We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam Town for overnight stay on I 20.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Shreveport
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Sam's town for an overnight stay on our trip from Dallas to New Orleans. Hotel rooms are nice. It was clean.We had my daughter and her 2 year old. Room was a suite, non smoking and big. Daughter had couch that was like a bed, she like it. We had king. beds, sheets, blankets, and pillows clean. Rug, acceptable. Best to book in advance and on line as it seems they book up around 7 pm even on Thursday night from "foot traffic.". Hotel parking is Valet so just go to valet. If you refuse to use valet you have to park in general parking. Tipping for valet is up to you, no charge. You can not get a cart without a bellman so plan accordingly. Hotel does not guarantee a non-smoking room. Hotel is part of a casino complex and public area has smell of tobacco. Not bad, but if you go into casine plan on washing clothers. For breakfast, restaurant is typical holtel fare. coffee shop (starbucks) has cheaper fare. Can not comment on lunch or dinner. We arrived around 8 p.m. and left by 9 a.m. People friendly enough. Casino nice enough. It is a good place. I would do it again but I am not a big casino person.

Room Tip: If you have to have a guaranteed non-smoking room book ealry and arrive by 5 p.m. There are no guar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 909 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Me and my wife go to Sams town once a year on her birthday. We have stayed at the other hotels but the rooms were a little pricey and we did not win much. we're not big gamblers but we play enough to have our rooms compt . the rooms are great this service is great we will always stay at Sams town

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameschampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from staying at Sam's Town Hotel Casino. The rooms have been renovated and are very nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hallways are well lighted and clean. The personnel at the front desk were friendly but not sufficiently staffed. If you check in between 3pm and 6 pm expect to wait in a long line. For some reason or another it seem they take a long time to process guests into the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevators. Too much people traffic and noise from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rager999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here in April for Hubby's High School Reunion which was next door at the El Dorado. Rooms were cheaper on the weekend at Sam's Town, so we elected to stay there. It was a great choice. No, the casino isn't fancy, but the rooms were large and clean, and the service was excellent - from the front desk, to the security at the elevators, to housekeeping. We would not hesitate to stay here again. It is an easy walk next door to the El Dorado if you want a prettier casino to gamble in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMaileLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed on 05/31/2013 and the room was very nice, very large. No issues with the room whatsoever. The only downfall was the casino was small and old. We headed over the river to gamble in Bossier City.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJHall80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very pretty, reminded me of Vegas. Beds were hard but I slept like a rock. The entire hotel including the room smelt like someone was smoking right next to you the entire time. My only real complain was the staff was extremely hateful. Except for the security lady by the elevators. She was very sweet. The valet people were extremely rude as was the lady at check in. We just needed a place to stay on a road trip to Disney world so we were just stopping in. For that it was top notch and worth every penny. Just dissapointed in the employees, I won't return for that fact alone. I can sit at the house and get treated bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uco_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have always stayed at Diamond Jacks when we visit shreveport, but after staying at Samstown we will be back. The rooms were spotless and huge. Love the mini fridges in the rooms! The casino is one of the best in town. I really liked how close it is to eldarodo (about a 3 min walk). We have found our new hotel when we visit shreveport!

Room Tip: rooms next to elevators are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnd85871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#4 of 35 in Bossier City
5,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 38 in Shreveport
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
239 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 38 in Shreveport
666 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
Sleep Inn & Suites I-20
#7 of 38 in Shreveport
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport

Address: 315 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3204 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range: $67 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Town Shreveport is located on the historic Red River in downtown Shreveport, just blocks away from museums, botanical gardens, an I-Max Theater and many other local attractions. Guests can enjoy all their favorite casino games at Sam's Town on an authentic dockside riverboat, a 19th-century paddlewheel featuring approximately 1,200 slots, gaming machines and table games. The sleek 23-story hotel tower includes more than 500 luxurious guest rooms and suites featuring pillow-top mattresses, feather pillows, marbled floors, granite countertops and oversized tubs. The top floor houses multi-room suites, ranging in size from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel & Casino, Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing