We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pete and Repeat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pete and Repeat”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stay here whenever I visit my UK distributor. Time to give props...great property, bar, WI FI location.

I wish they offered more than a traditional English Breakfast. We Americans like our Omlettes...I am tomatoed out :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Senorluz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Senorluz1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Trip Advisor about our stay with us. I am always delighted to read such good reviews.

Be assured that although we do not advertise Omellettes on he Breakfast Menu, the Kitchen Team would be more than happy to do them for breakfast you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    196
    124
    58
    26
See reviews for
140
156
27
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed one night- good facilities- pool etc, food and service very good; breakfast was excellent. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and considerate .Appearance of hotel spoilt when you drive out by broken fencing showing unkempt area of ground with pile of discarded tyres etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House.

I will pass on your comments to the team, whom I am sure will also be pleased with your feedback.

In regards to the wall at the back of the Hotel, we are in the process of having the wall repaired and are waiting on contractors.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House again soon.

Kind Regards



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a superior room, which put us on the top floor. We didn't think the "superior" just meant higher up!!! The bed was only just about big enough to be a double. We complained, and were moved to the first floor and a reasonable sized room with a decent bed. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Stuart B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the Team was proactive in dealing with your issues.

Many Thanks for your review and look forward to you returning to the hotel again soon.


Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After a very good all round stay in Room 770 10 days or so earlier (3-5 April) this stay 14-15 April in Room 892 was a disappointment. The room is in the attic and a odd shape and no sofa. One window was filthy (maybe a problem with access at this height) and the full length curtains on both windows covered the radiator under each window which is daft as does not let warmth out. If the radiator valve on one radiator was set above 2 there was an enormous graunching screech and had to be turned down. The keyboard to use with on-TV internet was dead so no internet by this means. The TV was so far away from the bed that the TV remote was out of range from the bed. My burger served in the bar was overdone and leathery but when mentioned to the delightful Irene she was most apologetic and organised a free drink. Irene's people and customer relations skills are excellent and she should be running the hotel (she probably does !!). Breakfasts on both visits were very good but why no black pudding - this is Lancashire !?. I mentioned the radiator valve and keyboard to reception on checkout. Can I have Room 770 back next time?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ribblevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear ribblevisitor,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

I thank you for your constructive feedback, to which I will review with the team, and I will obviously pass on to your feedback to Irene Harper, who I know will be really pleased with your feedback.

By all means, please feel free to contact me directly the next time your are booking a room, and I will allocate room 770 to you if it is available.

Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night and also attended a conference here the next day. Check in was fast and pleasant, we went to the restaurant for dinner which was lovely. The person I travelled with is a celiac but the waitress was really good and checked with the chef to make sure he could cook what she wanted the way she needed to have it-I thought it was brilliant that they were so accommodating. Breakfast the next day was also really good with plenty of choice.

The room was huge and just what I expected really (although it was a little cold!)

The reception staff were really friendly and helpful with ordering taxis etc, I'd definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsworth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Emsworth89,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor, it is always a pleasure to receive good feedback.

Its always great to see that the team have gone the extra mile to make your stay special. I have passed your comments on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I travelled with a group,of friends, visiting the area for a family celebration. On our arrival we received a warm welcome from the staff and allocated rooms swiftly. At first glance the room was fine. Clean and airy, although very warm. That said, we had a large window which we were able to open wide as we were in the loft. The bar made a great meeting place and we used this several times. The bar staff were very friendly, particularly Irene, who went out of her way to look after us. However, as mentioned in a previous review it was sometimes difficult to get the right drinks and we were often served one drink at a time! The one major downside was the mattresses, in all our rooms. One of our friends had to ask if a duvet could be put under the sheet as she and her husband had spent the first night with springs sticking into her. Our bed was not as bad but made a terrible noise when you moved. Clearly this is not the first time that this has been mentioned to the management and I would have expected that an organisation the size of the Mercure would have rectified this more swiftly, being aware of the problem. A real shame as this spoils an otherwise really pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Check the mattress before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunbunniesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear SunbunniesLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on Trip Advisor. Whilst I was obviously disappointed with some of your feedback, I fully take on board your comments and will use them effectively.

However, I am glad that you recognised the team, who are an absolutely credit to us, in particular Irene, whom I know will be delighted with your comments, and still appreciates them after 25 years of service here.

We are in the process of renewing our beds, however I will review the ones you used, and priortise them if neccessary.


Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was the second time this year I have stayed at this hotel and I just can't find fault. The staff are amazingly friendly and attentive and was shocked to discover they remembered me from my previous trip at the start of the year. The evening meals and breakfast were excellent and all served with a large slice of friendliness. I stayed in room 321 which had an ample size bathroom with an assortment of toiletries, corner suite, large wide screen TV with Internet and a very large comfortable bed. The only possible criticism would be that the room was facing the main road although noise was minimal and certainly did not effect my nights sleep. I intend to visit friends in the area over the course of the coming year and will look no further than this wonderful hotel for use as a base. A big than you to all the staff and the hotel manager Eric for making my stay this weekend so pleasurable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Neil M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor, its always a pleasure to receive such great feedback.

I have shared your comments with the team, who are equally delighted with your comments, and will no doubt act as a motivator.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackrod
1.1 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,260 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
6.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
464 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Property: Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing