We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic plantation house restoration. Original buildings on site include the kitchen, doctor's office, cool house, Nina's wing, a tool shed, a hot house, and summer houses (gazebos) throughout the gardens. The gift shop stays open from 9am - 4:30pm and is independently run. Rosedown does not provide over night accommodations and there is no restaurant on site. Hours of operation are from 9am-5pm seven days a week. The first house tour is at 10am and the last house tour is at 4pm. Closed for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day.
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second visit. The first time I wasn't able to see the inside of the house as it was too late in the day. I was very disappointed to learn the house was closed again today due to electronic issues. The gardens and grounds are amazing and definitely worth the trip on their own. There are plenty of photo opportunities, several places to sit, and drinking fountains throughout the grounds. The gift shop was full of fun novelty items, and there were plenty of bathroom facilities. If I am ever in the area again, I hope I will be able to finally take a tour of the main house. Perhaps the third time will be the charm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    87
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Took a tour of the house very nice and guide knowledgeable. The live oaks and gardens were breathtaking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank reviewer409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The tour guide was extremely informative and very friendly. The house is beautiful and the grounds are some of the most beautiful gardens I've ever seen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bebe40435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Definitely get a tour--I think they run every hour at the top of the hour. Super interesting family/history and beautiful estate!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden, Grumpy Guide”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A must stop in St. Francisville if you enjoy gardens on a grand scale under the canopy of giant old oaks. The house is also beautiful, the facade of it more so than the interior.
The tour guide wasn't the nicest person - she seemed quite irritable, rushed, & not at all interested in engaging with our questions. Maybe having a bad day? Maybe needed a big hug? Maybe so.
If we do go back, it certainly won't be for the house tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank from_new_orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site also viewed

Saint Francisville, LA
 

Been to Rosedown Plantation State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing