We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Food and Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A last minute trip for a mini-vacation. The valet was not a problem. Didn't see a Bell Hop but I lug myself. Check in was quick. Booked a suite due to night and day sleeping. Ok it was a comp. I sleep days and gamble all night. Wife is more normal. Walked into the spacious suite with separate sitting / living room with a modern couch. Bedroom next door with comfortabe bed then bathroom. Every room had plenty of room to stretch or visit. TV in bedroom and sitting room. Coffee maker in the bathroom - Separate make up area for the wife - High tub to crawl over for a morning shower or bath. Soap Shampoo Conditioner - Coffee and condiments there in the bath. Shower was hot nothing fancy but it works. Some peeling wallpaper in the shower area. Dust bunnies in corners. Room was clean. Fridge was in a cabinet looking area. Night stands had no handles but I don't use them.

Food area confusing with one eating area open when other is closed -

Smokey Joes a standard sit down with good food and a Saturday mini buffet for morning breakfast although it doesn;t start till after 8 am. Food is good solid and well portioned.

Java's Deli - Sandwich Burger Snack's and Starbucks. It's edible -

International Buffet with odd hours - has gotten a little better than a year ago but has a long way to go. Veggies die a horrible death by steam (they are mushy). Carving station has a choice of meats and grill your prime from rare to whatever temp you like. Staff talks to each other I can't figure out what they have so much to say in the inner circle. Drink refills are sluggish - everybody talking to each other not serving.
Brunch is not the best or second best maybe the weak link. Hours mostly lunch / evening. Calling lunch Brunch with a spatter of breakfast foods Saturday and Sunday when its still lunch is an insult. Usually I like a good hearty breakfast. Ihop is over the bridge as is Harrah's. Brunch is a half hee haw attempt at the International Buffet at Sam's Town. Skip it.

William B's Steakhouse is the saving grace with consistant service and good food. Steak Diane was tender and moist - Monkfish special was good and salad and desert was very nice. Reservations but it's worth it.

Casino was down a strong notch - can you say remedial dealer school.

Craps was a total disaster the dealers could barely make a payout if they remembered or noticed a bet on the layout. Don't Pass was worse they kept taking the wins down didn't know how to pay any bet. Off and On bet was worse totally clueless (Come bet with a rehit no odds) - Stick man kept serving "7's" - and stickman stared at people confused when they were irritated or turned bets off or took bets down - sloppiest dealing looked like a street game than a Casino game - It took so long to pay out bets I fell asleep standing and may have missed a roll - no wonder everybody pulls up a chair and sits - I've seen chess games move faster.
Blackjack was as expected - a least they could make 95% of the pay outs missed a few and had to be called back or took a long time to continue. They seemed to count the drawer every other hand and rearrange chips - delay delay. Slots are plentiful and payoff's average with beverage servers there - aha moment - the beverage folks were there didn't have to search them out or call on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_C_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 690 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this room last minute and didn't have a membership card to be comped. We paid $87.00 which was about $50.00 cheaper than the original reservation that we canceled at Diamond Jacks. This property is beautiful. Big spacious rooms. The room was cold and dark when it needed to be. The bathroom was clean. The casino itself was a pleasant surprise also. Clean and very taken care of. Plenty of staff waiting on people and cleaning. I also didn't get the stuffy feeling that i get from most Casino's. Overall Great Trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

the hotel room was huge and very clean.We didn't pay much to stay, so we didn't think we were going to get much,wow were we surprised.Would highly recommend this one.From the time you walk up to the front desk, until you check out,you know you are welcome because of the staff,very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snewfie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this location for over two years now even when we were just dating in college. This location is very nice as usual. The restaurants and cafe are open 24/7 so if you're ever hungry you can grab a bite to eat. The cleaners are very attentive and always make sure you have whatever it is that you need. The valet parking is always a success although this time we decided not to use the Valet. A great and clean location for a great price!

Room Tip: The 16th floor was VERY quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krys90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Loved everything about the room... Beds were comfy, oversized bathroom was amazing, exceptionally clean. Pool area was little worn, but in all fairness the casino is the highlight of the hotel. It would have been a perfect stay had the bar area at the pool actually been functional. It looked as though it had been abandoned some time ago, and the hot tub would not work. My 7 year old son loves to "go to the gym" when we travel and walk on the treadmill. Turns out you have to be 18 years old so he was a little devastated. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this property and I must say I was pleasently suprised. The room was beautiful and very spacious. Stayed on the 15th floor with great view of the river.Spotless and clean throughout. Casino very smokey, but friendly dealers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#5 of 35 in Bossier City
5,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
238 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport-Bossier City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing