We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made me smile”

Don's Specialty Meats
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Scott
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Made me smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Had the pork steak dinner and boudin balls. Took a bite of that steak and said "oh my goodness". That is some good steak. Then I took a bite of the boudin balls and smiled.

Helpful?
Thank The-Randall-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good Cajun food in a meatmarket- convenience store. There are some touristy items for sale, counters for order take-out of eat-in, and some tables by the aisles. One single stall bathroom for men and one for women. Prices seemed reasonable and we saw lots of people buying food who seemed to be loyal customers. The hot sauce has a strong vinegar and cayenne pepper taste.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum 😊😊😊”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We always stop here when passing through Louisiana! Its conveniently located right off of I10. Super delicious Boudin!! Fresh & hot! Buy a box of saltines & spread the yummy filling on them :)) Good place to stock up on authentic gumbo ingredients as well!!

Helpful?
Thank Keithyncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family tried a boudin for the first time... worth the stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Family and I tried Boudin balls. (we enjoy trying new things on our family trips) All I can say is "Wow". We thought it had a great taste, spice and texture was awesome.

The place has food and spices to purchase. Had some local bottled sodas the family liked.
Great stop if traveling through. Workers are friendly and very proud of their products.

Eating area is great for a quick stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaskan_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great selection of meats and other products”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I didn't have a full meal at Don's, but I did try the boudin and cracklins. Both were excellent. This place has a great selection of seasonings and sauces available. It's a good place to stock up on Cajun products if you can't get them where you live. They will pack meat products on dry ice for you so that you can them home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morrison94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Specialty Meats also viewed

 
Scott, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Scott, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Don's Specialty Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing