We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks can be deceiving”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Sulphur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Sulphur B&B and Inns
chicago
Level Contributor
370 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“looks can be deceiving”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Review of Spirits Hall which is the restaurant located at Woodland Plantation. Looks amazing - 130 old Catholic church turned into a restaurant on the Plantation ground Open to the public as well as those staying overnight. Very limited menu - two choices. fish or beef, five course meal. The crabcakes were an amazing appetizer. The gumbo was just "alright", salad was as expected, main dish was pretty good, desert was good. Service was terrible. Extremely long time periods between courses and then we lost our server after the main course - he was sighted watching tv in a corner while we were waiting to order our desert which was eventually brought by another wait staff member. It was an lengthy wait for our bill and one of our party of 6 had to find someone to get it to us. When we received our requested bills it was divided up six ways and everyone had the same bill even though 4 had wine and the other 2 soft drinks. By this time our patience was exhausted and we paid the bills and left. Not cheap.. each bill was $62 not counting tip. Our dinner took over three hours from start to end and don't know if this is normal. Only two other tables of customers at the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My friend and I traveled to Woodland Plantation to visit our husbands who are working on the oil spill. This place will definitely be the best bang for your buck out there! It is located between Belle Chase and Venice so our men only had a fourty minute drive to endure.
We checked in on Friday and stayed until Monday and it was a rather busy weekend. there was a birthday party Friday night and a wedding on Saturday night, and Sunday was the 4th of July! It seems like this place gets a bunch of visitors and I can definitely see why...
The plantation itself seemed small, but the house was very inviting. The gounds are well maintained with soft grass, blooming flowers, and a variety of southern foliage. There is a pond in the backyard which ouses alligators and snakes. If you continue walking up a gravel trail you will be led up to the levy and have an ubstructed view (by trees) of the Mississippi river. Further down in each direction we could se the tops of large ships.
Each morning I went for a 2 mile jog and the scenery was beautiful!
The staff is very friendly and casual. Somone wrote how they were upset about leaving their room unlocked, but with the way this place is there is really no need to lock your doors. We left our rooms unlocked and open most of the time. You do have to keep in mind that the only way to lock your door is with a deadbolt, the handles are still antiques.
Speaking of antiques, this place is full of them! Not only is the house a beautifully restored antique all of the furniture inside is vintage. There are huge doors, stunning chandeliers and large hardwood furniture throughout the house. Depending on which room you stay in you will have a variety of beds to choose from; twin, double, queen and king are all present. Some have fantastic headboards or four poster frames.
The showers are a bit slim, but the water is not too hard or soft. The linens they provide are nice, but I would recommend bringing your own towel if you like them large and plush.
Although we didn't use the TV (trust me, here you will want to explore) they all have DirectTV. Also, there is a kitchenette in the community living area with a mini-fridge, ice maker, and sink.
Outside of the big house is the Spirits Hall. This building was moved to this location and restored. It was once a church and now it is a dining hall/meeting area. This is where you can have your eggs made to order for breakfast. The waitstaff is very friendly and the food is fast. Everything we ate was delicious!
We were able to see the owner (Foster) every day and he is very courteous and knowledgable about the area. His dog Frank is the biggest sweetheart too!
The cost of a room here is the same as the cost of a room at any hotel down in that area, but the people, food, and especially atmosphere is ten times better than any other place you can find. If you are used to five star hotels this will feel a bit lacking to you, but it really isn't. It is just a different type of luxury! I would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling south of New Orleans and we will most likely stay here again soon.
Hope this review helps you to decide to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed at several plantations along the Mississippi, and while most had remote locations, this one was out there, about 1 hour to the French Quarter. The area was hit hard by Katrina and has not fully recovered, as such the only activities the area offers are fishing, bird watching and bayou tours. We stayed in the Grand Salon, and the room was nice. Steps up to the antique bed would have been nicer though. It was a King-sized bed, but still a bit short for my husband who is 6 ft. Adequate bathroom and excellent service. The best breakfast and dinner we had during our trip, but we had some trouble with restaurants closing early on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday at the plantations. The one real issue was the housekeeper leaving our room unlocked and the door open after cleaning it Friday morning, which we did not discover until late that night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlzoiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2010

A wonderful way to step back in time. Charming and relaxing, this beautifully restored antebellum is a jewel. Thank you Foster for preserving this important history of the South. S. Hermann

P.S. Excellent FOOD and SERVICE.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the great food and superb service. Also had a great fishing trip and loved exploring the plantation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weatherford, texas
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2009

not sure which we enjoyed the most - food or the fishing

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn

Property: Woodland Plantation - A Country Inn
Address: 21997 Highway 23, Port Sulphur, LA 70083-2280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Port Sulphur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sulphur
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Woodland Plantation - a Country Hotel Port Sulphur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing