We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and relaxing”
Review of Barrow House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrow House Inn
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I made last minute plans for a getaway weekend. In short, we booked the stay 2 hours before we arrived. Shirley and her son were very cordial and very informative.

If you would like to experience a slice of the Old South, you won't be dissapointed. The room was great and the food was terrific! I suggest the eggs with red beans.

Michael and Shari

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctormike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Barrow House in St. Francisville, Louisiana was a wonderful experience even before we arrived. Our arrival was on Sunday and even before we arrived our superb hosts, Shirley and Chris had contacted us to let us know what restaurants were open on Sunday! Things only got better from there! We stayed in the Printers House, Empire Suite and found everything to be even better than we hoped. The room was elegant, filled with period AND local period antiques. The room was spotless and the house was homey. The front porch provided an excellent venue for relaxing and watching a much slower world go by.

The Barrow house is within an easy walk of the historic homes in St. Francisville, and the Plantations are all within a few minutes drive. St. Fancisville is unique in the range and variety of Plantations available to tour, from early Colonial (Oakley) to true antebellem (Rosedown and Greenwood).

I simply can't say enough about our hosts, Shirley and Chris. From the cookies that greeted us upon arrival, to Shirley's delicious New Orleans style breakfasts, to their kind reception. Shirley was a virtual fountain of information on local history (St. Francisville was part of Spanish West Florida), points of interest and an expert on local restaurants. Take whatever recommendations she has to offer without a second thought..

St. Francisville offers a great change of pace for folks already familiar with the New Orleans area, rich in history, great food and a more relaxing atmosphere. Barrow House is is THE place to stay in St. Francisville, a bed & breakfast that exceeds expectations and hospitality that goes beyond Southern Hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

If you like 500 teddy bears of all shapes and sizes, in your living room, bedroom, bathroom (I'll come back to the so called bathroom), kitchen and every corner of every room, the Printers house is for you. However you will have to accept red NYLON sheets and pillowslips and a dirty looking electric blanket on the bed. Also a small cupboard with a tiny shower, old worn towels and just room to swing a cat. In the fridge were old discarded almost empty jars of jam and so on. We were staying for two nights, but hurried away as early as possible the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziehyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topteninn, Owner at Barrow House Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Since this was a quite elderly English couple, I spent almost an hour giving them directions, tour and restaurant information, for which she (the reviewer) thanked me. Her husband told me directly that the accommodations were quite nice. The next morning, they "decided to move on to the next town" so we carried their huge suitcases to their car. I was surprised to read all this on Trip Advisor and wondered when all this displeasure arose.

At Barrow House Inn, we try to welcome all guests as friends. Most of the teddy bears in the Victorian Suite have been donated by a couple who return annually for their anniversary (this year will be the 17th). Every year, they bring a bear from their travels around the country. We are thrilled that they think enough of our B&B to remember us on their vacations. Some of our other guests also bring gifts (and not just bears) when they visit. In today's impersonal society, this is a welcome tradition that we encourage. We hope everyone who stays here will enjoy themselves, lighten up and "bear" with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAYES
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at Barrow House in October 2010 and had a wonderful time. Ms. Shirley and Chris are wonderful hosts and made our stay comfortable. We stayed in the Empire Suite in the Printer's Cottage, across the street from Barrow House. We found it clean, roomy and comfortable. The suite has a living room with 2 recliners, a LCD TV and DVD player. There are lots of movies available for viewing. The bedroom is spacious with antique Eastlake furniture and a daybed. The bathroom is large with a clawfoot tub/shower combo. The cottage has a shared sunroom, kitchen and veranda. All of which make the stay more cozy and relaxing. Ms. Shirley is a wealth of knowledge about the St. Francisville area. She supplies maps and recommendations for dining in the area. She gave us helpful tips about the Angola Prison rodeo which we attended on Sunday. Breakfast was delicious each morning and entertaining with great conversation.
We had never stayed at a B&B before and were a little apprehensive. But we were quite pleased with our stay at Barrow House and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartwell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My friend and I were very excited to stay here. we had booked our room online, and had correspondence with one of the owners by email on our room. At first we booked the Rose Room and then realized it only had a double bed. We then emailed back and changed our room to one that had a bigger bed. We thought that we were good to go, but when we arrived after driving all day, they did not have the right room for us. We asked them about our request of a room with a larger bed, and the owner responded very rudely to us and said they were completely booked up. Even though we had an email stating the confirmation that the larger room was ours. The owner didn't even give us a chance to show them the email. So needless to say, we slept in a double bed with two people for two nights. Our stay was not enjoyable. The pastries that we recieved in the morning were wonderful, but I find it rediculous that you would have to pay an additional $5 for eggs, when this is a B&B. Also you only get one hour to have breakfest unless you get it togo; which is what we did since we were doing several activities while we were visiting. I will never come back to this B&B, I was very disappointed, and we ended up paying more for the room we didn't want.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topteninn, Owner at Barrow House Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
Regretfully, we did not see the email requesting a change of room, and therefore did not confirm it. When the guests arrived at 10 PM on Friday night, there was nothing we could do because the town was completely booked for the weekend.

Because most B&Bs are small operations with only a few people doing everything,
our breakfast time is limited to 8:30 - 9:30 AM. This often means the breakfast
ends around 10:30 AM, half an hour before check-out time. If guests need to eat
before or after this time (these guests left early for a trip to New Orleans), a continental breakfast is provided for them.

Continental is our standard breakfast and included in the daily rate ( Note: Breakfast at a B&B is never "free" but incorporated into the rate). Many B&Bs only offer a continental breakfast. Because we wish to please as many guests as possible, 3 New Orleans-style egg dishes are offered at an additional $5 per person for those who wish a heartier breakfast. Guests, such as these, do not have to pay for something they do not receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We have stayed at Barrow House and the Printers Cottage three times over the years. Our recent visit was just as enjoyable. We found the place very clean and comfortable and love the quaintness. The innkeepers are very welcoming and helpful with recommendations. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the Barrow House but in the Printer's Cottage next door. It was dirty, moldy and every single surface was covered with stuffed teddy bears (which were also very dusty). Couldn't use any surface since all were covered with bears. Moved them onto the floor and into the closets but moving them created an allergy attack. Just disgusting. There were 61 bears in one (small) bathroom. It was creepy. Had they not be so dirty is probably wouldn't have been so bad. I slept in a bed with a canopy - everytime you moved dust would float down from above. Also the bath mats need to be thrown away and the whole place scrubbed. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank syzygy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrowHouseInn, Manager at Barrow House Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
At Barrow House Inn, we like to think of our guests as not just a credit card but as friends. Most of the teddy bears in the Empire Suite have been donated by a couple who have returned annually for almost 20 years. Every year, they bring a bear from their travels around the world. We are thrilled that they think enough of our place to remember us on their vacations. Some of our guests bring gifts (and not just bears) when they visit. In today's impersonal society, this is a welcome tradition that we encourage. We do hope everyone who stays here will enjoy themselves, lighten up and "bear" with it. This review was written three years after this individual stayed here as a teen and the dust issue has been addressed during that long period of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
1.5 mi away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
230 reviews
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Zachary
8 reviews
16.7 mi away
Best Western Zachary Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
2.0 mi away
The Myrtles Plantation
The Myrtles Plantation
#1 of 9 in Saint Francisville
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Francisville Inn
St. Francisville Inn
#4 of 9 in Saint Francisville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrow House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrow House Inn

Property: Barrow House Inn
Address: 9779 Royal St, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4325
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover 2 historic houses in the heart of an unforgettable fairy tale town. Rooms and elegant suites have a carefully-selected collection of American antiques plus private bathrooms, free wi-fi, HDTV & blu-ray player with over 1000 movies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barrow House Hotel Saint Francisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing