We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shahapur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Village
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hidden village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed the long drive from Mumbai to Shahapur where our destination was and when we reached there, the natural beauty of the place struck us. The ambience was simple, full of nature's bounty and yet had the required modern amenities. We stayed at the Patil House. The quietness of the surroundings against the gushing sound of a surprisingly luke warm waterfall was awesome. One of the things that interested us was a booklet provided in each room with details of the place, instructions as well as services available in Hidden Village. Once this book is read, there is no need to ask anyone anything about this place. Every detail is provided. The best part that we understood from it was that this place is a man made structure with the use of the natural surroundings. How amazing is that!!!! A small trek from the Hidden Village leads us to a lake full of water with a backdrop of paddy fields and dense forest. The simplicity of the staff and the food provided made us feel at home. Seating outside is difficult because of the mosquito bites

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinaykumartiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    76
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
59
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came across this place on the internet.Its around 80kms from Chembur,Mumbai.Straight on the Nasik highway with slight left to get unto Ategaon post Shahpur.The rates for day trip are 700 per person,all meals included ie breakfast,lunch n tea n u also get a room for keeping ur stuff n changing

Room Tip: excellent trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aditya43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

On our recent visit to Mumbai, we experienced the most relaxed and laid back weekend at the Hidden Village. The name itself excited us when we saw it on the net & made us anxious to explore it. We enjoyed the long drive from Mumbai to Shahapur where our destination was and when we reached there, the natural beauty of the place struck us. The ambience was simple, full of nature's bounty and yet had the required modern amenities. We stayed at the Patil House. The quietness of the surroundings against the gushing sound of a surprisingly luke warm waterfall was awesome. One of the things that interested us was a booklet provided in each room with details of the place, instructions as well as services available in Hidden Village. Once this book is read, there is no need to ask anyone anything about this place. Every detail is provided. The best part that we understood from it was that this place is a man made structure with the use of the natural surroundings. How amazing is that!!!! A small trek from the Hidden Village leads us to a lake full of water with a backdrop of paddy fields and dense forest. The simplicity of the staff and the food provided made us feel at home. Seating outside is difficult because of the mosquito bites. Highly recommended for a quiet, relaxed monsoon weekend away from the hustle bustle of life.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ronit7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a family picnic at Hidden village for a one night stay last weekend. Our members were right from the elders in 60's to the youngest one of 10 months. We stayed in the tent and believe me nobody of us regretted that as it had all the necessary facilities required for a days stay. Also we enjoyed the nature around in the property...........be it the water fall, the swimming pond, the natural stone stairs, simple food or the newly developed children play area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We came across this place on the internet.Its around 80kms from Chembur,Mumbai.Straight on the Nasik highway with slight left to get unto Ategaon post Shahpur.The rates for day trip are 700 per person,all meals included ie breakfast,lunch n tea n u also get a room for keeping ur stuff n changing , resting etc.We were 5 of us.The place is really nice,quiet n pleasant.The waterfall stream n the natural pool attached to it is fun.thousands of fishes so u get like more than a fish pedicure.The tiny little fishes will be constantly tickling u.Its not very deep too,ard 5.2 feet depth,everyone can get in.

After that we went for lunch.Lunch had rice,2 sabzis,dal,salad,roti n chicken curry.Its done in Buffet style.They also have 1 man made pool which is filled up with 20k litres of well water everyday.Apart from all of this they have goats,ducks,hens,turkeys roaming around in the property,coming up to your room and saying hello to the guests every now and then.They also have a play room with table tennis,pool,carrom n foozball.

A 30 minute walk from the hotel will take u to a Lake closeby.We went post lunch n were advised that the lake is only for v good swimmers.Since there was no1 there except us,we dint get into the water.But the lake is beautiful and its covered by hills.The small trek to the lake was nice.Lush green fields n huge mountains.The villagers there are v lucky :).

The manager Tony is nice n helpful and place can best enjoyed in a group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiJa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

On our recent visit to Mumbai, we experienced the most relaxed and laid back weekend at the Hidden Village. The name itself excited us when we saw it on the net & made us anxious to explore it. We enjoyed the long drive from Mumbai to Shahapur where our destination was and when we reached there, the natural beauty of the place struck us. The ambience was simple, full of nature's bounty and yet had the required modern amenities. We stayed at the Patil House. The quietness of the surroundings against the gushing sound of a surprisingly luke warm waterfall was awesome. One of the things that interested us was a booklet provided in each room with details of the place, instructions as well as services available in Hidden Village. Once this book is read, there is no need to ask anyone anything about this place. Every detail is provided. The best part that we understood from it was that this place is a man made structure with the use of the natural surroundings. How amazing is that!!!! A small trek from the Hidden Village leads us to a lake full of water with a backdrop of paddy fields and dense forest. The simplicity of the staff and the food provided made us feel at home. Seating outside is difficult because of the mosquito bites.

Highly recommended for a quiet, relaxed monsoon weekend away from the hustle bustle of life. Hoping that the simplicity and uniqueness of Hidden Village prevails.

Room Tip: Please avoid the tents as there are lots of mosquito and even repellents are ineffective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyd_souza, Manager at Hidden Village, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you Venu for your visit to our property, and a reflection of it in your review.

Generally in this part of the year, due to rains, water pockets in forest outside help mosquito growth, Our stock of Odomos cream, mosquito coils that we keep does help. Our periodical fumigation does not help much, as the rainy month of September washes out the ariel repellants while those in the surrounding area migrate into our forest.

In Camp houses we have insect and mosquito proof net tents, so it isn't a problem. We sometimes smoke the place with wood burning in a ‘gamela’, helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We family of 7 adults and 3 children checked in on 23rd August morning. We had booked Patil house A, B, C and hill house B.The location of our Patil House was great as it was right adjacent the waterfall.

Patil House A B were huge but the 3rd room looked as if it was created for sake of an extra room.

All the rooms were damp and had foul stench like a rotten egg. We managed to clear the smell of 2 rooms by keeping the doors and windows open the entire day ( though it meant invitation to insects including mosquitos) However the 3rd room of Patil House smelled the same even at night as it lacked proper ventilation. Our Parents who never complain about anything said they coulld hardly sleep in the 3rd room The Airconditoner in the room too couldnt ward off the bad smell. The same was the case with our hill house. We even found cobwebs in hill house.
The jute ceilings in all the rooms which had got wet in rains were the culprit of the foul smell.

The food was very oily and lacked taste. We had french beans and mutter paneer for lunch. The beans were all fried. The fish was deep fried and chicken wasnt marinated well with the curry. We got pithla bhakri as special request but pithla was too solid and had taken a shape of baked cake while it reached our table.
The capsicum veggie for dinner was an exception and was worth eating.
My 4.5 years old son as got upset stomach after having fish for Friday lunch and refused to eat anything after that. He is still suffering from diarrhea. Still not sure what caused it as we carried our own bisleri water for 2 days.

The place was a treat and had greenery, pleasant weather and beautiful lake behind hidden village.

Overall an average experience not sure if I can say whether it was good or bad trip but surely one can give a miss to this place.

Room Tip: One without jute cloth ceiling specially during rains.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sheetal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Jute ceilings are there from day one, almost 3.5 years. First time we get this against it review. Stale smell in monsoon because of humidity which goes in half hour of windows open and fans full on. We have air fresheners and could have helped if informed that time itself by smoking the house with burnt wood smoke like rural odour. Rotten egg smell is funny. Never found that smell.

Food sometimes is oily because of one of our non-regular cook, when main cook is off. Now we are paying strict attention to same. Now this last week we are lucky to be joined by a new lady from Philippines who is excellent cook and now is supervising the fooding process. This is now not going to happen.

Child suffering food poisoning is bad, no matter who are or what caused it. We empathize. But it’s not acceptable that is due to our food, because besides the child all seven of you had the same food, and twenty four other guests present that day all have the same food. Food is always fresh, and fish is always tawa fry not deep fried.

So all in all, thank you for the review, we understand your grouse, and the scathing review. No matter what your real motive is, we are committed to growth, progress and improvement, that one day you yourself will be coaxed by the truth of how good we are become and you will want to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shahapur
20.3 mi away
Dew Drops Boutique Retreat
4.7 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#2 of 65 in Thane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sajan Nature Club
Sajan Nature Club
#1 of 1 in Sajan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Mystic Valley Spa Resort
20.2 mi away
Manas Resort
Manas Resort
#4 of 9 in Igatpuri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
45.5 mi away
Midway Park Resort
Midway Park Resort
#2 of 2 in Shahapur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Village

Property: Hidden Village
Address: Sakhroli Village, Atgaon, Shahapur 421301, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Shahapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Shahapur
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing