We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but average hotel-casino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but average hotel-casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I was here 1-21-13 on comp. So I don't know if they assign certain rooms for this although it's not my first time here on comp or pay. But hotel is average even though they have remodeled the rooms. Next door to the eldorado hotel-casino so if you get tired of samstown just walk next door. Staff friendly although some seem to be on slow mode all the time. Has couple restaurants you can eat at but only open certain hours. Buffet was great on Mondays it's prime rib night. Casino really smokey they could use better ventilation there but it's a casino. Ate breakfast at smokey joes very good but kinda pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mero1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    212
    106
    62
    32
See reviews for
110
269
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've never stayed at another Shreveport casino hotel, so I can't compare it, but I really liked Sam's Town and will definitely stay there again. The rooms are large and recently renovated, no smoke smell and you have everything you need within the casino. I recommend the city view over the river view since the river is not much to look at right now. The hotel was a great value at $67/ night when I stayed. Can't beat that.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view rather than a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAndNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

First time stay. Great bedroom. Very comfortable bed. The gentleman who helped us get our luggage to our room was very poliet, funny and nice! We were a bit surprised at the casino size. Would recommend and stay at again :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We joined our friends for an overnight stay here. Typical room; comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. We were surprised to find no comforter on the bed, but staff explained to us that they no longer use them, but a top sheet instead, citing that the entire bedding is washed with each new reservation. (They referenced other hotels (with raised eyebrow) that routinely washed sheets but NOT the comforters.) I get that, I suppose, but we sure could have used it since the heat did not seem to be working! Additionally, we did have fun at the casino but were so "overcome" by cigarette and cigar smoke that we opted to leave earlier than planned the next day.

Room Tip: Make sure the heat (or A/C) is working properly before going to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianenAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been going to Shreveport for several years as a quick getaway. It has become our favorite place to go. Sam's Town is our favorite hotel to stay in. The staff is so friendly, as well helpful. The restaurants have good food, and are reasonably priced. The casino at Sam's Town gives you the most play for your buck.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleyelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
351 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visit Sams Town Shreveport several times a year and it’s become one of our favorite places to stay out of all the Casino Hotels there. We gamble a lot and visit a lot of different Cities and Casinos where we almost always get a comp room and usually a Suite. Out of all the places we visit this is by far one of the best Suites around. We stayed in one of their Magnolia Suites. I wish we had stayed at the other end near the river so we could have seen the river instead of the city view, but other than that it was fantastic. You enter into a sitting area with a nice sectional, armoire and a flat screen TV. The separate Bedroom also has a setting area with a comfortable chair, ottoman and a comfortable desk, with a king bed, refrigerator inside a dresser unit that has another large flat screen TV on top. The bathroom has a separate toilet area with a door, a nice vanity area with a stool, 2 sinks with a large counter area, a huge soaking tub with a shower combo. The Suite also has a door bell and you will need that if you’re in the bathroom area you would not hear them knock. We have stayed in their other rooms and they are also very nice with almost the same bathroom amities and all the rooms are newly remodeled. We also love the selection of restaurants with their Buffet you can get almost anything you want, they have a deli area with a nice selection, Smokey Joe is a nice all around place to eat and of course they have a Steak House. The staff are extremely friendly and it’s one of the best Casino’s where you actually get play for your money and even hit a few nice big wins along the way. So many place have tighten their slots where you get no play for your money…but this place is NOT one of those. You don’t always win, but you at least get play for your money and win sometimes and that is all I am looking for. Overall GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to the Magnolia Suite, very well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel is average condition. Room was large, Checkin was fast - maybe too fast, upon arriving to the room discovered that the room was not clean (was a mess from New Year's nite), TV still on and lots of partying stuff left over Yuck! Kinda made you not want to stay in the room after seeing the mess. The Front desk staff obviously hiccuped and did not know that our room was not cleaned. Were offered another room but we opted to go ahead and leave our suitcases in the room's closet as room staff offered to clean the room immediately. Headed to the riverboat casino - smallish casino, free drinks were pretty watered down. Had no luck w/ slots. Ate dinner in the buffet, very average and if we did not have the coupon special would not have paid the 17,99 for the meal. Do not expect Las Vegas prices on meals in Shreveport - not going to see them. The front bar area sits directly in front of the front hotel doors. Was very chilly and couldn't handle it. Attempted to visit the bar again, and was told out of a brand of beer, and then ended up they had suddenly found it.. so bartender wasn't sure what they had on bottle. 2nd day, left and came back about 8 pm and our room had not been cleaned. Called front desk and they sent housekeeping up about 40 minutes later, but I just took bath towels as the bowl game was on and we didn't want to leave room for them to clean it. Again - they had an issue with rooms being ready. The service staff is very pleasant and friendly. Heating unit in room would only go up - not adjust. One bed had issues with not being stable - swooped down in the middle of the mattress and the bed frame knocked all nite against the huge vegas styled headboard with any movement. Hotel seemed clean but dated - biggest plus is friendly staff. Parking garage is free and adjacent to hotel, After traveling around town, it's average for that area IMHO.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.5 mi away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#6 of 35 in Bossier City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport

Property: Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Address: 315 Clyde Fant Parkway, Shreveport, LA 71101 (Formerly Harrah's Shreveport Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shreveport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sams Town Shreveport
Sams Town Louisiana
Sams Town Hotel Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing