We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
82
25
10
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
25
10
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages pool house the main house back porch live oaks double jacuzzi oak trees coffee pot wonderful bed and breakfast peace and quiet continental breakfast watching the ducks wonderful weekend full kitchen beautiful property new orleans cabin
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 150 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I just spent our fourth visit at Butler-Greenwood B&B in less than a year. Every time we leave, we plan our next visit. We love the seclusion. No one else exists in our world when we are there. Anne Butler is the perfect hostess. She's there if you need something but respects your desire for privacy. We have stayed in three cottages so far, visiting "Chase's Cottage" twice. Our visits were everything we wanted and more. Quiet, quaint, beautiful. Staff checks with us once a day to see if we need anything (fresh towels, croissants, muffins, milk, juice, etc.). We bring our own food and snacks. There is no better way to connect with your spouse. We emptied the hot water heater often using the jacuzzi! We took long walks together. We love the wildlife on the grounds. We spot something "new" each visit. Who would want to stay in a stuffy hotel with staff irritating you when you can stay at Butler-Greenwood? Not us! Returning in July to stay again in the Pond House to celebrate 44 years of marriage. We will eventually stay in all 8 cottages. Everything is always neat and clean and we love exploring each unique cottage. We left a note after each stay and enjoyed reading stories shared by other visitors. Perfect for us - our new home-away-from-home, without distractions and worries. See you again soon, Humphrey <3

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Butler Greenwood is a beautiful location. Quiet and peaceful. But found it to be more like going to a camp, than a bed and breakfast. Found it to be uncomfortably dirty. Was afraid to sit on furniture, or take my shoes off. Slept in clothes. Everything was dirty from the floors to the ceiling and everything in between. Appears to be neglected. Do not wish to sound mean or negative as it was a peaceful place, but if cleanliness is important to you, you will be extremely uncomfortable. Can not recommend!!!

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianaetjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We're sorry your experience with us was not pleasant, and we would certainly have addressed your problems had you mentioned them to management and would also have refunded your payment. We want our guests to enjoy their stay here, and so does our cleaning staff, who take great pride in their work. Our linens are laundered daily, so we're not quite sure why you felt it necessary to sleep in your clothes, but we will certainly discuss your disappointment with staff at every level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

If you want the real charm of a southern plantation, you must stay here. We were in Cook's Cottage and it had a great location and fantastic Jacuzzi for relaxing. Don't miss the tour to see original furnishings and a beautiful home. Only plantation to be owned by the 9th generation of the original owner.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Owner gives accurate picture of what to expect. Not a luxury hotel but some people expect more than they should. B & B visitors have changed now. Owner is considering stopping house tours - a shame because the furnishings are original and have never changed families - but tourists are not appreciating the experiences. The grounds are like going to church. You feel religious seeing the 200 year old oaks with moss and tree ferns. Furnishings are clean and comfortable- cottages are eclectic and funky. We enjoyed our time but you must be aware that not all B & B's are created equal and be prepared. Bring your own food and water if that's what you care about.

Room tip: We stayed at Pond Pavillion - great as it was raining and no one was in the pool which this cottage opens onto.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My BF is a fan of B&B's but I prefer more privacy. The cabins of Butler Greenwood offer a compromise. A private cottage on the beautiful and historic grounds of this unique Antebellum House is St. Francisville offer peace, tranquility all in the privacy of your own cottage complete with full kitchen and jacuzzi tub. The Cook's Cottage is small but perfect for a romantic weekend with a view of the lake from the tub. Being your own toiletries and hair dryer but most kitchen utensils are furnished. Comfortable A/C window units but don't plan on opening the windows or doors uf the weather permits as none of our windows had screens and the bugs of Louisiana will make a quick feast of you. Cottages have fireplaces making this a perfect site for a winter getaway.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews