We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
81
25
10
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
25
10
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the main house back porch miss anne double jacuzzi pond cottage fridge was stocked oak trees coffee pot peace and quiet watching the ducks continental breakfast beautiful property dovecote privacy treehouse ms
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 149 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2007

This is hard place to describe, seeing as there are both good and bad points to your stay here. The grounds are breathtaking and having the freedom to roam around them is a real treasure. I highly recommend a trip around the place just to take in the massive trees, small animals and other vegetation. That was the highlight of the weekend for sure. On the flip side, there were also some lows. And at almost $200 a night, some of these "lows" could easily be fixed.

The owner, Anne, is certainly not the friendliest person you'll come across. I have to agree with other reviewers that she seemed as if we were bothering her when we had to go there for questions. The only time I could say she was "friendly", was when we were checking out and she was collecting our money. And speaking of money, I think it is a travesty to pay that amount to stay overnight and then still be charged $5 a person for a tour of the house. This should be included in your stay, as it is with most bed and breakfasts.

The worst low point had to be the holes in our sheets! - that's right - HOLES! Sheets aren't that expensive to replace, and decent looking ones project much better than ratty ones full of holes. So a good night's sleep left a little to be desired. Also the furniture and walls could use a little cleaning.

As for the breakfast that many others complained about, I'm still undecided about that. It wouldn't be a big deal if this were just a plain jane hotel, but to be considered a bed and breakfast, you usually do get treated to a little more than croissants in a plastic bag and 2 bottles of breakfast drinks. A nicer breakfast would add a lot to the experience.

Overall, if the price were a little lower, I'd have no complaints. And honestly, I don't think they aim to sell you on the cleanliness or friendliness of the place, and certainly not the breakfast selection. Their aim is to sell you a quiet, peaceful stay in a beautiful surrounding, and on that, they certainly deliver. As long as you can still be at peace with spending $200.00 a night for sheets full of holes and a croissant from a plastic bag...

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank alran02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We just returned from a much needed "get out of town" trip. We found/booked Butler Greenwood on the web. Web description accurately describes the place as quiet, peaceful and quaint. It was all those things. The website does not detail the filthy cottage (TreeHouse), the unkempt pool area or the overall
attitude of malaise that seems to infect the place. Our cottage had green mold growing on the porch swing, roaches in the bedroom and "gunk" in the refreigerator. Quite frankly, if we were not in such need of a short break, we would have left immediately. The most infuriating aspect of the stay was to learn that the "in cottage continental breakfast" consisted of croissants in a zip lock bag, an Otis Spunkmeyer muffin, a couple of banannas and two bottles of milk. Incredibly poor taste. It appears that the current caretakers (8th generation) has suffered from too many years of insular living. This would be a great stay for $75.00 per night. At 135.00, it is a flaming rip-off!!! I will never return and would advise others to pass on this one.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank ourlegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

This was our 2nd visit to Butler-Greenwood. As others have explained, it consists of a number of well separated cottages, no two of which are alike. On our first visit two years ago we stayed in the Cooks Cottage, which was one of the original slave quarters on the plantation. It was rustic to say the least and an unusual experience. This time we reserved Chase's Cottage, which was built about 5 years ago. It was much more comfortable for us. It can be reserved as a one or two bedroom unit, although the 2nd bedroom must be accessed from outside. The cottage has a separate living room with TV and fireplace and a small but fully functional kitchen. It also has a washer/dryer. All cottages appear to have a BBQ outside. Our friends stayed in the Pond House and we equally as happy, although it appears to considerably older. Both of our cottages had decks directly on a pond in the center of the property.

Our only complaint was that there were no bars of soap or little bottles of shampoo provided and I now recall this from our previous stay.

This is a wonderful place to stay- so quiet and relaxing. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2006

The Butler Greenwood Plantation is the BEST B&B anywhere. The owner is extremely nice, friendly, gracious, hospitable, wonderful and her staff are the same. Everyone is SOOOO nice. We want to go back. What a wonderful idea she has come up with there. The cottages are PERFECT. They are exquisite and unique and beautifully made and decorated. The interiors are warm and inviting. It is well-managed and well taken care of. It's the most WONDERFUL place we've ever been, and we have traveled quite a bit. I don't know how anyone could ask for anything better. And we LOVE the animals. We LOVE EVERYTHING about it. Thank you for the opportunity to comment.

3  Thank Faith3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

We stayed there in early May for 3 days. I would describe the owner as very business-like and even aloof, but not unfriendly. On the other hand, she was very helpful with our requests. Our cottage (the pond house) was comfortable and clean although the air conditioner in one of the bedrooms blew directly onto the head of the bed which was situated about 2 feet away. The breakfast was adequate and a BBQ was available, which was very handy. The peacock and pet geese were however, noisy. The grounds were beautiful with plenty of birds and you could fish in the pond. We toured the plantation home but didn't ask any questions so didn't get as much out of it as we could have.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews