We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Ruston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped here for one night on the way to Georgia. Easy check in. Seemed the desk clerk was having allergy problems or something so I was glad it didn't take long.
Room was clean as well as the bath area.The bed didn't sleep very good because of a very soft mattress. All the usual breakfast items including an egg that's shaped like an omelette for some reason. It was tasteless. The turkey link sausage was soaking in a watery liquid which seemed greasy. There was biscuits and a waffle maker. Gravy was very thin. Looked like it was made with water. My husband said it was lousy. If we stayed again, I would have breakfast elsewhere. Had to wait the next morning for a luggage cart because there's only two for the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room that doesn't face the highway. It was very noisy and the A/C unit wouldn't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chessiefortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our family of three stayed at the Fairfield for a weekend trip to visit my son in Ruston. We arrived on Saturday and had pre-booked a room with two queen-sized beds. We had requested a handicapped accessible room, but were not given one (it was unavailable). However, our room was a nice size and clean, so we were not inconvenienced.

The room had a microwave and mini-fridge. Although earlier reviews have complained about "old" model televisions, we had a 32" flat screen, so I assume the older t.v.s were replaced. There was also a one-cup coffee maker that I liked a lot. The beds were very soft, not as firm as we prefer, but were still quite comfortable. Overall, we had no complaints about the room whatsoever.

The hotel was moderately booked, so there we had no neighbors. Our stay was very quiet, with no road noise as some have mentioned in their reviews. Around 11:00 a.m. on Sunday, a church group began their services in a 1st floor meeting room and the music was much too loud. It would have been difficult to sleep over the noise if we'd had a late night. We had been given a late check-out upon request, but we left at noon due to the noise.

The pool and whirlpool were very nice and a great way to relax after a long drive. The whirlpool steps were very slippery! My husband slipped entering the spa (fortunately he was not injured) so we were very careful and warned others who were using the pool facilities. My daughter used the gym, which had several treadmills, a stairmaster and weights, and was pleased with the area.

The only real disappointment with our stay was the free breakfast. It was one of the worst I've had at a hotel in recent years. Sausage was very greasy. Gravy for biscuits was too thin. Eggs were dry. However, for the money we saved on the cost of the room, we could afford a nice breakfast elsewhere. (And the servers in the breakfast area were very friendly and helpful.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lepidoptera50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the #1 place to stay in Ruston! The entire staff is the best from top to bottom. I stay there at least 6 times a year. Breakfast is always great. It is just right down the road from the Louisiana Tech University campus. I highly recommend staying here for any type of visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I travel to Ruston regularly. Due to the oil/gas industry and 2 colleges Ruston’s hotels are booked to capacity a lot and this drives the price per room up. I have stayed at all 3 of the major chains and the Marriott is by far the best value. The GM and staff work with you to ensure a room at peak periods and always do it with a smile and hand shake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've tried several places in Ruston and Fairfield was best we've experienced so far. Very nice room, comfortable beds, very clean, and great breakfast. Very friendly staff and the lady in charge of the breakfast was so attentive. Great choice of breakfast items too. Will definitely return here next trip to Ruston.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I book via Priceline, totally $80. Overpriced. The reasonable one should be $50-60 (tax included).
Except price, everything looks good. The breakfast is good, pool is fine, and other things are in my expectation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was fine, especially for an "off the highway" hotel. The room was clean and the breakfast was ok. We choose it because they had a room that was large enough for my family of four and were pretty happy with our decision.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeightG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruston hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ruston
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Ruston
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ruston
Hampton Inn Ruston
#1 of 16 in Ruston
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruston Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ruston
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ruston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston

Address: 1707 Roberta Ave, Ruston, LA 71270-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Ruston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Ruston
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott of Ruston! Our premier hotel is at the center of it all. Whether you are traveling for business, relocating to the area, or visiting family, you'll find our hospitality and accommodations meet your every need. Industry leaders including Louisiana Tech University and Grambling State University are within minutes of our hotel. Our spacious guest rooms and suites offer you numerous amenities, a microfridge, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a large work desk, and a new sleep experience ensuring a restful night to be remembered. Jump start your day with our free hot breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. Relax and unwind at our indoor heated pool and spa. We will do all we can to make your stay more enjoyable, because when you stay with us you expect more and you will get more. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott of Ruston you are home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ruston
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston Hotel Ruston
Fairfield Ruston
Fairfield Inn Ruston
Ruston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing