We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Opelousas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My mom got us a room there this past Saturday when we came in to go to a family wedding. The room she go was great. It was a smoking room which we were not so happy about. It was all they had left. The person my mom made the reservation with told her that she there was something they do to the room that takes the smoke smell out. She was right. It did not smell like smoke at all. The room and the hallway smelled great. The room was beautiful and the staff was so nice. Everyone we came into contact with, was so pleasant. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away for a night or weekend. There is also the horse races and the casino. The food is good too. There was also a breakfast the next morning that was hot and delicious. Oh I forgot, the bed was so comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud and the ac was so cold. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajuntxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave comments. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. I'm so ecstatic to hear that my staff took good care of you and your family!!

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here because of the casino and it look like a nice hotel. Stayed in a room with 2 beds. They look just as the pictures. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast area opened early and we were happy. The person that was working in that area was very nice and helpful. Planning another trip to the area. Will try another hotel because of the price.

Room Tip: The casino is just ok. I have been to better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was the first time we've stayed here on our way back from Florida since our normal hotel that we stay at has gone up dramatically in price. This is a very nice hotel. Big and nicely decorated room, attached to a casino (can be a plus or a negative), has several restaurants inside the complex, small inside pool and hot tub, and a very nice accomodating staff! My daughter left her phone and straightener in the room after we left, and they called us in about 2 hours after we checked out to inform us and arrange shipping of the items to us! This is incredible customer service! There are only a couple of negatives - One, the hotel parking lot is typically occupied by people going into the casino. The hotel should put up signs or gate off specific parking for the hotel only. I had to park a short distance away in the casino parking lot in order to get a space. Second, if you have kids, then they can't go into the casino or into most of the restaurants since they serve beer/liquor. It's odd, but we ate at the 24/7 grill which was ok - $40 for 4 fair meals - I would suggest you drive out and grab some cheaper fast food. Overall, I recommend this hotel becasue of their great customer service!

Room Tip: Don't eat in the Casino unless you have gambler points and you can eat for free. The food is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave comments on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a family event in town. Definitely not worth the price. There are no signs off the interstate to point you in the right direction. The friendly front desk staff was definitely the strong point here. The breakfast was adequate. I found the rooms and hallways dark and humid. They only have one elevator so be patient.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metropop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write me concerning you recent stay at our hotel. I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in regards to the correct directions of our location. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both customer service and hospitality, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. Let me simply say that all of us here at the Evangeline Downs Hotel are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience for our guests than what you had the misfortune of experiencing. Again, thank you for taking the time to write. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you and your family properly.

Sincerely

Patrick Arceneaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for our 5 year wedding anniversary. The staff is very friendly, the pool and hot tub were very clean, and the room was nice and spacious. The complimentary bath items in the room were from Bath and Body Works, which I loved!! I also loved that they had free Wi-Fi, which is hard to find as of late.

I only had a couple of concerns, but they weren't anything major. The first is that the cable quality was lousy. I'm not sure if it was the TV or the cable itself. The other "problem" is that the "free hot breakfast" is a bit misleading. They have a waffle maker which my husband loves, but the only hot items were scrambled eggs and bacon. They did have the standard muffins, cereal, coffee, milk, and juices. Since it was free, I'm not complaining too much. ;)

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a great compliments. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
337-407-2121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Not very much to do in this town, but if you enjoy casino gambling, horse racing, a little night life dancing this is the place to be. They seem always be at capacity so book in advance. The rooms were very spacious with huge 42" TV's. They could improve on their front desk customer service attitudes for the rates they charge. The free breakfast was your basic self serve waffle machine, eggs and meat. We chose to eat breakfast at the Casino instead primarily because the eating area was small and limited on seating. All in all it was a nice stay and we will consider staying again. Next best hotel in the area is the Hilton in Lafayette.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCAMPBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel as your "One Stop Vacation Spot." It was truly a pleasure to serve you. I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is or goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please remember us for your next getaway!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. We weren't dissapointed at all! Everything was well put together! We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, breakfast room. I like how they give us complimentary treats such as New Orleans traditional caramel popcorn. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are very pretty and clean. Showers were HUGE! Gave us cool shampoos and body lotions from Bath & Body Works. You have to stay here. I promise you, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly4Ever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is or goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit. Again thanks for the great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opelousas hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Holiday Inn Opelousas
#1 of 8 in Opelousas
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 8 in Opelousas
48 reviews
1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Downs Hotel

Address: 2235 Creswell Ln Ext Ste B, Opelousas, LA 70570-1982
Location: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range: $103 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evangeline Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection® hotel, is connected to Louisiana's prestigious Evangeline Downs Racetrack & Casino, home of quarter horse racing, gaming, live entertainment, numerous restaurants and more. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are furnished with flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, desks, hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, irons, ironing boards, pillow-top mattresses and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like wet bars, sofa sleepers and balconies. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles. Additional attractions close to this Ascend Collection hotel in Louisiana include the Creole Heritage Folklife Center museum, Le Vieux Village historic landmark area, Opelousas Museum of Art and the Rural African American Museum. Opelousas is home to a number of annual events like the Original Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival, Yambilee Festival and the Holy Ghost Creole Festival. Hotel guest services and amenities: Direct access to Casino from Hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast served daily 6 am to 10 am, Two (2) Elevators giving easy access to all floors, Large indoor swimming pool, Large sitting area for guests, Large 6-8 person whirlpool/hot tub, Large exercise/fitness room with state of the art exercise equipment, Large attractive breakfast room w/ patio seating, Meeting room, seating capacity for 60 people, 40” LCDs in each room, Handicap designed rooms to exceed the ADA requirements, Ample on site parking with handicap parking, Large fireplace in the spacious lobby that has a warm and homey comfortable theme. All queen and king pillow top beds, In-room safes, Coin-operated laundry facilities with folding/work area, Free High Speed/Wireless in each room and throughout hotel, Microwaves and refrigerators in all guest rooms, Dry bar or wet bar in all guest rooms, Coffee makers, full length mirrors, recliners, ergonomic chairs, large work areas, hair dryers, irons and boards in all guest rooms. Business center with computers and printer. After a long day, guests of this Opelousas, LA hotel can unwind in the exercise room, or relax at the indoor heated pool and hot tub. For the corporate traveler, this Louisiana hotel provides an assortment of modern conveniences like an on-site business center, a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service. A banquet and meeting room is located on the premises and can accommodate up to 50 people for most functions. At the Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, you can surround yourself with an array of amenities and personalized service. Make a reservation with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Evangeline Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing