We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tourist Site for Families or Couples”
Review of Oakley Plantation

Oakley Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baton Rouge
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Tourist Site for Families or Couples”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Oakley House is a treasure of a plantation. It is unique in design because it reflects some West Indies plantations with some uniqueness of its own. The grounds and outer buildings are interesting and worth the effort to spend some extra time there. The welcome center is relatively new, comfortable and provides a nice overview of both the home and life in the early 19th century of Louisiana. The price is extraordinary at $4 a person, but seniors 62+ and 12 and under get in free. The tour itself covers the whole house and is quite informative. For special needs visitors there really is not any ability to see the building except for the first floor. There are many furnishings original to the house and several first addition Audubon prints. The site is worth a special trip and quite a bargain to boot

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WickedWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Level 6 Contributor
1,096 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,145 helpful votes
“This house is over 200 years old”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the tour of the Oakley house which lasted about 40 minutes. We were the only 2 on the tour so it was more enjoyable than being with a group of strangers. The lady conducting the tour was very knowledgeable about the history of the place which is over 200 years old. Following this tour, we wandered around the plantation and browsed through the slave quarters and other buildings. It was a good way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My grandmother and I love this plantation. The grounds are just lovely and have plenty of space to picnic. Guided tours are informative and full of wealthy knowledge. Their is a garden that leads to a path to bird watch. I never found a place so peaceful than watching birds with my grandmother here. In the back of the grounds there is a barn with chickens. I just love this place. You will too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this Plantation”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Oakley is a charming plantation. I loved the louvered shutters on the sleeping porch. The entire home had charming details. I can only imagine what life was like back in its heyday.
The grounds were lovely as well and the informative museum like entry building, filled with the detailed history and artifacts of the original owners and life there, was a wonderful asset to the tour of this home.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosepine, Louisiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best plantion tour of our trip”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wow. This was all of our favorite tour. The grounds was beautiful. The staff was great. Very educational tour and lots of things to look at. We will be going back for one of their reactments.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Oakley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing