We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is in a fantastic setting just by the Evangeline Oak, we could see it from our room! We were extremely fortunate to arrive Valentine's Evening and when we booked Peggy, the owner, invited us to join in the annual Valentine Social which celebrates all those who became engaged or married under the Oak. It was a very lovely experience and we have to thank her and the people of St Martinville for making us so very welcome.
The house itself is very old and as other people have said is not full of mod cons, that is the attraction! It is however very clean and very beautiful and as the owner of a fairly old house I'm glad I don't have to up keep of this one. It was one of the original River Boat Hotels and then for many years a school, we met various ex pupils, the whole experience was wonderful and we throughly recommend St Martinville and the Old Castillo, but not if your preferred and only acceptable option is a chain hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. Making people happy, comfortable, and relaxed is very important to us. We, at Old Castillo B&B, enjoy very much what we do. But, it's people like you who make it so enjoyable. As a lot of people know, one of the neat things about B&Bs is that we are all different and so you have a different experience each time you go. I like to say, you can have seven different experiences with us as all seven rooms are different. But, to us also, the nice thing is that each of our guests are also different and interesting and we like to treat as family. And, when we get repeat guests, they truely become family. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
19
100
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staunton VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Old Castillo is rich with history, southern Old World elegance and charm. Our room was spacious and lovely with beautiful antiques. It is an old building, of course, but our accommodations were comfortable and cozy. The history of St Martinville is beautifully incorporated in this quiet abode. Peggy, our hostess and owner, was gracious and down to earth, and completely focused on making our experience as perfect as possible. She gave us a great recommendation for dinner, St John, where we enjoyed wonderful Cajun food and delightful service. But one of the real treats was the home cooked and exceptionally ample and delicious breakfast the next morning. She has a lot of her scrumptious goodies for sale as well. We had a nice chat with Peggy about our respective families as we were checking out and left feeling we had made a new friend. The only suggestion I might make for improvement would be a faster way of contacting her if one needs to make any changes in their schedule, although I think she would not have minded being bothered with a phone call and we thought it too early to disturb her! I think she does a splendid job and we have already recommended her to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two lovers' suites on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassiekody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed our location as being close to many things to see and do. Pleasing our guests are always at the forefront of what we want to do.

Thank you again and hope you can come to visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast is not corporate at all. No TV, no elevator, no hairdryer. The balcony overlooking Bayou Teche and the Evangeline Oak and the excellent home-cooked breakfast make it an excellent getaway. There are fun and delicious Cajun restaurants up in Breaux Bridge which is an easy evening's drive. St. Martinville has lots of history. Peggy, the owner, is a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssfromss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your suggestions about what we could offer to be more corporate available is being discussed and reviewed. Your kind remarks are appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
483 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Off the beaten path, but worth the drive. The Old Castillo Hotel, built in 1827, offers the charm and decor of yesterday. Miss Peggy is a wonderful host, and serves a breakfast fit for a king. Reasonable pricing offers the traveler better value than staying in a cookie-cutter hotel, and the opportunity to taste a bit of history. Saint Martiinville, a quaint town with lots of Acadian history, is located between New Iberia and Lafayette, LA. Remember, it's an old building, so expect a few squeaks here and there. Hope this helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room to fit your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review. We do try hard to make our guests happy. We are slowly beginning to do repairs and painting.

Thanks again, Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The owner was very nice to make arrangements to be available to check in at a later time. Upon entry to the home it appeared a little weathered on the outside, but has that old charm! The inside was nice and had some nice articles on the home, and other memorabilia. No Tv in the room. Just thought I would mention it; some people come just to get away from those things. I had my laptop anyway and got a red box movie from down the street and did not even watch it! There are some nice historic places to see in walking distance. The door a little hard to open and tell if locked. I noticed others complain about that; I really can not believe someone was offended by her having them try the door out in another review! I also had a little trouble figuring out how to regulate the water for the bath; but it is not the first time I could not figure out those type of handles; might be worth it to ask about how to work them if you are like me! The breakfast was nice. It is a lot of bread; but especially liked beinets and the cafe au lait. The lady helping serve breakfast was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your nice review. Thank you for your breakfast comments and we are beginning to add fruit. Of course, we do have fruit preserves. The TV in the parlour is always available to guests.

Thanks Again, Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovingly maintained and genuinely a part of Bayou Teche country. Huge props to Miss Peggy and her family for continuing a strong tradition of hospitality and culture. If you're sick and tired of the same old cookie cutter franchised look that is difficult to escape in America AND abroad, choose Old Castillo and a stay in St. Martin. Breakfast IS generous and tasty with tastes you won't find just anywhere (home-made preserves oh-my!). The bayou is heavy with sounds of night life peeps and croaks, lushly green in the daylight. The church and museums nearby are a delightful way to spend 1-2 hours (not too heavy, not too light) learning about the area's history. The location is nicely situated very close to good music, Lafayette, plantations, rice and cane sugar industry and swamp tours!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your review tells me you toured our area in the right fashion. Took time to see what our Cajun country is all about. Sometimes to bayou beeps and croaks sing me to sleep. So glad you enjoyed our breakfast. It is a full plate, but, we try to give a little taste of all. We are in the hub of Cajun Country, and, as you say, won't take very long to get to lots of things to see and do. Have a great day. Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

As we visited in the off season things were very quiet. Peggy is very nice and very helpful. Breakfast was hearty, homemade, and very southern. Something with some fruit a bit lighter than eggs, toast, French toast, bacon, and beignets would have been fine. The room was large, clean and furnished with antiques. The hotel is a former school. It is in an ideal location; close to restaurants and several small Acadian museums. We intended to visit Avery Island and Peggy told us about Jefferson Island which was also very beautiful and interesting. It is not a good choice for people with mold allergies as the basement has been damp for way over a century and the mustiness creeps up when the basement door is left ajar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We enjoyed having you visit with us. Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martinville
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Broussard-Lafayette Area
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Broussard - Lafayette Area
12.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Address: 220 Evangeline Blvd, Saint Martinville, LA 70582-4539 (Formerly La Place d'Evangeline)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Martinville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martinville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Castillo B&B is housed in building built in 1829 and listed on National Register of Historic Homes in 1978. It has seven bedrooms with private bath in each. Rooms are furnished with antiques and also reproductions. B&B is in walking distance of restaurants, museums, St. Martin de Tours Catholic Church, etc. St. Martinville is located in the hub of Cajun county. We are less than twenty minutes away in any direction to lots to see and do in other towns around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing