We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not corporate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Sulphur Springs, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not corporate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Old Castillo Bed and Breakfast is not corporate at all. No TV, no elevator, no hairdryer. The balcony overlooking Bayou Teche and the Evangeline Oak and the excellent home-cooked breakfast make it an excellent getaway. There are fun and delicious Cajun restaurants up in Breaux Bridge which is an easy evening's drive. St. Martinville has lots of history. Peggy, the owner, is a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssfromss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your suggestions about what we could offer to be more corporate available is being discussed and reviewed. Your kind remarks are appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
19
100
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
483 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Off the beaten path, but worth the drive. The Old Castillo Hotel, built in 1827, offers the charm and decor of yesterday. Miss Peggy is a wonderful host, and serves a breakfast fit for a king. Reasonable pricing offers the traveler better value than staying in a cookie-cutter hotel, and the opportunity to taste a bit of history. Saint Martiinville, a quaint town with lots of Acadian history, is located between New Iberia and Lafayette, LA. Remember, it's an old building, so expect a few squeaks here and there. Hope this helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room to fit your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review. We do try hard to make our guests happy. We are slowly beginning to do repairs and painting.

Thanks again, Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The owner was very nice to make arrangements to be available to check in at a later time. Upon entry to the home it appeared a little weathered on the outside, but has that old charm! The inside was nice and had some nice articles on the home, and other memorabilia. No Tv in the room. Just thought I would mention it; some people come just to get away from those things. I had my laptop anyway and got a red box movie from down the street and did not even watch it! There are some nice historic places to see in walking distance. The door a little hard to open and tell if locked. I noticed others complain about that; I really can not believe someone was offended by her having them try the door out in another review! I also had a little trouble figuring out how to regulate the water for the bath; but it is not the first time I could not figure out those type of handles; might be worth it to ask about how to work them if you are like me! The breakfast was nice. It is a lot of bread; but especially liked beinets and the cafe au lait. The lady helping serve breakfast was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your nice review. Thank you for your breakfast comments and we are beginning to add fruit. Of course, we do have fruit preserves. The TV in the parlour is always available to guests.

Thanks Again, Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovingly maintained and genuinely a part of Bayou Teche country. Huge props to Miss Peggy and her family for continuing a strong tradition of hospitality and culture. If you're sick and tired of the same old cookie cutter franchised look that is difficult to escape in America AND abroad, choose Old Castillo and a stay in St. Martin. Breakfast IS generous and tasty with tastes you won't find just anywhere (home-made preserves oh-my!). The bayou is heavy with sounds of night life peeps and croaks, lushly green in the daylight. The church and museums nearby are a delightful way to spend 1-2 hours (not too heavy, not too light) learning about the area's history. The location is nicely situated very close to good music, Lafayette, plantations, rice and cane sugar industry and swamp tours!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your review tells me you toured our area in the right fashion. Took time to see what our Cajun country is all about. Sometimes to bayou beeps and croaks sing me to sleep. So glad you enjoyed our breakfast. It is a full plate, but, we try to give a little taste of all. We are in the hub of Cajun Country, and, as you say, won't take very long to get to lots of things to see and do. Have a great day. Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

As we visited in the off season things were very quiet. Peggy is very nice and very helpful. Breakfast was hearty, homemade, and very southern. Something with some fruit a bit lighter than eggs, toast, French toast, bacon, and beignets would have been fine. The room was large, clean and furnished with antiques. The hotel is a former school. It is in an ideal location; close to restaurants and several small Acadian museums. We intended to visit Avery Island and Peggy told us about Jefferson Island which was also very beautiful and interesting. It is not a good choice for people with mold allergies as the basement has been damp for way over a century and the mustiness creeps up when the basement door is left ajar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We enjoyed having you visit with us. Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I found the Old Castillo B&B in Tripadvisor very appealing. It turned out as a on of a kind experience: since the building is very old with antique furniture, it looked like a living museum. I was the only guest that night and the lady of the house offered me to get a drink or some wine from the kitchen. I could even use the balcony at the front of the house although this was not part of my room. The breakfast was awesome with home made bread and yelly, a beignet. The economy has hit this area badly and the maintenance of an historic site like this must cost a fortune. The owner takes great pride in doing her best to make you feel comfortable, and I felt the usd 90 I paid were worth the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of doing repairs and painting to maintain our historic building. You are right. Very costly to maintain, but, we do what we can when we can. Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

It a bit wired inside. Very old fashioned and looking a bit tired. It's all a bit frilly. Owner fairly helpful but not overly. We got lost trying to find our restaurant that night. She wasn't into getting a map out and printing off directions. The bed was unbelievably noisy. And we had a funny light thing with smelly perfume that was quite over powering. I put it out of the room. The curtains are very thin so we where up at dawn. B'fast was a lot of bread and mostly all fried. Fruit would have been nice. Saying all that we did have access to a fridge and she left wine and soft drinks to hand.

Room Tip: One not looking onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. So sorry your experience was not satisfactory. I don't know which restaurant you wt to but, if it was one a few miles away, sometimes people get turned around at night. And if it was one of the three around the block from me, maybe the same thing happened. I always tell my guests to call anytime day or night if the have any questions or need anything. The freshener holder in the bathroom is sometimes strong for a few people. I try to use only light, clean smelling fragrances. We have changed some mattresses since your visit.

Thank you about your comment on the curtains. We are adding pull down shades in rooms with light curtains.

Again, thank you for comments and sorry I did not respond sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martinville
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Broussard-Lafayette Area
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
11.9 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Address: 220 Evangeline Blvd, Saint Martinville, LA 70582-4539 (Formerly La Place d'Evangeline)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Martinville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martinville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Castillo B&B is housed in building built in 1829 and listed on National Register of Historic Homes in 1978. It has seven bedrooms with private bath in each. Rooms are furnished with antiques and also reproductions. B&B is in walking distance of restaurants, museums, St. Martin de Tours Catholic Church, etc. St. Martinville is located in the hub of Cajun county. We are less than twenty minutes away in any direction to lots to see and do in other towns around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing