We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of India's Restaurant

India's Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 498 Restaurants in Shreveport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The decor is not that attractive but the food more than makes up for it. The lamb vindaloo and garlic nan were fantastic. I cannot recall having better Indian food outside of London. The staff was also very nice and friendly. After having had a terrible meal at one of the top rated creole places the night before, this was an even greater pleasure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bellacane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The lunch buffet is hands down best in town although I find it impossible to return for seconds. Staff is friendly and although the inside could use a little tlc the atmosphere is nice. Must try the chicken tikka masala.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peychaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't Judge Book by Cover”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location and outside appearance give the impression of a total dive. The menu and food scream otherwise. This place has a very extensive menu.

My dinner started with the assorted bread basket which gave a good cross section of nan, kulcha, and roti. All excellent but the garlic nan and onion kulcha stood out. Best dipped in the plum sauce.

Entree was shrimp do pyaza which was shrimp, bell pepper, onion, tomato in curry spice sauce over rice. Very good. The mild option gave a pleasant burn without watery eyes and/or nose. Dinner date had chicken tikka masala which came in a tomato and herb cream sauce over rice. Again, mild option was just right.

Drinks were Taj Mahal beers that fit the meal perfectly. Each beer bottle is the equivalent of 2 beers.

Will be coming back in the future to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were visiting Shreveport from Cali and totally loved the food. We were very skeptical when we entered the location, but the food was awesome. The food was totally delicious and the spices were excellent. Don't let the decor hinder your judgement of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kewalneela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Rice, pakora, nan, and aloo gobhi were all excellent. Service from Terry was exemplary. Very glad to have found this place as we travelled across the country. We'll definitely return if we take the same route back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to India's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing