We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend it”
Review of The Hotel Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Francis
Brookhaven
2 reviews
“Recommend it”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Good hotel and a resonable price. We had a good stay here on Dec 10th and will return. The hotel is very clean and the staff far exceeded our expectations. There is a very nice breakfast with lots of choices to choose from. The workout center that is larger than expected and nice. This is a good hotel if you want a good stay at a resonable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    26
    35
    47
See reviews for
41
51
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My spouse and chose had never stayed in Magnuson Hotel before choosing to stay, I must say after reading some the reviews we were kind of unsure whether to stay. I called the hotel, spoke with a very kind rep and she assured me that the hotel had made a lot of improvements and also make me feel comfortable with going ahead with the reservations. After arriving at the hotel and seeing how beautiful the area looked we were well convinced things had changed. Breakast was well above average and our room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of the lake. Hotel staff was indeed alot more outgoing then other hotel or B&B's we have ever stayed in and recommended sine great sites and restaurants in the area. We will visit again in the spring. Really Enjoyed staying here!!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamCather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We really love the hotel and its wonderful staff. We stayed at Magnuson 2 nights and enjoyed it. We stayed in a nice room overlooking the lake. The room was nice and clean and the internet was easy and fast. The ladies at the front desk were great and so was housekeeping. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoozanderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This was our first time staying at a Magnuson Hotel. It was a nice hotel with a wonderful staff. The room was clean, comfortable, and priced right. There is a fantastic workout facility and a better than average breakfast. We recommed eating at 8 Sisters restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is my third stay at this hotel and always pleased. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoy having a small refrigertator and microwave and the wifi works well. The breakfat is really good with lots to choose from. There is also a guge workout facility there that opens very early. The staff is always helpful and friendly. This is a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgtmustard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I got this hotel recommended as it's close to the Angola prison. Unfortunatly I wasn't so pleased with the quality!
The staff is friendly and helpful, reception is open 24h, so anytime you have a problem there is someone there to talk to.
Well, entered the room and the a/c was already set pretty "chilly". As it was already late when I arrived and the light isn't set too "romantic" I couldn't see the dust and bugs...a positive thing I found: there is a fridge and a microwave in your room. I probably picked the room with most dust and bugs because the next day I met new bugs (hellooo, the most hated animals of me are bugs!!). The cleaning was uhm, let's say they removed trash and brought new towels, but still dust and undefined dirt in corners (especially the tiny bathroom)
The breakfast serves hot meals (scrambleg eggs and waffles), toast, bread...and is available from 6-10am, the only good thing for me :(
Compared to the price you'll find surely another place very close to this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Francisville hotels

Clarkston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This is a good hotel with an excellent staff. This hotel sits far off the road and is surrounded by a nice lake. It is very quite which allowed me to sleep very well. The rooms are super clean and has a small fridge, wireless internet, coffee, and microwave. There is a workout facility which is great with all the equipment that I could wish for. There is a free breakfast which has hot eggs, waffles, oatmeal, bagals ect. The two staff members that I delt with were super friendly and helpful. The price was right and I will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
0.6 mi away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
230 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Zachary
8 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Zachary Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
19.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
24.6 mi away
Best Western Magnolia Manor
Best Western Magnolia Manor
#2 of 11 in Port Allen
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Francis

Property: The Hotel Francis
Address: 7059 US Highway 61 # 10, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4522 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Francisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Francis 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to our Free Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, our guests can now enjoy a complimentary Free Supper, served Monday-Thursday from 5-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Hotel Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Francisville
Best Western Saint Francisville
Saint Francisville Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing