We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for one night”
Review of The Hotel Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Francis
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as we wanted to visit plantations in the area.All the inns and the best western were all booked so we stayed here.This is a motel with prices like a hotel.The first room we were given was dirty and outdated, nothing like the pictures online. The lady at the desk was very nice when we talked to her about it and moved us to a room in the back facing the lake.This was nicer with flat screen tv,microwave and refrigerator and updated bedding. The beds where comfy and it was nice and quiet, breakfast was descent but all in all overpriced though the proximity to the plantations is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. I'm sorry to see that you experienced some problems while staying with us but i'm glad to see we were able to take care of them and that you enjoyed our upgraded room. I have looked into the issues that you have mentioned and rest assured they are being addressed and corrected. I hope that if you are ever back in the area you will give us another opportunity to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    24
    35
    45
See reviews for
39
48
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA USA
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We picked a busy time to visit St. Francisville and our stay at the local Magnuson worked well for us. I was traveling with my daughter and felt very safe and comfortable in the sleepy little town. The hotel is older but was clean and comfortable. The price was fair and it came with a breakfast that was much better than I expected and my daughter loved having waffles and hot coco. The internet signal was good and we liked being along side a lake where it was quite and peaceful. The people who worked there were friendly and genuine and were willing to help us find nearby restaurants that were open. Very good people.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to your car, I'd stay in the front. If you want to see the lake, I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. I'm glad to see your daughter enjoyed her waffles. It was truly "Our Pleasure" to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

In St. Francisville for just a weekend stay and decided on this hotel based on the reviews I had seen on here and other sites. Upon arriving, our check in was very easy and the front desk staff was very nice! Our room was very clean, smelled very nice and it was very comfortable. There is a free breakfast which included eggs, biscuits, grits, waffles, muffins, etc. The price was very affordable and the location is very convenient. We will definitely stay here again if we are in that area again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhughes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel met our needs. There are only 2 hotels in this town and one is a Best Western which is very nice but also about $25-$30 more.This hotel was in our price range and satisfied us. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a very friendly staff. The price included a free breakfast that was much better than we expected. There is a large work out facility but we didn't use it. There was a small refrigerator and microwave oven that was a nice plus. The hotel is quite and sits far away from the road and along side a pretty lake. For the price, this hotel was very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night check in was ok staff friendly helpful. got to room 134 and knew from reading previous write ups here all true room reeked of mold! Air conditioner loud, bathroom and sink not so great sink leaked underneath onto carpeting, there was only luke warm water for a shower in the morning,I thought things might be redeemable at the hot breakfast.No way!! at 800am. 3 coffee thermos' empty. orange juice empty. eggs watery and cold no one in sight to address these issues,did find her off in a closet area texting on her phone and was none too happy that i brought these issues to her attention so I skipped breakfast and checked out. I brought all these issues to the attention of the front desk staff(manager) and got a not very concerned reaction. Needless to say wont be here again One other thing walking by the pool i couldn't help but notice that the bottom wasn't visible yuk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahlenius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. I want you to know I take these reviews very seriously and want to assure you the issues you addressed will be taken care of. I want to apologize if your stay with us was anything but enjoyable. We want our guests to feel like they are home when they stay with us. We did have a minor issue with the boiler which has since been fixed. Also the pool pump had recently gone out and we were waiting for the new one to arrive, which it has and has now been installed. As far as the condition of your room I have spoken to both my Exceutive Housekeeper and my Chief Engineer to address the issues you mentioned and they are being taken care of as well. I have also spoken to the young lady in the breakfast area to make sure things are replenished in a timely manner as to not have to make the guest wait. I hope if you are ever in the area again you will give us the opportunity to host you. It would be "Our Pleasure".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Francisville hotels

Redan, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This tiny town has only 2 hotels. One is a brand new and cost over $100 a night and this one is older but the price is much more reasonable. The staff was really super and gave us excellant service. We stayed in an upgraded room that was very clean and comfortable.The internet signal was strong, the air conditioners worked well and there are small microwaves and refrigerators in the rooms. The free breakfast was very good and had more choices than we expected. We did not swim or use the excercise room.

Room Tip: Consider paying a few bucks more for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SthnTravlr, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. We take great pride in offering our guests true southern hospitality and i'm glad to see we didn't disappoint. We hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stn. Mountain
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotels and we are very pleased with the hotel. It's fairly priced and very clean. There is a free breakfast that is much better than most hotels as they have waffles, scrambled eggs, cereal, juice, danishes, bagals ect. The wi-fi was easy to use and free. There is a gym facility and pool but we didn't use either. Real good choice if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us. We continually strive to make our guests feel like part of our own family when they stay and i'm glad to see we didn't disappoint. I'm glad to see you enjoyed all we have to offer. We hope that if your travels ever bring you back to St. Francisville you will once again stay with us, it is truly Our Pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
0.6 mi away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Zachary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Zachary Inn
22.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baton Rouge Airport
19.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Francis

Property: The Hotel Francis
Address: 7059 US Highway 61 # 10, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4522 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Francisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Francis 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In addition to our Free Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, our guests can now enjoy a complimentary Free Supper, served Monday-Thursday from 5-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Francisville
Best Western Saint Francisville
Saint Francisville Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing