival. It was conveniently located (walking distance) to the festival, fast check in, big room, very comfortable bed, and nice toiletries. The Friday and Saturday night buffet was very good, lots of choices including all you can eat snow crab, yummy! My only complainant would be the very small casino, but just walk down the street and go to a different one and you'll be fine. If anyone has the opportunity to attend the Red River Revel I would highly recommend it. There were lots of fantastic artists, great food, and excellent entertainment. We had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Husband and I stayed for two nights. Very reasonable and centrally located! Casino was dated but you are in walking distance to another casino. Very clean! Staff was friendly. The down side was the shops- not many and nothing I would like to buy and the restaurants didn't look appealing to dine in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#6 of 35 in Bossier City
4,962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#2 of 37 in Shreveport
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
235 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
648 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#7 of 37 in Shreveport
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range: $75 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing