We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay in a lovely area.”
Review of Half Moon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanthony
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanthony B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay in a lovely area.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here while walking in the local area. The Half moon Inn is situated in a quiet and very scenic location and provides basic but comfortable rooms. The accommodation is clean and tidy with lovely views in all directions. The facilities provided are more than adequate and cater for the needs of visiting walkers. The showers are shared but have plenty of hot water and access is not a problem. Our group was made to feel most welcome and enjoyed good food and beer and the hospitality of the bar. Overall excellent value for money and I would hope to pay a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavingtonGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Thank you.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    40
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
34
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Don't be put off by the exterior, which is not a country house on a manicured lawn. It's a little confusing where you enter for the hotel and for the restaurant, but we realized that the hotel entrance is for walkers who arrive wet and muddy like we did. George had seen this before and soon had our wet clothes and boots off and drying. Our room was large and light with a good bed and a great view of horses in the next field. The showers were hot but could use more water pressure; there were three, and we didn't have to wait. There is a sink in each room. It was amazingly quiet at night, just right for sleeping. '

The restaurant is welcoming and warm. Good beer and food; there were both other walkers and locals there. If you are lucky you can get a piece of Suzanne's award-winning bakewell tart. Do not expect an immediate response to your email enquiry; you can follow it up with a call if you like, but you'll be expected. Breakfast was fine.

The packed lunch sustained us for two days and included some snacks that we had with tea for at least three days. And the whole thing was an amazing bargain.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you Jean
Its nice to see all our hard work pay off.
We do try hard to please and take all feed back to heart
so it very nice to see your reviews and even better when things have gone right.
As you pointed out we do not charge the earth but try to understand your needs
with price
So once again its great when it all pays off and you get good reviews.
Thanks again
George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent the weekend here as horse riding up the road at Travelog.
Rooms are very simple and very clean.
Considering what they charge the little extras in the room are fantastic.
Tea, choclate bar, cotton buds wet wipes all add a great touch..
The hosts work very hard and charge little money.
Breakfast is superb and enough to keep you going till tea time.
Expect to see a dog or two in the bar and very friendly regulars.
A real welsh welcome.
No ensuite but three separate showers and toilets which are fine.
If you want five star en-suite luxury go somewhere else.
However if you want great service,super food and friendly locals stop here.
Bargain price to.
Take no notice of an earlier review where customer was supposed to be offered a en- suite room.
Half moon does not have one so why would they offer this service.
Sadly some people pay nothing and all they do is winge.
Second time I have stayed here and going again later in year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclarencejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here having walked from Hay on Wye via the Offa"s Dyke Path. We arrived and were met by George the owner who showed us to our room which was comfortable yet basic with a superb view from the window. George offered my wife and I one nights accommodation, evening meal, breakfast and a substantial packed lunch for £43 each which we considered an absolute bargain. The food was homely and welcome after a long walk in from Hay and the guest beers were also very good. Breakfast was also wholesome but the packed lunch was absolutely gorgeous with lots of goodies provided.

All in all, this was a lovely area to stay in after a long day on the hill. Whilst the Half Moon is not The Ritz and nor should you expect it to be, George provides a clean and pleasant stay with good food, super beer and a warm room - what more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masarnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A friend and I walked the first few days of the Beacons Way and booked into the Half Moon Inn to stay after our first day of walking. It was comfortable, friendly, warm and cosy. The staff were all lovely and the food was delicious. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast overlooking a beautiful garden before carrying on with our adventure. A real gem!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for one night in november 2011
George and his staff are very friendly as are all the locals.
Pub mainly used as a base for walkers and pony trekkers.
I stayed with my daughter and had a very comfortable stay.
Beds were very comfortable.
Room had tea making facilities and clean towels with a sink and were very clean.
Rooms are not ensuite but there are three toilets and three showers which are adequate.
We normally only have ensuite but was not a problem at this pub.
I think about eight rooms in total (guess)
Television downstairs in breakfast room only.
Dog friendly pub with open fire.
Breakfast was superb with orange juice, cereals, fruit, and full breakfast.
Bar meals available which are excellent .
Mobiles tend not to work in the valley and no broadband yet..
We will be returning again for horse riding again at Trevelog and will be staying here again.
If you are one of life"s want five star hotel for two star price go elsewhere.
However if you want a comfortable nights sleep,super food, fantastic hosts then stay here.
We paid £50 for bed and breakfast for two.
Super pub, Thanks George and staff

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dclarencejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

For good value simple accommodation in an amazingly quiet location the Half Moon would be hard to beat. Situated close to the impressive ruins of Llanthony Abbey and miles from the nearest towns (Abergavenny, Hay on Wye) the inn is an excellent base for walkers, particularly the nearby Offa's Dyke path.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and simply furnished, though not en-suite, but at £30 a night who's complaining ! The breakfast is substantial, and there is a good choice of evening meals, also of generous proportions, in the bar.

If you are planning on going out after nightful, take a torch - is it very, very dark !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanthony
7.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
585 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
735 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
360 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Llanthony | Abergavenny, Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park NP7 7NN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Hotel is set in a peaceful and secluded spot in the beautiful Black Mountains, part of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Next door to Llanthony Priory. The friendly 17th-century pub is an ideal base for walkers (we are not far from the Offas Dyke Path and on the beacons way path). We are also well situated to explore the Norman border castles, old churches and chapels of the Welsh borders. The small town of Abergavenny is 10 miles away. Hay-on-Wye 13 miles, Hereford 25 miles and Cardiff 40 miles. The Half Moon serves good food, real ales & tea & coffee, child friendly pub. We also have a beer garden for your use and dogs are welcome. Pony trekking is available close by and caters for all ages and abilities. The Half Moon is situated in an area designated as a dark sky at night location and is therefore ideal for stargazers and photographers. Our accommodation is basic due to the age of the building, but a warm welcome and good food and ale is offered to all our visitors. The Half Moon is currently undergoing a major refurbishment and therefore there is some disruption to normal service however we are working extremely hard to keep the disturbance to our guests to a minimum. Should you have any concerns regarding this please contact us ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing