We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. John Restaurant - Moved

The St. John Restaurant - Moved
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rusk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there today! It was great, thr food was fresh, and tgd inside was very clean. The staff was very friendly.

Helpful?
3 Thank KenBerry1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    31
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Crab cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Our group of about 14 women made reservations for the second time to eat here. Steaks, seafood - especially crab cakes are crisp, fresh , and delicious. Spoke to Chip Durand the owner and in August they will be moving to a larger place just around the corner. The current restaurant seats 48, and the front room of new place will seat 56, with another room which can be used to seat larger groups and can be closed off as needed. The new place was a warehouse that they are remodeling. I would highly recommend this place for groups, families, business meetings. Right across from St. Martin du Tours Catholic Church, burial place of Evangeline from Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's poem about the Acadians Deranger and next door to The Ville Coffee and Pastry shop.

Helpful?
3 Thank gotoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“St. John's restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ate here two nights while visiting this area of Louisiana. This is a simple place with tables crowded in and everyone having a good time. The food is a good selection of cajun, steaks, and seafood. The staff is very friendly and the place is filled (literally) with visitors and locals having a great time. If you have to wait then you can take your beer or glass of wine out on the wooden porch and sit and enjoy conversation with friendly folks! I don't eat seafood, though some in our group did and liked it, but I did have frog legs one night (now don't groan-they are good but I'm from the south) and a steak the next night. Both were really good. It is hard to fry frog legs correctly and they know how. The steak was very tender and tasty. The real standout was the bread pudding. I like it but this was "love it". This is a good spot to enjoy the flavor not only of cajun food but of the area of Louisiana you are visiting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rivermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was in St. Martinville on a business trip and had time to get a quick lunch before an appointment. I'm glad that I chose St. John. As others have said, the crab cake is outstanding. I also had been craving some good crawfish ettouffee and asked the server whether she recommended that or the gumbo. Despite being much less expensive, she said that their gumbo was great. I agree. Service and food were both outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tex4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outward Appearance can be Deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This ramshackle appearing old house's exterior belies the wonderful food you'll find inside. Don't let the exterior put you off. These were the best crab cakes ever! No breading, just fresh crabmeat and wonderful sides too. I would definitely go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebel_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The St. John Restaurant - Moved also viewed

Saint Martinville, LA
 
Saint Martinville, LA
Saint Martinville, LA
 
Saint Martinville, LA
 

Been to The St. John Restaurant - Moved? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing