We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, water smelled a bit sulfury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Port Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for four days for a bowling tournament that was just across the river. There were a bunch of other bowlers there to, good or bad. Anyway, the place was very reasonable, the staff was very friendly, breakfast was fresh and tasty. Workout room was very nice. Location is very close to downtown Baton Rouge, and there is a lot of fast food nearby, if that is your thing. Room was clean, a/c worked great. My only issue was that the water smelled a bit sulfury. I didn't lodge a complaint, as there was a water cooler in the workout room that I used for drinking water.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spent o e nigh here. Was driving through Baton Rouge and was tired of driving. Many hotels in BR were sold out so we checked TA and this location had the best review. It was rated the top hotel out of 11 and it was spot on. The place was super clean and comfortable. The front desk clerk gave the three of us in my party cold waters upon arrival which was refreshing at the moment. The only draw back to this location is the lack of resteraunts. There are a few fast food ( chicken, burgers) but not much else. If you have the time you can cross the river to Baton Rouge of more options and variety. The breakfast bar had basic continental selections plus a couple of hot options. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSUFAN67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel for two nights and was happy with this Hampton Inn and Suites. This property is in a safe area off of I-10 just over the river from Baton rouge and all of the hustle and bustle of the city and LSU. The hotel was very clean and tidy. Our room was in great condition. All of the staff seemed friendly and would say hello. There is a small outdoor pool with towels provided and adequate seating. There are some smoking rooms in the hotel located on the 4th floor, but we never smelled smoke even though we were on that floor. The breakfast area is typical Hampton food and was always well stocked. This is a nice hotel choice if traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Was here for 3 nights for a gathering of cancer survivors. The room was extra clean and the staff was impressive. The breakfast was very good and the hot items were cooked right and hot. I would recommend this for anybody wanting to have close easy access to downtown Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great staff and great management. Wouldn't stay any where else when working in the Baton Rouge area. They also have a really good breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordontgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Baton Rouge. This hotel is across the bridge and approx. 10 minutes from the downtown center.
it is a very nice and modern hotel with a better than average free breakfast.
The rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable
The Visitors Welcome Center is right next door for information.
There is a nice, small walking park in the back property, and a Waffle House is a ten minute walk down the street.
This hotel is a much better price than one in downtown Baton Rouge.

Room Tip: There is really nothing to do in Port Allen - a few fast food restaurants, or the Old Sugar Mill tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penright8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel was clean, quiet and good location. There was no where to eat except fast food, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patmccaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Allen
0.3 mi away
Best Western Magnolia Manor
Best Western Magnolia Manor
#2 of 12 in Port Allen
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Port Allen
Comfort Suites Port Allen
#6 of 12 in Port Allen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
3.1 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen

Address: 2755 Commercial Dr, Port Allen, LA 70767-6141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Port Allen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Port Allen
Price Range: $94 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen Hotel Port Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing