We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FIRE! FIRE! Go back to bed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scott
eunice, la
1 review
“FIRE! FIRE! Go back to bed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

My husband and I wanted one peaceful night away from our very busy home to get a good night's rest. At 1:30 a.m. we were awakened by the fire alarm. The staff room next to us was on fire and the hall was filling with smoke. The staff woman told us to go back to bed because it was out. We did not listen. The firetrucks came and evacuated the hotel. We waited outside for an hour or so . Finally, we were cleared to go back. No apology or explanation was given. Being it was the hotel's fault ( stored tollet paper had caught on fire) , we thought we should be compensated with a free night. No one offered anything, so we asked for one. The clerk went to get the manager who never came. Instead, she took $20 off the price. Never stay here. It may cost you your life and no one will blink over it.

  • Disliked — i wanted a good night's rest.
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strongwilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    70
    43
    49
See reviews for
100
57
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Benton, LA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

Availability of HBO and a continental breakfast does not a 3-Star hotel make. Although convenient to I-10, this hotel is in need of much remodeling and is not the typical quality of other Microtel Suites in which we've stayed. The "suite" was very, very small and reminded us of a cruise ship cabin (on a 40-year old cruiseliner). There was extremely poor lighting, the security locks on the room door were weak, there was no radio or other clock in the room, and the bed linen appeared clean but well-worn and in need of replacement. Being unfamiliar with the city, however, the hotel appeared to "fit" the area in which it is located and had we known, we never would have stayed there. Overall, extreme disappoint in both the hotel and in Hotels.com.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of check-in staff.
  • Disliked — Too much to list.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelers414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

We booked a room with a queen sized bed as we weren't going to be at the hotel very long. It was a very small room, much smaller than most. The website advertised "Chiropractic Approved Mattresses" so imagine our surprise when we found a bed which came up to just above my kneecap! The box spring mattress was completely broken, and when we sat on the bed, it folded in the middle! The "Cozy Window Seat" was covered with stains as was the desk chair. The sheets on the bed were ripped and the non-smoking room reeked of smoke. There was a white, powdery substance behind the door that I hoped was a cleaning product (I wasn't about to check) and the bathroom was not clean at all.

The staff member at the desk was very nice and helpful, upgrading us to a larger room with 2 queen beds. At least they weren't broken. This room was also cleaner with better sheets. There were cigarette burns on the desk chair in this non-smoking room as well. The wireless high-speed internet did work well. The continental breakfast area was very small and crowded. It was just a standard continental breakfast - not an expanded one as advertised on the website. We gave up and went to McDonald's. Unfortunately, we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of the front desk staff to get us another room.
  • Disliked — Broken bed and unclean room.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Texjuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2006

I used to stay at the Microtel all the time in the past and at one time it was a nice hotel at a fair price. After Hurricane Katrina hit and the evacuees were housed here for some months, it is no longer what it used to be. I stayed at this hotel last night (January 31, 2006) and it is very dirty and is looking run down. I stayed in room 103 and there were several holes in the ceiling, one within a shoe print on the ceiling, as though someone used their shoe to beat on the ceiling. The hotel could at least repair these holes to make the rooms look decent. The carpet is dirty and the bottoms of my feet were black after walking on them barefoot. The bathroom appeared to not have been mopped or wiped down in forever. I had to wipe the bottoms of my feet with a wet towel before putting on my clean socks and shoes this morning. The towels were dingy and a wash cloth I was going to use for my shower had a stained hand print on it. The pillows were so flat, it was like not even sleeping on a pillow and I woke up with a back and neck ache. All in all, I felt very dirty when I woke up this morning, even though I had taken a shower just before bed the night before. I won't be staying at this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2003

Thr property is always clean and the staff is very hospitable!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scott
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Scott Lafayette
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Scott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Inn
Ambassador Inn
#4 of 5 in Scott
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#41 of 49 in Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#10 of 49 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette
Address: 301 Ambassador Caffery Pkwy, Scott, LA 70583-5341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Scott
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Scott Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Scott
Scott Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing