We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plaquemine
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The most negative thing about this hotel was the really bad quality of the breakfast. After attempting to eat some of the "hot food" that was cold and either over or under cooked we simply ate some cereal. The coffee machine ran out of coffee and there was no syrup for the waffles. There was no one to ask for help except the front desk staff and they were not available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Terrible experience. My husband and I arrived at 11:20PM to check in ONLY TO FIND THE FRONT DESK UNMANNED and all of the lights off!! We waited around thinking the receptionist had just stepped away. We tried calling the front desk and no one answered. We waited for quite a bit of time. We were in awe that that the front desk at a hotel would go unmanned for so long; so frustrating and UNSAFE!! Eventually another front desk receptionist showed up for work, apologized profusely that "Dawn" was supposed to be on duty but had left the hotel grounds. So upsetting!! Eventually we settled into our room, only to be kept up all night by passing trains nearby. Never again and gives all Best Western hotels a bad name.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our room was clean and spacious for a king bed room. Nice to have a fridge too. My husband used the iron and it had a bunch of brown rust that got on his dress shirt so that was crappy.

Breakfast was ok. The hot food didn't look too appetizing, but the coffee was good and I grabbed some fresh fruit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jengirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Terrible accommodations and continental breakfast. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone and the price was not any less than hotels we have stayed in with 5 stars and larger rooms and they served a cooked breakfast and not microwave eggs and bacon, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had to pay $100,- for one night, think thats to expencive for a Hotel like this.
I had a good non smoking room, clean, only sometimes smelly. (Stayed a week).
The lady (with the readingglasses) at the reception, was nice!
She was very helpfull.
The others at the reception need training!
If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs.....the train is pretty loud! Day and Night! Liked the free wifi in the room!

Room Tip: Book a room at the back, still you will hear the train !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our 1st room had blood on the couch and it was dirty! The 2nd room smelled BAD and had black stuff around all the outlets, the bathroom need to be redone!! VERY DIRTY! IT WAS GROSS!! The lady working in breakfast area was cleaning the plates and spoons on serves area she dropped her rag picked it up shaked it off and keep right on cleaning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Plaquemine is a small town and not wanting to travel to Baton Rouge for a hotel, this was perfect. Very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Located right next to the Plaquemine Locks and close enough to Baton Rouge and White Castle. Would recommend this hotel and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dustin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaquemine
8.6 mi away
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Nottoway Plantation Resort
#1 of 1 in White Castle
1,169 reviews
6.3 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
485 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Magnolia Manor
Best Western Magnolia Manor
#2 of 12 in Port Allen
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Legacy Suites Donaldsonville / Saint James Parish
8.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaquemine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaquemine Inn

Address: 23235 Highway 1, Plaquemine, LA 70764-2558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Plaquemine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plaquemine
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaquemine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Plaquemine Inn is a beautiful property located in Plaquemine, Louisiana. Experience the beautiful BEST WESTERN Plaquemine Inn located 15 miles from Baton Rouge, St. Joseph Cathedral, and Nottoway Plantation. Take advantage of the Mississippi scenery with a 5 minute walk to the banks of the Mississippi River and 1.5 miles from golfing at The Island Country Club. Our modern hotel is 13.4 miles from Belle of Baton Rouge Casino and 14.1 miles from Louisiana State University. Swamp tours and plantations are also large tourist draws in our area. Each of our guest rooms comes with a microwave, refrigerator, 32-inch flat screen TVs as well as high speed internet access. Some rooms and suites have sitting areas with pull-out sofas. For travelers we provide a business center and guest laundry and are within 5 miles from Dow Chemical, Shintech, and Georgia Pacific. Our interior hotel also provides meeting and conference facilities, an outdoor pool, fitness center, and free parking. Before leaving to explore our beautiful state, make sure to stop by for our free full breakfast featuring waffles, Danishes, muffins, croissants, breads, cereal, oatmeal, biscuits, grits, eggs, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plaquemine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaquemine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing