We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtesy should not come at a price!!!”
Review of Super 8 Ruston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Ruston
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Ruston
new orleans, la
1 review
“Courtesy should not come at a price!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I recently stayed at the Super 8 in Ruston. I wasn't expecting much in the quality of room or the service. At $65.00 a night on a Friday and Saturday you just hope there are beds. In fact the room wasn't too bad for the price. Service was lacking but you can't expect much from a budget hotel in a small town. After all there is little competition. However, common courtesy should not cost extra. My best friend and I didn't not check in until 3 am Saturday morning and our check out time was not until Sunday at noon. Saturday morning between 8 and 9am we started receiving phone calls every hour on the hour asking if we needed our rooms cleaned. Even after I told them no thank you they still continued to call every hour to make sure and finally around 11:30 they knocked on our door. This was very annoying considering we had only checked in 5 hours ago. And if you are a light sleeper like me you can understand there was even more frustration

There was also no "Do Not Disturb/Turn Down Service Requested Sign" which may have mitigated the problem. I wasn't expecting exceptional service or a an outstanding room for the price we paid. But it seems that not disturbing your customers is a common courtesy that should not have an added price. The same thing happened Sunday but I had unplugged the phone. After plugging it back in the phone calls continued.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robzilla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfied stay. We hope that you will visit us again at the Super 8 in Ruston in the future. We have reviewed the details of your stay in hopes to improve upon some of the needed areas you brought to our attention. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    58
    24
    32
See reviews for
84
29
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at this property overnight for a football game at LaTech. The hotel is about standard for the budget level of the industry. We found the staff to be a cut above the normal at this price range though. They were friendly and helpful. One of our party is handicapped and they were very accommodating in arranging for a pair of ground floor rooms even though they were heavily booked for the game. The room was fairly large and clean although dated and somewhat worn. We found the appliances unplugged but functional when plugged in and turned on. The beds were small (double) but comfortable and the room was quiet. The ice maker was broken but the staff provided ice from their living quarters for us to use. The continental breakfast was acceptable. the hotel is quite convenient to the interstate and to the campus of LaTech. I would not hesitate to stay here while traveling cross country or when visiting campus again. The Waldorf it wasn't but it was a cut above my normal experience in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johns1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your review and staying with us. We would also like to thank you for bringing the details of your stay to our attention so we could take care of you while here at the hotel! Please come back and see us again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Checked in late, got a decent rate of 60 bucks cash. After getting to the room, found hair in my bed, slept on towels laid on top of bed. Also, there we shady people hanging out in the area, which was not very comforting. I was on motorcycle trip with friend, would not have stayed here with my family. After touring 4000 mi across the country, this was the worst place we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. We hope that your next trip to Ruston, LA meets with your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruston hotels

Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here for Tech homecoming because hubby wanted to be close to Tech. The location is great. We walked to the game and walked to Johnny's Pizza after the game. But, the hotel is only average. Do not expect top of the line. The hotel is maybe 20 years old. The rooms seemed clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms didn't seem like 20 yrs old--have been remodeled-- but a good 5-10 yrs. Still, no complaints if you don't think you will be at a Hilton.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shopper35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your time for writing the review. We have recently remodelled all our rooms and would invite you back to stay with us again. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This room was absolutely horrible! There was a black ring aroung the toliet, insects embedded in the towels, hair all over the bathroom, and the sink was stopped up! We washed our hands in the sink and the water was still there the next morning! We refused to shower or even touch the walls.

At this point there was not much of a choice, so we slept on top of the covers. The office host actually came and saw the room; I documented everything in pictures to prove my point. I do not suggest you stay here if alone and definitely not if you have children. Approach with extreme caution as I would not reccommend this location to my enemy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiangrad00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. We hope that your next trip to Ruston, LA meets with your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

What a dump. Stayed here b/c other review. Wish we hadn't. Only two good things about this place: the girl at the front desk is very friendly, and Starbucks is located at the same I-20 exit (#84).

Stayed in room 102. It was so dirty that I made sure to wipe down all handles, knobs, seats, etc, with disinfectant. The desk chair had some debris ground into the fabric which could have been some sort of food - either prior to being eaten or after being eaten, if you get my drift. Toilet bowl was dirty, sheets were stained, floors disgusting, the refrigerator and microwave, which were not plugged in, were rusty and had crud on them, and the room smelled musty.

The room was in a state of disrepair. The towel rack fell off the wall when we removed a towel after a shower. The ironing board was leaning against the wall below the holes where it had obviously once been hanging. The iron was on top of the rusty clothes rack, instead of the designated spot with the board. Furniture chipped. Beds soft.

Breakfast most meager we've had, although hubby said that the biscuits and gravy were good. Corn flakes and Fruit Loops, English Muffins with jelly, two juices and coffee. A sweet roll.

Why did we stay there you ask? We had driven 400 miles, the last of which were through a terrible storm. We were exhausted and would have had to get back on the freeway and backtrack.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. We hope that your next trip to Ruston, LA meets with your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Call me a hotel snob but I'm not a big fan of budget motel/hotels but since this was the only place available for my trip, I stayed here. My stay was May 22nd to the 25th. I was in town for a college reunion in Grambling (3 miles away). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, modern looking and everything worked including the a/c. The motel is conveniently located off the second Ruston exit of HWY 20 coming from Monroe. Two doors down is the Waffle House which is open 24 hours. The motel is on a business strip and near Louisiana Tech University so there are plenty of cheap places to eat, pizza, sandwiches, etc. The Chevron gas station was right across the street with a mini mart. I was actually surprised how quiet it was since this was a holiday weekend. Housekeeping was quick and the ladies were really nice and asked if I needed anything else which I did not. There was a complimentary continental breakfast but I slept in late so I missed it. No worries. The room had nice thick curtains, a short sofa with a table, a chair and table, cable TV, a nice long drawer for clothes, ironing board and iron, several outlets, a mini fridge, blow dryer, plenty of towels, alarm clock, shower /tub, 2 bed tables, nice carpet, and a coffee pot with coffee and tea.

I have to admit, since my first and only stay in a different budget chain hotel back in 1995 which was AWFUL, I have been humbled and would really like to say Super 8 was a really nice place to stay if you're on a tight budget or not. I had pre-paid for the room via Expedia.com and did not incur any additional charges. Also, check-in was quick and hassle free.

I also wanted to add that the front desk staff were really helpful giving me directions and suggestions especially the guy who drew a map for me (that was cool!). Great Southern Hospitality!

So, I give Super 8 Ruston, Louisiana 5 thumbs up and a happy simile! :)

Almost forgot, there is a pool but it was out of service. I didn't have time to swim anyway so I really wasn't concerned. There was also plenty of parking.

  • Liked — Very Clean, quiet, nice staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjapoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shila G, General Manager at Super 8 Ruston, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay with us. We were happy to read that our Super 8 provided you with a good nights sleep. Also, pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and attentive to your needs. Please give us a call the next time you are in the North Louisiana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruston hotels
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Ruston LA
Days Inn Ruston LA
#11 of 16 in Ruston
223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ruston
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ruston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 16 in Ruston
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ruston
Hampton Inn Ruston
#1 of 16 in Ruston
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ruston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ruston

Property: Super 8 Ruston
Address: 1101 Cooktown Rd, I-20 exit 84, Ruston, LA 71270-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Ruston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Ruston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ruston 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ruston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruston Super Eight
Ruston Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing