We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some improvments on certain areas.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Port Allen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Port Allen
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Allen
Opelousas, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Needs some improvments on certain areas.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Well,thé problem areas ,we notoiced was,tap water quality was Poor,service to room was Poor.needed more bath items,has to go pick up at front desk ur self.and thé breakfast in the morning was God horrible,its was just nasty.and not much to chose from.no soap,not enough towels. Thé icebox wasnt cold.running hot.not good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solargod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magnusonhotelportall, Webmaster at Red Roof Inn Port Allen, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for pointing out some maintenance issues and other failings at our hotel. We’re involved in a continuous improvement process and have addressed many of those issues already, but I apologize for falling short of your expectations. Our goal is for all guests to be completely satisfied, and we are nearly meeting that goal now. You will be most welcome on any return visits and find a much better experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
9
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mn
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for first time recently--its actually pretty convenient to the center of Baton Rouge even though it's across the river. Fairly new renovation and quiet. Had no real problems or complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chmww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magnusonhotelportall, Webmaster at Red Roof Inn Port Allen, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind words. I’m very pleased that you found a pleasant experience at our convenient location. We strive to provide the very best possible combination of value and convenience, and I’m glad we fully met your needs. We look forward to having you with us again when your travels bring you to this area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The rooms is beautiful! The housekeeper did a very good job cleaning my room and made sure that I had towels daily. The young lady at the front desk Ms. Delisha was very delightful! She found me a room and she was very nice. She made me feel welcome while I was there. When I would pass through the lobby she would smile and say hello and hold a short conversation with me! This trip was great!!!

Room Tip: I loved the view from the 2nd floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was unfortunately lost and stumbled across this hotel. I was aggravated and very tired. When I entered the doors I was greeted with a warm smile and a helpful voice. The clerk name was Yolonda and she had no rooms available. She tried to help me find a hotel but there was not one in the area. A guest checked out early and his room was available but housekeeping was gone. She went and cleaned my room and saved the day. That type of devoted employee is what is needed in the workforce today. The hotel was nice and clean but what will make me come again and tell others is that personal caring touch of the employee. I wish I could've talked her in to working for me but she said she had the best people to work for and that's why she goes above and beyond for her guest. So I would suggest you come and try the hospitality of this hotel and enjoy the stay. I will return again.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fitness facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Small sign and entrance road tricky to find at night when exiting the freeway. Knowing it is next to Raceway gas would help. Spacious clean room, sofa and king bed. Bed was comfortable, room quiet other than road noise. This was easily covered up by the fan of the heater/air conditioner. Flat screen TV was good, Wi-Fi was strong, personnel were all very friendly. The breakfast was good with some hot options but no fruit. Outside entry to each room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently stayed at Magnuson hotel in Port Allen and I had the best experience. There was a young lady name Yolanda who went above and beyond to make my stay pleasant. She found me and my husband a place to eat and all the surrounding parades. She was a pleasure and I hope her boss knows she is a keeper. I will return to that nice hotel and the best hotel host I've encountered.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great place, very clean. Small Casino right next door. they have penny slots. Beer is cheaper when you play..lol. Pulled off highway there just too tired. Room was very good. Gas station next door has booze.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourmaster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Allen
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Magnolia Manor
BEST WESTERN Magnolia Manor
#2 of 11 in Port Allen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Port Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Port Allen

Property: Red Roof Inn Port Allen
Address: 3051 Ln Hwy 1 S, Port Allen, LA 70767 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Port Allen)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Port Allen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Port Allen 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pet-Friendly Red Roof Inn Port Allen is conveniently located off of I-10, 2 miles from downtown Port Allen, and 7 miles from downtown Baton Rouge. We have many local attractions including the USS Kidd Veterans Museum, Baton Rouge River Center, Louisiana Art & Science Museum, and Louisiana State Capitol! We’re also within a short distance of Louisiana State University and Our lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center. Enjoy the slots every now and again? You’re in luck as we’re only a short drive from Hollywood Casino and L’Auberge Casino! If the nature scene is more to your liking, we’re a hop, skip, & a jump away from the Mighty Mississippi River where you can do some fishing, hunting, boating, or exploring! Here in the south we’re known for our cuisine and we’re within walking distance of many delicious restaurants such as LA Lobsters, DC Grill, Smoothie King, and Waffle House! Also nearby is the Court Street Cafe, The Jambalaya Shoppe, Cou Yon’s Bar-B-Q, The Best Little Po’ Boy House Restaurant & Catering, and Bergeron’s Boudin and Cajun Meats! With rooms that offer free WiFi and flat screen TV’s with extended cable (including HBO), we invite you to come stay with us at the Red Roof Inn Port Allen! The Red Roof Inn Port Allen offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a business center (including AV equipment), fitness facility, outdoor pool, free continental breakfast from 6:00 am – 9:00 am, dining delivery service, connecting rooms, coin laundry, free on-site parking, snack center, and coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, a flat screen TV, extended cable including HBO channels, microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, work desk, and in-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Port Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing