We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
lacazio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to relax”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Booked this place, primarily, as it had been well received on trip advisor and my other half enjoys a swim and sauna. I found the room to be fine for my needs ie get a good sleep and a shower etc but a little disappointed we only got one set of towels. Also could not get the wifi to work anywhere in the hotel. Maybe if I asked these things would have been sorted so I will take some of the blame.
The pool area, gym and sauna were all very accessible the times we used them and never too busy.
Drink is expensive so don't plan to have a great night at the bar unless you have more money than sense, although to be fair I suspect this is the norm for hotels.
The breakfast buffet is good too, I normally don't eat much in the morning but managed to have a lovely cooked breakfast each morning.
The staff in all areas were very welcoming and attentive and I am sure they would have sorted my little niggles if I bothered to mention them.
I would have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear lacazio

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward.
It is always great to receive positive feedback, and I will share your nice comments with the team, Our WIFI system is new and I will investigate why this was ineffective durring your stay

Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you back soon
Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    194
    124
    56
    26
See reviews for
138
155
27
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frigiliana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

It began so well. Welcoming, efficient staff on Reception, a clean, comfortable room with two armchairs (always a good point for us). We went downstairs to the lounge area to meet friends who had already arrived, and ordered a coffee and a pot of tea from the bar. After a quarter of an hour I went looking for them to no avail, then my wife tried and after thirty minutes in all the order was finally delivered to our table only three or four steps from the bar.
The following morning the selection for a continental breakfast included neither ham nor cheese, and the assorted pastries amounted to one croissant and three of four pains au chocolat. The croissant was stale. I tried the cooked breakfast; the scrambled egg was so overcooked that it was reduced to a dry crumb texture.
We were glad to get in the car and leave.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear payasoru

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, I have shared your comments with the team who were as I a little taken aback by your comments as this is not inkeeping with our normal level of service.

Being Part of the Mercure brand cold Meats and Cheeses are a key part of our breakfast which we offer on the breakfast menu along with such Items as Eggs Benedict and kippers etc, these items are freshly prepared and delivered on request to ensure the upmost quality, it is with regret clarity was not given on this occasion.

I do hope my responce aids you when staying in a Mercure hotel in the future, once again many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, staff very friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and the water was piping hot,food was very good. Generally the atmosphere was very relaxing,I would stay here again if in the area! Plenty of parking at the back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Porius9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Porius9
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward.
It is always great to receive positive feedback, and I will share your nice comments with the team
Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you back soon
Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed herewith my husband (who was on business) and our 6 & 4 year old boys. We stayed in a ground floor family room. My husband checked in on a Monday, with myself and the children arriving on the Friday and all checking out the following Tuesday.

Our room was very spacious with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. The bathroom was also a good size. The bed was huge and very comfy. The maids did a fantastic job each day as my boys made a fair bit of mess.

The food was delicious. We had room service 1 night and ate in the lounge another night. Portions where large and although a bit pricey not more than I would expect. Breakfast was nice and well staffed, though I was surprised there was no black pudding, what with being in lancashire.

My husband says the gym is good and I found the pool area very nice. The guy on duty on the day we went swimming was brilliant as our youngest broke a golden rule and ran, ending up slipping and hurting his head.

There was only 2 minor downsides, 1 was each day we returned our key card didn't seem to work so had to head back to reception to get it fixed. 2 was on the Saturday our next door neighbors where a group of young guys who rolled in rather loudly at 2.15, though it was the nights the clocks went back so felt like 3.15. Not the best move putting a group of lads in a 'family' room.

Overall a brilliant stay

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank alnwick_lass84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear alnwick_lass84

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward

It is always great to receive positive feedback, and I will share your nice comments with the team, I was very disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by the guests next door as this is something we normally manage well. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel and provide you with another enjoyable but more tranquil experience.

Thank you once again
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

stayed here for a night dinner bed and breakfast via a red letter voucher. on the whole a nice stay, room clean, not very spacious but fine, some parts of hotel need a bit of an upgrade to décor etc, slightly dated. staff seem very attentive, if a little slow at dinner, the dinner room is quite sparse and not very restaurant like, but the food was really lovely. Again good choice at breakfast but very slow staff, especially with the tea and coffee. swimming pool area is very nice too.

Room Tip: we had third floor, was nice to be able to keep window open at night as very warm in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Thomas W

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward

It is always great to receive positive feedback, and I will share your nice comments about the food with the Chef

We are in the early stages of being part of the Mercure brand and as we speak a large amount of investment is being planned and implemented and I am sure this investment would be reflected in the next review should you give us an opportunity in the future.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a good business hotel to stay in if you are traveling in the NW. Clean and well kept with a good breakfast buffet.

Don't be fooled by the "Georgian" title most of the accommodation is in modern, lodge style blocks. A conference venue not a wedding venue really.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear hazy_amersham

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good-
Excellent value for money (£50 each for one night including an evening meal, breakfast and full access to the gym and spa facilities).
Spacious and modern room with a bath/shower and television.
The food in the restaurant was lovely and the choice at breakfast was great!
All of the staff were all lovely and polite.

Bad-
The Jacuzzi wasn't working properly and would only switch on in small intervals.
The door of the sauna in the female changing rooms wouldn't close properly so all the heat was being let out which was a shame.
When you book it says in the description that you get a 3 course d'hote dinner but doesn't explain that the choices are very limited. The menu you choose from only includes two different starters, two mains and two desserts. We didn't like either of the mains (tuna steak and chicken diane) so the other option was to choose a meal from the main menu up to the value of £22.00 each. If you go over £22.00 you will pay the extra before you leave at checkout. We didn't mind doing this but if you were looking forward to a 3 course meal then you would be quite disappointed. For our £22.00 each, we ended up getting a starter and main each. Both courses were lovely and the portions were huge! The only recommendation we have would be to add a couple of extra choices to the menu for guest who are staying under a package deal at the hotel.

Apart from this, we can't complain because for the £50.00 each it is excellent value for money! If we ever fancy a little break away again, we will definitely consider coming back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Graham H
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback both good and bad with a view it aids us to constantly move forward
As you read this response I can assure you a burley maintenance man is on his way down to the Leisure club to correct those defects, especially the Jacuzzi as we have just upgraded the pump that powers the jets, thank you for the heads up.
We look forward to welcoming you back and I am sure your next visit will be as pleasurable as the last
Thank you once again
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackrod
1.1 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,252 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
6.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
458 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Property: Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing