We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butler Greenwood Plantation
Nearby Hotels
The Hotel Francis(Saint Francisville)
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Zachary Inn(Zachary)(Great Value!)
$74
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
75
25
10
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
25
10
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespool housethe main houseback porchmiss annelive oaksdouble jacuzzifridge was stockedoak treescoffee potcooks cottagewonderful bed and breakfastlove naturepeace and quietlovely pondwatching the duckswonderful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 143 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2006

The Butler Greenwood Plantation is the BEST B&B anywhere. The owner is extremely nice, friendly, gracious, hospitable, wonderful and her staff are the same. Everyone is SOOOO nice. We want to go back. What a wonderful idea she has come up with there. The cottages are PERFECT. They are exquisite and unique and beautifully made and decorated. The interiors are warm and inviting. It is well-managed and well taken care of. It's the most WONDERFUL place we've ever been, and we have traveled quite a bit. I don't know how anyone could ask for anything better. And we LOVE the animals. We LOVE EVERYTHING about it. Thank you for the opportunity to comment.

3  Thank Faith3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

We stayed there in early May for 3 days. I would describe the owner as very business-like and even aloof, but not unfriendly. On the other hand, she was very helpful with our requests. Our cottage (the pond house) was comfortable and clean although the air conditioner in one of the bedrooms blew directly onto the head of the bed which was situated about 2 feet away. The breakfast was adequate and a BBQ was available, which was very handy. The peacock and pet geese were however, noisy. The grounds were beautiful with plenty of birds and you could fish in the pond. We toured the plantation home but didn't ask any questions so didn't get as much out of it as we could have.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria, BC
538
Reviewed May 26, 2005

When I called to book, only the older cottages were available - we stayed in "Cooks Cottage". I knew from reviews online to expect less than perfect accomodations in the older cabins but I didn't expect filthy. I've never stayed in a cheap road side motel that was as dirty as our cottage was. When I pulled a wine glass down from the shelf, it was covered with greasy fingerprints. When I went to set the alarm, I had to wipe both grease and the accumulated dust off the display to see the time. There was blood or something dark all down the door jam in the bathroom and dark fingerprints on the doors. The cottage is right next to the pond and we thought it would be nice to have our morning coffee on the deck. But the lounge chairs on the deck were covered in green mould. The few dishes that were in the cabin were of the garage sale cast off variety. Household items are extremely cheap these days and considering the cost of these cabins there is no excuse for old worn out dishes and pans. The weather was starting to get warm when we visited. But the only opening in the cabin that had a screen was one door. None of the windows in the cabin opened and the other door didn't have a screen. A note in the cabin asked that we not leave open any doors that didn't have screens. Well one open door does not encourgage air flow. So we had to resort to using the ancient air conditioner to keep the temperature comfortable. At first we couldn't get the air conditioner to work since the knobs were twisted so that they didn't coorespond to the settings. We did manage to finally get cool air but it was loud. Not at all peaceful. The bed was old and so were the sheets - they definitely looked like they had been washed many times. I would also echo the comments of a previous review that the owner was not at all friendly or welcoming. When we arrived, she seemed more concerned about getting payment. Breakfast is in your cottage (which is nice for privacy) but very minimal - croissants, sweet cereal, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans, LA
424
Reviewed May 11, 2005

My husband and I decided to take a short trip for a romantic evening. I called and made a reservation and the person was very friendly at that time. When we got there, though, we went up to the door and she acted as if she was not expecting us and as if to ask, what are you doing here. We were told to go look around and pick the cottage we wanted to stay in.

The situation here is very nice in that you get your own cottage. They were all very nice and we chose the poolhouse.

We went back to tell teh woman and to pay. She never let us in the house and we had to transact the whole thing at the back door. The whole thing was sort of strange. Also, I paid $145 to stay there. I would have liked a free tour of the house, but instead I would have had to pay an additional $5 each so we didn't do it.

The strangest thing is that this is the same woman who wrote a book about running a B&B! I guess she left out the chapter on friendly customer service.

I would stay elsewhere next time, just because of her attitude. Other than the proprietor, the cottage and ammenities were very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2005

For anyone who wants to fully experience all that this beautiful area has to offer, Butler Greenwood is your very best choice, as it offers what most people not only want, but genuinely need during a vacation - location, superior accomodations, privacy, and indescribable beauty, run by one of those rare people who really does know everything and lovingly shares it with her guests. Just off of Highway 61, close to town but far enough away to be considered one of the area's "country plantations" one can experience a total cleansing of the spirit like very few other places afford. All of the cottages are widely spaced throughout the breathtaking grounds shaded by ancient live oaks draped with spanish moss, and are individually furnished with delightfully unique amenities and fabulous decor. No two cottages are alike, some dating from the 18th century and some modern, but each with outstanding comforts and conveniences including double jacuzzi baths complete with a choice of scented bath oils with the intrusiveness of telephones being mercifully excluded. All bedding is of superior quality with luxurious sheets and comforters; continental breakfast items are stocked within each cottage, allowing guests to awaken at their leisure so that no one is forced to mingle with strangers or adhere to an early morning schedule, especially meaningful in an area where the word "schedule" seems incongruous with the pace of the region. It might take more than one night to become fully removed from the outside world and completely settle in, but so much the better. I have stayed here twice before and regret that these were both only one night stays. Not included with the overnight rate but nevertheless not to be missed is the house tour. It is almost unheard of to find this extensive a collection of furnishings in their original setting but most importantly in their original condition in a Southern Plantation that has never been sold out of the family since the 1790's. The current owners are the 7th and 8th generation of the family that built the place, and share their love of the area with guests. But there is something more than all this at work here; a place such as this appeals to every sense, including the sixth sense, as few other points on this planet can penetrate a guest's spirit like this one does. If you find yourself at one of life's "crossroads," then this is the one place where you might be fully "reached." Don't miss this. You will find yourself booking your vacations here for years to come after you've tried it once because then you'll realize how much the world needs this place; once it's yours, then you'll realize how badly you've missed out until then.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews