We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a kind of strange place........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It a bit wired inside. Very old fashioned and looking a bit tired. It's all a bit frilly. Owner fairly helpful but not overly. We got lost trying to find our restaurant that night. She wasn't into getting a map out and printing off directions. The bed was unbelievably noisy. And we had a funny light thing with smelly perfume that was quite over powering. I put it out of the room. The curtains are very thin so we where up at dawn. B'fast was a lot of bread and mostly all fried. Fruit would have been nice. Saying all that we did have access to a fridge and she left wine and soft drinks to hand.

Room Tip: One not looking onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. So sorry your experience was not satisfactory. I don't know which restaurant you wt to but, if it was one a few miles away, sometimes people get turned around at night. And if it was one of the three around the block from me, maybe the same thing happened. I always tell my guests to call anytime day or night if the have any questions or need anything. The freshener holder in the bathroom is sometimes strong for a few people. I try to use only light, clean smelling fragrances. We have changed some mattresses since your visit.

Thank you about your comment on the curtains. We are adding pull down shades in rooms with light curtains.

Again, thank you for comments and sorry I did not respond sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've stayed at a variety of locations during our stay in LA, and we were really excited about Old Castillo after reading on Trip Advisor and seeing the pics on their website. Overall its a really neat place with a ton of southern hospitality, but the building and amenities are getting questionable. I felt $150/night was a little high given the room and amenities.

People seem to love this place for the "historical" feel, but there's a fine line between historical and dilapidated. Every wall in our room had some pretty severe cracking and heaving in the plaster, in some spots several feet by several feet. In the main dining room the paint is curling off the ceiling and falling off. Overall it looks like the building simply hasn't been maintained in years.

If that doesn't bother you, then you'll really like this place. We were just a little disappointed in the quality and amenities for seeing so many 5-star rating on Trip Advisor and a $150/night price tag.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hojo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi
Thank you so much for your review. Hope you were able to enjoy a little something during your stay. Your comments were accurate. The condition bothers some more than others, but, you were accurate. We are aware of that. It has been maintained annually in one way or another. Hard to address all at one time. Old buildings have plumbing, electrical, painting and many more issues. But, we are happy to say that this year we have begun some of the painting issues. It's slow moving because we must paint while in operation. So takes more time. We can't afford to close down while repairing. But, we are slowing getting it done.

Hope you can visit us again in the future when all is done.

Thanks again for your visit and comments. Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were sitting overlooking the beach in Seaside, Florida facing a long drive back to Houston the next day. We decided to break up the trip by finding a B&B near Lafayette and did a search. The Old Castillo popped up, looked interesting and had one room available. I pushed the buttons and we were booked. We arrived late but Miss Peggy walked us through check-in on the phone and within minutes we were inside a historic and interesting building. The other guests had started an impromptu happy on the second floor balcony overlooking the square and we joined in for a relaxing drink. After talking with Peggy on local restaurants, we walked to St. John the Restaurant and had a great meal. Our server was a lovely and interesting person named Charlotte. It happens that the B&B used to be a Catholic girls school, and Charlotte graduated there. The next morning we had a lovely and homemade breakfast, and found graduation photos of past classes. We found Charlotte's class and her photo! The point is that this is a real, living place with history dating back to the Civil War and still happening today. Yes, it creaks (the bed, the floor boards, everything), but it is real and we hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: We took the only room available - the Longfellow Room. It was huge. Ten foot ceilings and a sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We're happy your last minute stop was not a mistake. We also enjoyed your visit. We love trying to make everyones stay the best we can. Hope to see you again sometime. Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

An old house with all the allure of an old house and all the issues of maintenance in this climate. We loved it, big room on to the veranda, matched by a copious and ballast providing breakfast, all served by our charming hostess. Its beautifully located, and if you go there there, eat at St Johns a restaurant on the other side of the square. I would recommend it, and would go again but its an old house, not for those who crave antiseptic modernity, but the wi-fi worked well and its very clean and comfortable and besides these old houses need our support.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your great response. Sorry I took so long to respond. Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your understanding of old buildings. Hope to see you again sometime.

Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Breakfast was BIG and tasty!
We enjoyed learning about all of the background on the Evangeline poem by Longfellow, the statue, nice little river walkway, etc. Nice little town! Lovely town square.
The balcony was the best part of our stay...fresh air, a glass of wine as we watched the cars go by.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pebbleskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Please forgive me for waiting so long to respond. do have reasons, but no excuses. Again, Sorry.
But, thank you for such a good review. Balcony is a sure plus. Enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Have a great day, Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Old Castillo Hotel is not for everyone – it is an aging building with most amenities having been added only in recent years. It is quirky, squeaky, and musty but evokes such a strong sense of history that you are easily transported back to a time when there was no need for TVs, electronic devices, or other modern clutter (though all are available to use/be used here as confirmed by my children who were practically umbilical-ly connected to the hotel's wifi throughout the weekend). The rooms are spacious and well furnished with incomparable views onto the grounds and Bayou Teche (particularly from the Longfellow Room where we stayed for two nights on a Saturday/Sunday). The hotel sits adjacent to a picturesque square which is home to the Evangeline Oak.

The owner, Peggy, makes a special effort to make you feel at home and is always available for anything you need even if she is not physically present. Upon our arrival, she told us about the downstairs fridge where we could enjoy a much needed glass of wine after a long drive from Texas. She was especially accommodating to our 7-yr old whose morning breakfast request of his favourite cereal differed from her own handmade fig jam and freshly baked bread. She had fresh coffee and café au lait available early in the morning so that we were able to pop down and pick up a cup of each before formally coming down for breakfast.

The story of the house, its past incarnation as a school and the work that Peggy has done to restore it and then restore it again after Hurricane Ike are inspirational. Having lived in a Victorian house in London (UK) for many years, I can appreciate the work involved in maintaining a property like this and Peggy has transformed it into an incredible experience.

Don’t come if you are looking for a modern, all inclusive luxury hotel, but do come for the history, the atmosphere, and a great weekend escape.

Room Tip: The Longfellow room has great views and is very large/roomy with decent bathroom facilities. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiSb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi

Please forgive me for taking so long to respond. Had a pleasantly busy spring, then, had lots to catch up on. But, I am now responding.

Thank you so much for your great review. We do our best to always make a good impression and make our guests stay as wonderful as possible.

Hope to see you again sometime and have great tomorrows to you and yours. Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my wife enjoyed it very much. We stayed two night in the LONGFELLOW ROOM, very nice and quiet. The breakfast was very good, and Mrs. Peggy made us feel like part of the family. All the resturants are really good (ESPECIALLY ST. JOHN'S STEAK/SEAFOOD) and in walking distance (a block). Going back soon! mr. and mrs. f. coleman

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hi

Was good to hear from you. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our small town full of history and great restaurants. When you stay with us, you are part of our family and that lasts forever!

Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martinville
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
11.9 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
13.3 mi away
Mouton Plantation Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
11.9 mi away
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Lafayette
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 220 Evangeline Blvd, Saint Martinville, LA 70582-4539 (Formerly La Place d'Evangeline)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Martinville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martinville
Price Range: $87 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Castillo B&B is housed in building built in 1829 and listed on National Register of Historic Homes in 1978. It has seven bedrooms with private bath in each. Rooms are furnished with antiques and also reproductions. B&B is in walking distance of restaurants, museums, St. Martin de Tours Catholic Church, etc. St. Martinville is located in the hub of Cajun county. We are less than twenty minutes away in any direction to lots to see and do in other towns around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing