We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a pleasurable and charming night at the Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast over the Veteran's Day Holiday this year. We enjoyed our romantic walk along Bayou Teche and under the Evangeline Oak beside the Old Castillo. Our room was quaint with a view of the Bayou and we were very comfortable. Our breakfast the next morning was delicious and filling. The Cafe Au Lait was a delightful treat. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank kikizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Hi

Thank you for your visit and great review.

The nice part of my business is that we meet so many wonderful people such as you.

We too enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again sometime. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 168 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have never stayed in a B&B before and this was everything I expected. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. I really enjoyed the history and spirited story of the Old Castillo. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oh_my_Gato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hi

Thank you so much for your great comments. It's always good to hear when our guests say this is their first experience and that it won't be the last. Can't get better than that.

Have a great day and a successful new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If your idea of what a B&B should be is of elaborate decoration, lots of chintz, rooms crammed full of highly polished antique furniture, and three course breakfasts, you probably won't like Old Castillo. If on the other hand you would like to stay in a genuinely historic building with simple but appropriate furnishings in the rooms, a warm welcome, an informal atmosphere, and a delicious home cooked breakfast, this is an excellent choice.

We stayed for three enjoyable nights at Old Castillo, which is ideally situated in the middle of the historic district of St Martinville, next to the Evangeline Oak, the Bayou Teche and the Acadian Memorial Museum. Old Castillo was originally an Inn serving travellers on the Bayou Teche, when it was the main artery for goods and passengers through the area. Later it became a school, before reverting to its original purpose on becoming a B&B.

Our room, Gabriel, was large and comfortable but not fancy, with direct access to the upstairs balcony. Downstairs the parlour/breakfast room was equipped with comfortable chairs and sofas, a TV and interesting books relevant to the area. There was a much appreciated snack bowl, and wine and soft drinks in the guest fridge in the kitchen. Peggy provides breakfast at a time of your choice between 8 and 10, and this was delicious and all home made, although again not fancy. There is free wifi throughout the house, very important to us. There is a relaxed, informal atmosphere and the other guests were friendly and interesting to talk to.

St Martinville itself is a lovely quiet small town with some beautiful buildings and a very interesting history. Don't miss the Acadian Memorial Museum with its explanation of the arrival of the french speaking Acadians, or the fabulous crab cakes at the St Johns restaurant round the corner.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hi

Thank you for you nice comments. Happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again. Like your comment on the many things to see and do and that you stayed three days to allow more visiting. We promote ourselves as a hub as you can travel 15 minutes in any direction from us to see and visit more.

Our breakfast is almost always enjoyed and you do not leave hungry. Ha.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife & I spent one night last week at the Old Castillo B&B and loved it. We had traveled to Louisiana from Houston for a funeral so we decided to travel a bit farther the next night to St. Martinville. We loved the Old Castillo & the innkeeper, Peggy! When we travel, we prefer to stay in a B&B if possible. If the Old Castillo is your first B&B stay, you may not appreciate it's age & charm as much as we did. The rooms are nice, the bed is good, the private bathroom was more than adequate, and the dining room & common sitting area were nice. The wireless internet worked flawlessly, which is always a biggie for me. The Inn is right next to Bayou Teche & the Evangeline Oak, literally just steps from two small but wonderful museums & a few steps farther from the awesome and unique Acadian Memorial. The balcony overlooks everything mentioned in the previous sentence & is awesome. Breakfast was fantastic. We've been to Louisiana a fair amount & are used to beignets, pain perdu, & cafe au lait, but not Peggy's versions! The food was wonderful! Saint Martinville is a wonderful little town full of charm & character; since around 1829, the Castillo Inn has been part of the character of the town. Dining choices are a bit limited in town but we drove about 20 minutes to a truly awesome Cajun Seafood restaurants. Ours was a short visit & the Old Castillo Inn made us wish we had had time for a longer stay.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend a room on the bayou side. If stairs are a problem, you might prefer a downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biged00200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

First, let me say, I am so sorry for taking so long to respond. I read when you submitted, but personal and business matters took over my time.

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We too enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a lovely stay thanks to the warm hospitality of Peggy, the Innkeeper. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. We had a great night sleep and an amazing breakfast with homemade breads, jams, and farm raised fresh eggs. YUM!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your nice review is appreciated. Come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in this nice B&B.
The host is welcoming and the room are large, comfortable and clean.
The breakfast is also very good.
Please note that there are no TVs in the room, which is quite unusuak in the US !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seb883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi

Thank you for your kind review. We also enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Came in March 2012 for a quick trip to cajun country and booked this B&B because of the reviews. It wasn't terrible, but certainly not great either, and fairly expensive for what you get. The room and property were clean and neatly kept, but there weren't very many cool decorations or antiques--mostly just older knick knacks. We visited in mid March, but there were still cheap Valentine's Day decorations everywhere. The property in general seems like it could use some renovations, especially the bathroom, which was clean but very dated (hello late 1980s...) There is, or was at the time, a large ant hill near the walk way to the property, which I stepped in--beware.

The breakfast was fine--very bread product heavy, but not bad. However, living in New Orleans and eating out a lot, this is not the best breakfast that Louisiana has to offer--don't be fooled :)

The main drawback to the property, aside from the dated qualities, was the host's attitude and rules. We had trouble finding the place due to a recent name change of the road, but instead of just telling us what the name of the road used to be (ie. what it still was on the maps) Peggy insisted on telling us how we were in the wrong location, repeatedly. When we finally arrived, she continued to tell us how silly and wrong we were. This was not only annoying, but rude. She then handed us a long list of house rules and made us practice locking and unlocking the front door.

On the plus side, Peggy did recommend an AMAZING swamp tour that was, by far, the highlight of our trip. Maybe we just caught her on a bad day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitParis, Owner at Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. I do apologize if I was rude about directions. I do not remember anything like that, so hard for me to comment, but, to say I am truely sorry.

I take it very seriously to always be as helpful, kind and inviting as I can. I would like to accept the excuse that I was having a "bad day". But, again, I try hard not to let my personal problems be a reason for my actions.

Again, I am very sorry.

Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martinville
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
11.9 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
13.3 mi away
Mouton Plantation Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Lafayette
206 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 220 Evangeline Blvd, Saint Martinville, LA 70582-4539 (Formerly La Place d'Evangeline)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Martinville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martinville
Price Range: $89 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Castillo B&B is housed in building built in 1829 and listed on National Register of Historic Homes in 1978. It has seven bedrooms with private bath in each. Rooms are furnished with antiques and also reproductions. B&B is in walking distance of restaurants, museums, St. Martin de Tours Catholic Church, etc. St. Martinville is located in the hub of Cajun county. We are less than twenty minutes away in any direction to lots to see and do in other towns around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Old Castillo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing