We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butler Greenwood Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. It wasn't what I expected, first they are using Bed and Breakfast loosely. The breakfast was 6 mini crossants in a ziplock bag in the fridge, 2 muffins, milk and orange juice, a container of raisin bran and some packets of instant oatmeal, and coffee. You can go to any other bed and breakfast in St. Francisville and get a hot breakfast prepared for you. So I was very disappointed in this. We stayed in the Gazebo, it is one room, no separate bedroom. It is very outdated. The landscape is very quiet and pretty. The office was not marked and hard to find. I went to look at the pool and a housekeeper came over to me and asked me if I needed something, I felt like I was doing something wrong to be questioned like that. No, I won't stay here again, I'll go to the St. Francisville Inn and get a great buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ginnylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Sorry you were disappointed. We do not advertise or serve a full breakfast, only continental in each cottage. Every B&B has its unique specialties, and here we offer peace and quiet, historic structures and gardens which in March should have been beautiful. The Gazebo is our honeymoon suite with 3 9-foot-tall stained glass windows, kingsized cypress four-poster bed, double Jacuzzi, deck overlooking pond. We have other multi-room cottages that might have given you more space, if that's what you had wanted. But thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 140 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

The first contact sets the tone: you cross a magnificent huge alley of oaks, probably three times the size of the famous oak alley plantation. You then arrive to a pretty 18th century plantation, behind which there is a huge park and a pond, with cottages.

We slept in dovecote, some kind of windmill transformed into a triplex, with a nice master room with king bed and a bathroom with jacuzzi on the first floor, a kitchen and second bathroom in the second floor and a pretty room with a single bed on the third floor. There are TVs on each floor, and a big terrasse overlooking a wood.

There is a chimney on the second floor, pre-prepared for making a nice fire in the evening.

Despite the fact that the highway is only a 5 minutes drive, you feel lost in the countryside, with only birds to wake you up in the morning. The plantation has also a small swimming pool, which we have not tried. The park is lovely, with even a peacock wandering in the alleys.

To sum up, an extremely relaxing and charming place that makes it a perfect getaway for one or two nights.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Butler Greenwood for over 20 years. If you want a quiet weekend away from the city, this is the place. It's only 35 minutes from our "city" home but feels like we are truly in the country. Miss Anne and her staff do everything to make you feel welcome and give you the peace and quiet you have come looking for. After time spent at the most wonderful bed and breakfast you feel like a couple again. Each of her properties is unique onto itself and welcome your every need. This is truly a southern charm. Our children use to come with us when they were small and have fond memories of the Dovecot. There is no need to look anywhere else we found our little piece of heaven at Butler Greenwood and after 30 years of marriage, Butler Greenwood guarantees we;llhave 30 more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was the 3rd trip that my wife and I have made to Butler Greenwood, and this time we were celebrating our one year wedding anniversary, and this place as always, never ceases to amaze me…. Anne Butler even took the time to get us an anniversary card… This place captures the word “Charm”, from the get go… If you’re looking to stay at the Ritz Carlton, by all means go some where’s else, but if looking for something different from everyday life, something that will take your mind away from work, and the stresses of life, Get a room here… All of the cottages have Jacuzzi Tubs… Thus far, we’ve stayed in the Dovecote (first trip), Pool House (first trip), Old Kitchen (second trip), and the Treehouse (3rd trip)… The Old Kitchen and Pool House have been our favorites so far, but we’re planning to stay in every cottage on the grounds of the plantation… P.S. Anne Butler is a Louisiana author that has written many books on our beautiful state; don’t forget to ask her about her books!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We love having repeat guests, and we have many of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I just spent our fourth visit at Butler-Greenwood B&B in less than a year. Every time we leave, we plan our next visit. We love the seclusion. No one else exists in our world when we are there. Anne Butler is the perfect hostess. She's there if you need something but respects your desire for privacy. We have stayed in three cottages so far, visiting "Chase's Cottage" twice. Our visits were everything we wanted and more. Quiet, quaint, beautiful. Staff checks with us once a day to see if we need anything (fresh towels, croissants, muffins, milk, juice, etc.). We bring our own food and snacks. There is no better way to connect with your spouse. We emptied the hot water heater often using the jacuzzi! We took long walks together. We love the wildlife on the grounds. We spot something "new" each visit. Who would want to stay in a stuffy hotel with staff irritating you when you can stay at Butler-Greenwood? Not us! Returning in July to stay again in the Pond House to celebrate 44 years of marriage. We will eventually stay in all 8 cottages. Everything is always neat and clean and we love exploring each unique cottage. We left a note after each stay and enjoyed reading stories shared by other visitors. Perfect for us - our new home-away-from-home, without distractions and worries. See you again soon, Humphrey <3

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Butler Greenwood is a beautiful location. Quiet and peaceful. But found it to be more like going to a camp, than a bed and breakfast. Found it to be uncomfortably dirty. Was afraid to sit on furniture, or take my shoes off. Slept in clothes. Everything was dirty from the floors to the ceiling and everything in between. Appears to be neglected. Do not wish to sound mean or negative as it was a peaceful place, but if cleanliness is important to you, you will be extremely uncomfortable. Can not recommend!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianaetjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We're sorry your experience with us was not pleasant, and we would certainly have addressed your problems had you mentioned them to management and would also have refunded your payment. We want our guests to enjoy their stay here, and so does our cleaning staff, who take great pride in their work. Our linens are laundered daily, so we're not quite sure why you felt it necessary to sleep in your clothes, but we will certainly discuss your disappointment with staff at every level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

If you want the real charm of a southern plantation, you must stay here. We were in Cook's Cottage and it had a great location and fantastic Jacuzzi for relaxing. Don't miss the tour to see original furnishings and a beautiful home. Only plantation to be owned by the 9th generation of the original owner.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
2.8 mi away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
248 reviews
2.9 mi away
St. Francisville Inn
St. Francisville Inn
#5 of 9 in Saint Francisville
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Myrtles Plantation
The Myrtles Plantation
#1 of 9 in Saint Francisville
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Village Studios
Village Studios
#2 of 3 in Jackson
13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Greenwood Plantation
Greenwood Plantation
#3 of 9 in Saint Francisville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler Greenwood Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler Greenwood Plantation

Address: 8345 US Highway 61, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-6671
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francisville
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Butler Greenwood Plantation Hotel Saint Francisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing