We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding reception.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wedding reception.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

we held our wedding reception 2nd June 2012.Overall we were very pleased with the service,the staff were brilliant,the food excellent.Carl our wedding planner who works at the hotel was fantastic!!! he was very helpful and commited to his work.10 out of 10 from us,from Sharon & Darren.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Darren and Sharon.

Firstly please accept my congratulations on your recent marriage, we are so pleased you chose the Mercure Boltin Georgian House as your venue.

I was delighted to read your feedback, in particular your praise of Carl, who I know will be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to seeing you in a year for your complimentary anniversary meal.

Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    181
    117
    55
    24
See reviews for
126
148
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

It's a shame overall that I only gave this hotel an average rating because there are some really positive points. But it's like chalk and cheese. Some of the staff are so nice, whilst others appeared really miserable and didn't have the sense of humour needed to work in the hospitality trade. The room was as expected for a hotel of this grading but was way too hot even with the window open. I also noticed an apparent problem with plumbing with the tolilet in both the room and bar area being very difficult to flush. I was disappointed with the breakfast which was self service, but there weren't enough guests to see it moving quickly hence some of the food was a bit dry. Bar prices were fine for a hotel and beer fine if pulled by a fully trained member of staff and the night porter was one of the staff who shone - an excellent manner with guests! I think when the room refurbishment is complete and the new staff have been fully trained and settled in, this will be an excellent choice in it's category.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, but not over the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear 147red,

Thank you for your constructive review of the Mercure Bolton Georgian Houae on Trip Advisor.

I will be addressing all points of your review, and I trust if you choose to return to the hotel you will see improvement.

Once again many thanks for your review.

Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Booked 1 night here at a good promotional price. Found the check in agent to be a little unhelpful. She gave me a room on the 3rd floor which I found to be not very nice.

Apart from being exceptioinallty small, there was no ventilation of any kind on a very hot day, no a/c, fans or opening windows It was extremely uncomfortable to say the least.

Be warned, just don't book one of these rooms in summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliffie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Peter_UA

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

stayed here for few days away. rooms are very hot even with window open as no a/c. quite noisy at night with people smoking out side and drinking in the 24 hour club bar. 0130 and there was still loud football being played down in the bar/lounge area. rooms are quite nice but bit dated and lacking free wifi which is needed these days. over all hotel is a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieskyrme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Jamie,

Please accept my thanks for such a nice review on Trip Advisor, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are in the process of refurbishing bedrooms, and there is a project in the pipeline to install WiFi throughout the Hotel. Currently we have free WiFi access in Reception and Lounge Areas.

I thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here overnight, last min booking.
Room on top floor, small and uninviting
Clean and adequate bathroom
Good for a budget overnight stop in emergency

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailbrown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Gail,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor about the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.

I would add that we have started refurbishing the Hotel, so I would believe that you would have a better experience when you stay with us again.

I thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House again soon,

Yours Sincerely



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Firstly, the staff are without exception extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is of a good 3 star standard although there are one or two areas which could do with attention (like the dangling panel in the dining room ceiling) and some of the detail cleaning (slightly sad-looking grouting between tiles above the bath) would benefit from an application of elbow grease. Not that it is dirty or sufficent to warrant complaint, as such, just lack of attention to detail taking the edge off the overall appearance. I'd rate the cleanliness as Average Plus - 3½ out of 5.

There were very obvious staffing issues during my visit. At dinner on the first night there was only one staff member (Hannah, who coped extremely well) in evidence and outside assistance (rapidly forthcoming) had to be sought for clearing between courses. The MAJOR staffing issue was apparent on check-out on the Sunday morning. There had been a wedding the previous day, with some guests staying over. Obviously with the 11am deadline for check-out, there was going to be a rush. Front of house staff were a trainee receptionist (OK, everyone has to learn sometime) and Carl (Functions Manager) who hadn't worked on Reception for some time. The delays reflected badly not on the staff, who struggled but did manage to check everyone out, but on the rostering. There was very evidently some problem with the programming as there were piles of bills on the floor "to be sorted out later". With a pre-booked function, other guests booked for fixed length stays and the inevitability of a rush to check-out the following morning, it would have been a vastly better guest experience for fully trained and current receptionist(s) to be on hand to handle the numbers departing. If there had been a number of 'walk-ins', it would have been more understandable. I was fortunate in that my very straightforward transaction took under a minute to complete with total accuracy (booked direct, pre-paid, just restaurant extras to pay), but the 40 minute wait was unacceptable. I was on the verge of walking out and sorting my residual bill over the phone later in the day.

The Spa was excellent in every respect; clean, very welcoming staff, good sauna, less good (but still OK - just not particularly steamy) steam room, jacuzzi fine and pool nice too. Take your own towel down if the hotel is busy (!) - they have a finite number of towels available and came pretty close to running out. In total fairness, the towel business IS mentioned in the Hotel Guest information pack (yes, I did take my own but didn't need it).

Please see a seperate review for the restaurant.

Room Tip: Odd numbers in the 3xx series (eg 323) have a clear view of very busy Chorley Road and all the resul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear ProPhotos,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor. I thank you for you honest and constructive feedback. It goes without saying that the feedback you have provided is vital to improving our Operation.

I will be discussing your comments with my Management Team immediately, clearly there are some issues which I will address.

If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me or my Operations Manager, Peter Nye.

Whilst there are some negatives in your review, I was pleased to see that you rated us four out of five stars. I trust that your positive experiences will outweigh the negatives and you will return to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House again soon.

Kindest Regards




Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

A very nice hotel with very friendly and professional staff that takes care of you! Service is fantastic! Rooms are clean and a good size. And the location is great, just minutes away from shopping area's, the motorway to Manchester, etc..

We were here for business, and celebrated our anniversary as well. We had a great welcome. Fantastic staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendelaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Wendela R,

Thank you so much for your comments, we are all very pleased with your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Hotel so much, and as many Trip Advisor's have commented previously, the staff looked after you so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House again soon,

Kind Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackrod
1.0 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
6.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Property: Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing