We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in a lovely pub”
Review of The Rat Inn

The Rat Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Anick
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Fantastic food in a lovely pub”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great food in a lovely pub with fantastic views over the local countryside. Catered for my gluten free diet with gluten free bread available and gluten free dessert options. The best gluten free sticky toffee pudding I've ever had!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDaly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    116
    50
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not ratty at all, but a bit too white-bready”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

To get to the Rat Inn, you arrive at a roundabout. Left is Hexham; right, Anick. The Anick road is a very steep climb: you traverse it, quite literally, like a rat up a drain. It's fun. This is the last of the rat analogies I can make about this pub. We went on a snowy, sleety Good Friday at the end of March. The owner had advised that we book a table. Good thing: the place was packed. Our table for two bumped up directly next to the busy servers' station, which was distracting. Perhaps we needed to book earlier, or bring more people (the tables for large groups were in more comfortable positions). Anyway, this is one of a number of features that prevent this, our first visit, from being wholly positive.

The good: great selection of beers, in beautiful condition. Locally sourced meats are excellent: we had a steak sandwich and a BLT. The pub set out pretty lap rugs or throws on the backs of chairs for the convenience of colder guests. And the garden in front of the pub is not only very pretty, but it also has great views of the surrounding hills and valleys. It's all very charming, indeed.

The not-so-good: The table we had might be all right for a simple beer or a music evening, but it is far too claustrophobic for lunch, especially when we had pre-booked a table. There were tables for two in the conservatory/orangery at the front of the bar that could have been offered as an alternative, but these filled up fast. And the bread on the sandwiches was a squodgy white-bread bap (like a processed hamburger bun without the relative 'excitement' of sesame seeds). The web site offers gluten-free alternatives for their sandwich bread, but on Good Friday no bread choices appeared on the chalkboard menu, nor were we given an alternative by our server. It may have been a temporary shortage that made them serve them, or this may be something peculiarly Northern, but I can't imagine anyone really liking them other than little kids. These baps just didn't come up to the standard of the filling, nor of the rest of the food being ordered by other diners.

But the good seemed to be more permanent than the not-so-good, so it will be worth a revisit, perhaps on a less crowded day, or a beautiful sunny day (to take advantage of the garden), or on a day when their sandwich bread is better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank experimusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Regular visitor to lovely little pub high up on the hills above Hexham”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love to pop into this pub post trip to Hexham for lunch. The food is great and the whole place has a 'homely' feel to it. However, the menu seems to stay the same too often and there is a limited choice for vegetarians but everything tastes great. The beer is good and the pub supports smaller local breweries with its selection at the bar. It has a gorgeous garden overlooking the Tyne Valley.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NETraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So good we went twice in 3 days”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Crackling fire, good local beers on tap, a menu of fresh and creative takes on traditional dishes, friendly and fine service, views of a bucolic countryside and a priceless atmosphere inside and out. There really is nothing missing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zville5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We live nearby and of tern visit the rat, the food is delicious and lovely atmosphere. Proper english pub - roaring fire, cosy and a great choice of locally sourced foods. Good choice of ale. Really welcoming to everyone - we often go for a game of cards and a drink. However, you pay for the local food - expensive but worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rat Inn also viewed

Hedley on the Hill, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 

Been to The Rat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing