We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whatever you do, don't stay here”
Review of Half Moon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanthony
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Llanthony B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2008

on the plus side the food in the pub in the evening was good. i've stayed in many hotels over the years but this by far was the worst. we were led to believe that we would have an en suite but it was shared toilets and shared showers. we weren't allowed hot water until the landlord decided to put the emersion heater on so even though we'd been out horse riding for 6 hours during the day we had to wait till 7.45pm to have a shower. when we visited the priory restaurant nearby we learned from some locals that this was normal and they don't like to have to put the heating on or the emersion heater until they absolutely have to. the rooms are very small and chilly, we had a sink in our room but you couldn't stand up to wash as the beams were so low. the room had clearly just been decorated but it seems the decorator must have got bored half way through painting as it was half finished. the beds were solid and uncomfortable and we had to wait ages for someone to meet us at the door when we first arrived. all in all i would recommend you stay at the skirrid inn up the road or at the priory hotel, or even in a nearby camp site, you would be more comfortable and more welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alison29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half-Moon-Wales, onwer at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2008

i think this person is being a little unfair here our aim is to please first and formost.
We are a little B & B Charging £25.00 to £ 30.00 per person per night. the hotels the lady has said stay at cost you a lot more. Hot water is on 24/7 hrs , most of the rooms are new painted and no way have the rooms been half done. As you can see all room have a basin in yes some are in odd places but is it not better to have that not. The heating would be controled in may as at times the rooms get to hot but you can,t please every body we do have extra heaters for that reason.The beds are all checked each year to see if they are ok and as far as i know this is a first complant ? No way do we say the rooms are ensuite they are not just by looking at our web site will confirm that . The b & b entrance is a far way from our room which takes time to get to we try to be as quick as we can in getting there but it take time.
This is the first time i have heard a complaint from this person if she had raised it before we could have put right our wrongs but she never gave us the chance just hid behind the pen as to speak. We do have a vistors log and most are very happy with their stay with us this person never said anything on that also ? We are all the time trying to inprove the b & b and make things better as to make your stay great. I also have stayed in places and this is not a bad place we offer vaule for your money not rip you off.
Give us a go if your not happy talk to me we can't be fairer than that can we.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2007

I used to go to Llanthony when I was a child so it was lovely to come back after 24yrs and found that the place had not changed. I had booked for a group of us to stay at The Half Moon. We had gone there for a weekend to go pony trekking. The rooms were clean and tidy. They do need to be updated as they are very old fashioned,they do not have en-suite but this did not worry us.The breakfasts set us up for our day of trekking. The hosts and the locals are very friendly. We had a wonderful time and we will be going back again next year

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank shelldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KrisVertommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Address: Llanthony | Abergavenny, Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park NP7 7NN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanthony
Price Range: $37 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Hotel is set in a peaceful and secluded spot in the beautiful Black Mountains, part of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Next door to Llanthony Priory. The friendly 17th-century pub is an ideal base for walkers (we are not far from the Offas Dyke Path and on the beacons way path). We are also well situated to explore the Norman border castles, old churches and chapels of the Welsh borders. The small town of Abergavenny is 10 miles away. Hay-on-Wye 13 miles, Hereford 25 miles and Cardiff 40 miles. The Half Moon serves good food, real ales & tea & coffee, child friendly pub. We also have a beer garden for your use and dogs are welcome. Pony trekking is available close by and caters for all ages and abilities. The Half Moon is situated in an area designated as a dark sky at night location and is therefore ideal for stargazers and photographers. Our accommodation is basic due to the age of the building, but a warm welcome and good food and ale is offered to all our visitors. The Half Moon is currently undergoing a major refurbishment and therefore there is some disruption to normal service however we are working extremely hard to keep the disturbance to our guests to a minimum. Should you have any concerns regarding this please contact us ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing