We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two times not a charm”
Review of Hampton Inn Ruston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ruston
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ruston
Certificate of Excellence
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two times not a charm”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Hampton Inn in Ruston 2 times. You would have thought I would have learned after the first stay. I booked using the Hampton's pre-pay sight. The first time they charged me after I left, even though it was pre-paid. After a about a week, I got them to back off the charge, and another week after that the money was re-deposited into my account. Then I stayed here again (for my daughter's wedding no less). Again the room was pre-paid, and upon checking in I verified with them that they had it as pre-paid. Again, they double charged me! The hotel is only average at best, so to go through this type of headache to stay there! Never again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    88
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
141
41
22
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
365 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The room was spacious and very clean. A/C worked great and the king sized bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was fresh, typical continental type fare. The hotel staff were all professional, helpful and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas tx, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

bugs in carpet and my legs started to itch. Asked to be moved to a different room, which they did. the next day I had red spots on my feet and legs and still have some spots today 8/22/13 and they itch. I was very disappointed to have this experience at a Hampton Inn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped here after a long crowded drive back from the beach in Gulf Shores, AL. The front desk staff (a young Asian man) was an absolute delight, and welcomed us like we were family. Later, he offered bottled water to us and recited the list of breakfast menu items in a well-practiced and entertaining way (we were impressed!). Rooms were clean, quiet and nice, although not especially large. Good price and also next to a fun Mexican restaurant (getting ready for some Saturday night karaokee!). Lots of little kids in the indoor pool, but if we had not just had lots of water time, we might have still gone in. Breakfast was good and hot and re-filled quickly. Easy and pleasant check-in and check-out. We love the Sleep Inn in Ruston (have stayed there three times), but this place gives it a run for its money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CST2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had an incredibly poor experience that lasted over several months with this hotel. I have learned that the manager causing my difficulties is no longer at that property, HHonors and the interim manager both reached out to me, and have help to rectify the issues that we had. Unfortunately, I have experienced this at more and more Hampton Inn's in recent months, which is very disappointing to me as a HHonors member. I choose Hampton because it is part of the Hilton Family and allows me Frequent Traveler perks, but have been feeling that, if I weren't so invested, I might try to find another family of hotels.

That being said, the property itself is a "middle age" Hampton Inn, with some upgrades, but not compared to the newest construction and remodels. I found the carpet to be noticeably dirty feeling on my feet. The hotel was at 100% occupancy due to a Dixie league baseball tournament, and I did not partake of the breakfast. Since I stayed at this property prior to my wedding, and have family in the area, it is very unlikely that I would lodge here again. I would also be reserved in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSFMEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

W had very clean rooms. The front desk service was very good. They were polite and accomodating. Coffee and Tea with some fruit available all day. The breakfast buffet was OK (fruit juices, yogurt, waffle maker, pastries, usually some sort of egg and meathot buffet). Decent pricing. Located right off I-20 near Louisiana Tech Campus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I frequently stay at this hotel when traveling because of the overall friendliness of the staff, location, rate and just the overall atmosphere of feeling like I am someone special. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling along this route.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruston hotels
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ruston
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ruston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Ruston
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ruston
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Ruston
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ruston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ruston

Property: Hampton Inn Ruston
Address: 1315 N Trenton St, Ruston, LA 71270-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Ruston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ruston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ruston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Ruston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ruston Hotel Ruston
Ruston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing