We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Rooms But....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grapevine, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Cute Rooms But....”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was driving from south Florida to Dallas and after a long, long drive, my husband reserved a room at this Ascend Collection hotel, through our Choice Hotels program, because it was supposed to be really nice, and pet-friendly. It was an hour out of my way, but I said okay since I had never stayed at an Ascend Collection Hotel. I didn't know this hotel was connected to a casino and race track, since my husband booked it while I was driving.
Pros
I had a room with a King bed. The room was a nice size with round table and chairs, desk, sofa, bar area. It had a comfortable bed and pillows with black/white checkered floors and bedding with red accents, new carpet and the furniture looked clean. There were a couple of small bottles of water in the refrigerator and some microwave popcorn. The towels were huge, soft and white. It has an indoor pool and hot tub and the some kids there were having fun. It was extremely quiet considering there was a casino next door. The morning desk staff were very helpful, nice, and congenial, as were the breakfast ladies.
Cons
The bathroom was small compared to the room, but had a big vanity with mirror too far away to be useful. I would suggest a magnification mirror for shaving or putting on makeup. The coffeemaker contraption; is a waste of coffee and water. I never found any ice machine on the 3rd floor and is not feasible to take children/puppies up and down the different floors trying to find some ice. You had to use the block out shades and you couldn't open the curtains because the blinking lights were so annoying. I had my two puppies with me and I went an hour out of my way to stay there. My husband called the hotel and explained that I was arriving late and requested a 1st floor room, if possible. We were put on the 3rd floor, at the very end, by the elevator and vending machines. So I had to wrestle with them up and down the elevator numerous times. With a pet charge of $50 on top of the regular room charge, it was too much for nothing extra! We didn't see, nor were we told of any safe pet walking, or play area, like other pet-friendly Choice Hotels! Not even a dog treat! Instead I had to walk in the parking lot late at night trying to find a place to walk them safely. I didn't get an opportunity to visit the casino or track because it was late, and I left very early at 630am, but it wasn't worth the extra hour out of my way to get there.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 335, the blinking lights will make you crazy. Don't stay next to the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelllang507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks you for your feedback it is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
20
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was actually here on business but this place looks great for hanging out with friends and having some fun at the casino and watching the horses !
I was there on a wednesday night so there wasnt much action but I bet the weekend gets pretty good !

Room Tip: Just be sure to stay on the end rooms, this is a casino, people are awake at random hours and you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our Trip Advisor survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong - there is nothing that is particularly "bad" about this hotel. Other than its connections to the race track & casino, however, it's just a mid-range lodging establishment. That being the case, the prices are really too high for what you get. This was the first time I had stayed at a hotel connected to a casino. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised how relatively quiet it was. The rooms are ample sized and generally comfortable...furnishings tend towards the cheap end of the spectrum. The lounge chair in my room should be scrapped, as it was hard as a board & didn't fully recline. On future visits to the area, I would probably stay at a more main stream hotel off the Interstate & drive the short distance to the track.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BocephusSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the value. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Overall rating is very good vs excellent only because of price. However, the rooms were exactly as pictured, large, beautiful décor, nice bar height counter for coffee maker and your ice for making cocktails. The shower/bathroom was sparkling. The biggest and whitest towels I've seen for awhile, too. Granite counters and open shelving. TV was huge, nice micro, frig, and quiet air conditioning. Carpeting throughout the hotel was clean. I don't know if I cared for the inside pool with a looking glass from the lobby area. Seemed fishbowl. The hotel had its own entrance to the casino floor and you had to swipe your room card to re-enter for safety. They had business room and work out room. Breakfast area large, but we did not visit during breakfast on our stay. I loved having inside access to casino and live horse track which was also nice area. Hope this helps in your decision to stay here. The $100+ buck price tag is hard for me to swallow but it was very well kept and convienent.

Room Tip: I'd pick an upper floor opposite the casino side for extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadBeachMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.
We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was surprised that this hotel passed the BCC (Big, Clean, and Cold rooms). There was ample space in the room, with a small microwave and a mini-fridge. The coffee/tea service area was larger than most I've seen lately.

The bathrooms had large showers, but no bathtub. That was okay with me, because I never bathe in a hotel bathroom anyhow. There were plenty of towels and even had a couple of bath sheets.

The hotel is attached to the entrance of the casino/racetrack by just a short walk from the front desk. The hotel public area is completely smoke free. The staff was pleasant and accommodating.

Free breakfast in the morning was your standard hot scrambled eggs and bacon. Make your own waffles and then your breads and pastries, cereal, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment here @ tripadviser regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My mom got us a room there this past Saturday when we came in to go to a family wedding. The room she go was great. It was a smoking room which we were not so happy about. It was all they had left. The person my mom made the reservation with told her that she there was something they do to the room that takes the smoke smell out. She was right. It did not smell like smoke at all. The room and the hallway smelled great. The room was beautiful and the staff was so nice. Everyone we came into contact with, was so pleasant. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away for a night or weekend. There is also the horse races and the casino. The food is good too. There was also a breakfast the next morning that was hot and delicious. Oh I forgot, the bed was so comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud and the ac was so cold. It was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajuntxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave comments. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. I'm so ecstatic to hear that my staff took good care of you and your family!!

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here because of the casino and it look like a nice hotel. Stayed in a room with 2 beds. They look just as the pictures. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast area opened early and we were happy. The person that was working in that area was very nice and helpful. Planning another trip to the area. Will try another hotel because of the price.

Room Tip: The casino is just ok. I have been to better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelousas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Holiday Inn Opelousas
#1 of 7 in Opelousas
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 7 in Opelousas
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Lafayette
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Downs Hotel

Property: Evangeline Downs Hotel
Address: 2235 Creswell Ln Ext Ste B, Opelousas, LA 70570-1982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evangeline Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection® hotel, is connected to Louisiana's prestigious Evangeline Downs Racetrack & Casino, home of quarter horse racing, gaming, live entertainment, numerous restaurants and more. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are furnished with flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, desks, hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, irons, ironing boards, pillow-top mattresses and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like wet bars, sofa sleepers and balconies. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles. Additional attractions close to this Ascend Collection hotel in Louisiana include the Creole Heritage Folklife Center museum, Le Vieux Village historic landmark area, Opelousas Museum of Art and the Rural African American Museum. Opelousas is home to a number of annual events like the Original Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival, Yambilee Festival and the Holy Ghost Creole Festival. Hotel guest services and amenities: Direct access to Casino from Hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast served daily 6 am to 10 am, Two (2) Elevators giving easy access to all floors, Large indoor swimming pool, Large sitting area for guests, Large 6-8 person whirlpool/hot tub, Large exercise/fitness room with state of the art exercise equipment, Large attractive breakfast room w/ patio seating, Meeting room, seating capacity for 60 people, 40” LCDs in each room, Handicap designed rooms to exceed the ADA requirements, Ample on site parking with handicap parking, Large fireplace in the spacious lobby that has a warm and homey comfortable theme. All queen and king pillow top beds, In-room safes, Coin-operated laundry facilities with folding/work area, Free High Speed/Wireless in each room and throughout hotel, Microwaves and refrigerators in all guest rooms, Dry bar or wet bar in all guest rooms, Coffee makers, full length mirrors, recliners, ergonomic chairs, large work areas, hair dryers, irons and boards in all guest rooms. Business center with computers and printer. After a long day, guests of this Opelousas, LA hotel can unwind in the exercise room, or relax at the indoor heated pool and hot tub. For the corporate traveler, this Louisiana hotel provides an assortment of modern conveniences like an on-site business center, a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service. A banquet and meeting room is located on the premises and can accommodate up to 50 people for most functions. At the Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, you can surround yourself with an array of amenities and personalized service. Make a reservation with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evangeline Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing