We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lewis House Stay”

The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ruston B&B and Inns
Spring
1 review
“Great Lewis House Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Last minute arrangements were easily made. Even an additional seat at breakfast for my mother was a "no problem" addition. Thanks CJ. Very well appointed home, personal attention. Appreciate the covered garage space. Easy choice alternative to the impersonal hotels with cold continental breakfasts.

Room Tip: 2 Suite rooms are ensuite bathrooms. 2 others share an upstairs bath. chose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfin2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

When we arrived at 3:30 CJ had the most wonderful tea waiting for us. After tea we had the entire house to ourselves since we were the only guests that night. The house is beautifully decorated with so much detail. CJ obviously takes great pride in her house. The next morning we came downstairs to a wonderful breakfast with so much food. CJ was just the sweetest person. She made us feel very comfortable, we felt very much at home. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is in the Ruston area. It is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The owner was rude to me when I inquired about the costs for having a function at her Bed and Breakfast. With a couple of family members chipping in on the costs, I had some questions that I needed clarified. I sent her an email with the questions. I was in shock to receive several unkind emails back from her, especially when we were considering renting the first floor and/or all of her rooms for a family event. When I wrote back to her to try to clear up the misunderstanding about our inquiry of so many fees she was unreasonable. I was just so thankful that we learned about the hostile attitude before we had our family stay there. As a result, we cancelled and we will never stay there. It could have been a disaster.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie19_196060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJDARLIN, Owner at The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
I've purposely taken my time to respond to this individuals unkind untrue words. The truth is this lady wanted to hold an event at The Lewis House that I spent months helping her prepare for, doing leg work, giving her my contacts to book a well-known band out of Dallas Texas that agreed to come for next to nothing as a favor to me. I even spent many hours searching online for just the perfect items and favors she wanted for her themed party. I had several other people wanting to book the house at this time but I to was so excited for this upcoming event so even though she had not yet paid her deposits and actually booked any guest rooms online I declined other calls for those dates. Then suddenly, she called me one day and told me her brother found another place in either Jackson or Vicksburg Mississippi and I was not hostile at all, I was silent, I was in shock. Not only did I already invest so much of my time and money on her upcoming event, the band she had booked had rearranged their schedule as well. I actually told her, " that sounds great" because I always try to have a positive attitude. Honestly, though while I was driving home though I was still in shock, saying OMG, I will never do this again without the deposit first. Then a couple weeks go by and this lady calls me back and wants everything to be back on as before and me handling everything. Well by this time, the house was already booked and paid for, which I nicely told her, and she screamed and yelled at me and I even tried to offer an alternate date, she was from New York and very demanding and was cussing so much I couldn't help but hang up. Honestly, as I look back, it probably was all for the best, because in the end of the day we can and do decide what events are held at The Lewis House and by whom. I now stick firmly to our businesses policies and procedures of requiring deposits and getting everything confirmed in writing via email from that day forward. So I'm just thankful I learned a valuable lesson which will only benefit me for the rest of my life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My co-worker and I stayed at The Lewis House due to a lack of hotels in the area and was
wonderful surprised with our stay. The house was wonderful, CJ was the best hostess possible. It exceeded all our expections with food, rooms, and hospitality. I would recommend
to anyone on a business trip make your reservation at The Lewis House.

Room Tip: Majestic Room wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

The home is a so cute. We stayed in the Professor's room which had a private bath and the bed was sooooo comfortable! We had a very restful sleep. Breakfast was great, you will not go away hungry. When I pass through Ruston, LA again I definately plan on staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Our party of 5 arrived late, but Cj greeted us heartily and made us feel welcome. She had fruit and other snacks available. I was surprised by that. The bed in Manta's Doll Room was very comfortable, and the room was pleasantly decorated. I enjoyed meeting the other guests at the common breakfast, which was very good - eggs, sausage, biscuits, fruit, pastry, juice, and coffee - and more than I expected. The house is beautiful, and Cj made sure that we were comfortable.
The entire house is beautifully decorated and Cj makes you feel like it is your own. I felt like I had stepped back in time as a member of an affluent family. Breakfast and tea served daily with no work on my part really spoiled me for the two days of my stay.
And I cannot say enough about Cj's hospitality. She was warm and gracious and attentive without smothering. She is gifted at making people feel comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: Manta's Doll Room and The Duck Room share a bathroom. The Majestic and Professor's rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My fiancee' and I stayed here to review the house for our potential wedding site. Neither of us have ever been to a bed and breakfast before but if most are like this one, we have been missing out. CJ (the owner and hostess) was the greatest. She was very helpful and filled of courtesy. She possesses a wealth of knowledge and offered all the information we needed to decide about our wedding. We will be returning in June to exchange our vows with CJ hosting the event!

Room Tip: Review the website to decide which decor best suits your taste. We stayed in the Majestic Suite but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruston hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ruston
Hampton Inn Ruston
#1 of 15 in Ruston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ruston
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ruston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Ruston
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ruston
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Ruston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Lewis House Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Address: 210 E Alabama Ave, Ruston, LA 71270-3902
Location: United States > Louisiana > Ruston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ruston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the Victorian comfort and elegance of The Lewis House built in 1900 located in Historical Downtown Ruston. Newly restored yet original in character and charm, the Lewis House is in the National Register of Historic Places. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to some of Ruston's finest restaurants, Louisiana Tech University, downtown theater, antique shops, art galleries, clothing boutiques, and other historical places. The Lewis House is also not far from Monroe Louisiana and is about an hour drive from Shreveport Louisiana. 10% Discount when you Book Online! Senior Citizen, Tech Alumni, and Corporate Discounts are also available! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing