We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in St. Fransicville”
Review of Barrow House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrow House Inn
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at Barrow House in October 2010 and had a wonderful time. Ms. Shirley and Chris are wonderful hosts and made our stay comfortable. We stayed in the Empire Suite in the Printer's Cottage, across the street from Barrow House. We found it clean, roomy and comfortable. The suite has a living room with 2 recliners, a LCD TV and DVD player. There are lots of movies available for viewing. The bedroom is spacious with antique Eastlake furniture and a daybed. The bathroom is large with a clawfoot tub/shower combo. The cottage has a shared sunroom, kitchen and veranda. All of which make the stay more cozy and relaxing. Ms. Shirley is a wealth of knowledge about the St. Francisville area. She supplies maps and recommendations for dining in the area. She gave us helpful tips about the Angola Prison rodeo which we attended on Sunday. Breakfast was delicious each morning and entertaining with great conversation.
We had never stayed at a B&B before and were a little apprehensive. But we were quite pleased with our stay at Barrow House and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartwell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

My friend and I were very excited to stay here. we had booked our room online, and had correspondence with one of the owners by email on our room. At first we booked the Rose Room and then realized it only had a double bed. We then emailed back and changed our room to one that had a bigger bed. We thought that we were good to go, but when we arrived after driving all day, they did not have the right room for us. We asked them about our request of a room with a larger bed, and the owner responded very rudely to us and said they were completely booked up. Even though we had an email stating the confirmation that the larger room was ours. The owner didn't even give us a chance to show them the email. So needless to say, we slept in a double bed with two people for two nights. Our stay was not enjoyable. The pastries that we recieved in the morning were wonderful, but I find it rediculous that you would have to pay an additional $5 for eggs, when this is a B&B. Also you only get one hour to have breakfest unless you get it togo; which is what we did since we were doing several activities while we were visiting. I will never come back to this B&B, I was very disappointed, and we ended up paying more for the room we didn't want.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kakster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topteninn, Owner at Barrow House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2010

Regretfully, we did not see the email requesting a change of room, and therefore did not confirm it. When the guests arrived at 10 PM on Friday night, there was nothing we could do because the town was completely booked for the weekend.

Because most B&Bs are small operations with only a few people doing everything,
our breakfast time is limited to 8:30 - 9:30 AM. This often means the breakfast
ends around 10:30 AM, half an hour before check-out time. If guests need to eat
before or after this time (these guests left early for a trip to New Orleans), a continental breakfast is provided for them.

Continental is our standard breakfast and included in the daily rate ( Note: Breakfast at a B&B is never "free" but incorporated into the rate). Many B&Bs only offer a continental breakfast. Because we wish to please as many guests as possible, 3 New Orleans-style egg dishes are offered at an additional $5 per person for those who wish a heartier breakfast. Guests, such as these, do not have to pay for something they do not receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We have stayed at Barrow House and the Printers Cottage three times over the years. Our recent visit was just as enjoyable. We found the place very clean and comfortable and love the quaintness. The innkeepers are very welcoming and helpful with recommendations. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the Barrow House but in the Printer's Cottage next door. It was dirty, moldy and every single surface was covered with stuffed teddy bears (which were also very dusty). Couldn't use any surface since all were covered with bears. Moved them onto the floor and into the closets but moving them created an allergy attack. Just disgusting. There were 61 bears in one (small) bathroom. It was creepy. Had they not be so dirty is probably wouldn't have been so bad. I slept in a bed with a canopy - everytime you moved dust would float down from above. Also the bath mats need to be thrown away and the whole place scrubbed. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank syzygy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrowHouseInn, Manager at Barrow House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

At Barrow House Inn, we like to think of our guests as not just a credit card but as friends. Most of the teddy bears in the Empire Suite have been donated by a couple who have returned annually for almost 20 years. Every year, they bring a bear from their travels around the world. We are thrilled that they think enough of our place to remember us on their vacations. Some of our guests bring gifts (and not just bears) when they visit. In today's impersonal society, this is a welcome tradition that we encourage. We do hope everyone who stays here will enjoy themselves, lighten up and "bear" with it. This review was written three years after this individual stayed here as a teen and the dust issue has been addressed during that long period of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

There was a review in 2007 that brought up the mildew and "no keys" policy, and I found that to be true. I was surprised that the home and room smelled of mildew, but then this is true of a lot of older homes in Louisiana. But if you are sensitive to mold and mildew, better rethink Barrow House. It was not as spotlesss as some other B&Bs I have stayed in in different parts of the country, but the room was clean. The innkeeper was gracious enough, but charged $5 extra for the egg breakfast, which I have never encountered before in a B&B. Overall it was a pleasant stay, but I am puzzled by some of the rave reviews. It was far from the best B&B I have stayed in, and if I were to return to St. Francisville I would probably look elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoDoSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topteninn, Manager at Barrow House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

It is very unfortunate this woman did not enjoy her stay with us, although her husband apparently did (he mentioned as such). Sadly, she was "out of sorts" (perhaps from extreme stress) from the time they arrived.

Despite our help and best intentions, she never really allowed herself to relax and appreciate one of America's most beautiful areas. As is *quite* common with individuals who do not enjoy themselves at a bed & breakfast, she blamed the B&B and the hosts, creating (dirt, mold, etc.) reasons as to why.

We do our best to help guests enjoy their stay as much as possible. However, the old addage: "You can't please all of the people all of the time", still rings true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

we have stayed at the barrow house in saint francisville, la. many times. the owners shirley and her son cris are like family now,they always are helpful in finding things for us to do. the b&b is idealy situated (a short walk to town(churchs,stores,restuarants) and very quiet.our favorite time is in dec. when the whole town celebrates "christmas in the country".we never get tired of staying at the barrow house only 90 min. from new orleans,but totally different. the areas rolling hills ,friendly people and antebellum history make st francisville and the barrow house one of our favorite spots.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcsmith63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topteninn, Manager at Barrow House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2009

Thank you so much! This wonderful couple from New Orleans has been staying with us every year since the early 90s... so I guess we must be doing something right ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We went to the Barrow House reguarly several years ago. Since then, we moved and went on with our lives. However, life started closing in on us recently and we remembered the most peaceful place on earth, Barrow House. We called and thankfully, Shirley had a lovely room left (they're all beautiful) and we flung our suitcase in the back seat and headed out, leaving our cares behind. When we got there, we set out for a walk around the moss-draped neighborhood. We walked through the century's old cemetery, holding hands, regrouping.
After dinner at a lovely restaurant that evening, we sat on the front porch of the Barrow House, fans whirring and sipped wine.
Life is slow in St. Francisville. They've captured the very best of life. The Barrow House is the best of the best.
Oh yeah-If you go, be sure to have the full breakfast. Shirley is an AMAZING cook!
ENJOY!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hill6911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topteninn, Manager at Barrow House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2009

Another wonderful couple who are avid Civil War reenactors, we hope to see them for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Francisville hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
248 reviews
2 mi away
The Myrtles Plantation
The Myrtles Plantation
#1 of 9 in Saint Francisville
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Francisville Inn
St. Francisville Inn
#5 of 9 in Saint Francisville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Greenwood Plantation
Greenwood Plantation
#3 of 9 in Saint Francisville
87 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barrow House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrow House Inn

Address: 9779 Royal St, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4325
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francisville
Price Range: $115 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover 2 historic houses in the heart of an unforgettable fairy tale town. Rooms and elegant suites have a carefully-selected collection of American antiques plus private bathrooms, free wi-fi, HDTV & blu-ray player with over 1000 movies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barrow House Hotel Saint Francisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing