We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for our 5 year wedding anniversary. The staff is very friendly, the pool and hot tub were very clean, and the room was nice and spacious. The complimentary bath items in the room were from Bath and Body Works, which I loved!! I also loved that they had free Wi-Fi, which is hard to find as of late.

I only had a couple of concerns, but they weren't anything major. The first is that the cable quality was lousy. I'm not sure if it was the TV or the cable itself. The other "problem" is that the "free hot breakfast" is a bit misleading. They have a waffle maker which my husband loves, but the only hot items were scrambled eggs and bacon. They did have the standard muffins, cereal, coffee, milk, and juices. Since it was free, I'm not complaining too much. ;)

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a great compliments. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
337-407-2121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
20
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Not very much to do in this town, but if you enjoy casino gambling, horse racing, a little night life dancing this is the place to be. They seem always be at capacity so book in advance. The rooms were very spacious with huge 42" TV's. They could improve on their front desk customer service attitudes for the rates they charge. The free breakfast was your basic self serve waffle machine, eggs and meat. We chose to eat breakfast at the Casino instead primarily because the eating area was small and limited on seating. All in all it was a nice stay and we will consider staying again. Next best hotel in the area is the Hilton in Lafayette.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCAMPBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel as your "One Stop Vacation Spot." It was truly a pleasure to serve you. I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is or goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please remember us for your next getaway!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. We weren't dissapointed at all! Everything was well put together! We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, breakfast room. I like how they give us complimentary treats such as New Orleans traditional caramel popcorn. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are very pretty and clean. Showers were HUGE! Gave us cool shampoos and body lotions from Bath & Body Works. You have to stay here. I promise you, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly4Ever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is or goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit. Again thanks for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh, Louisiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a romantic get away, was very impressed with the room, the people were super nice, and with me being in a wheelchair was very handicapped accessable. The only problem we had was we were in the room next to the pool, and about 7pm at least four young people went to the pool without adult supervision and cavorted in the pool and in the halls until 2am. Some small child even managed to get in our room looking for her mother. We complained and were told they could do nothing about it, the parents go to the casino and leave the kids on their own, They ranged in the age from about 4 to 14. The pool closes at midnight. Maybe they need to shorten the hours!! We will go back, but we will be certain to get a room away from the pool!!!! Would they be responsible if one of these kids drown and they cant find their parents??

Room Tip: Make certain you are away from the pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write me concerning you recent stay at our hotel. I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in regards to noise you encountered during you stay. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both customer service and hospitality, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. Let me simply say that all of us here at the Evangeline Downs Hotel are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience for our guests than what you had the misfortune of experiencing. Again, thank you for taking the time to write. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you and your family properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelousas, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family visited from London and made reservations at the hotel. They were happy with the room when I asked how was their stay. The beds were comforatable and they found the room clean. They said they will stay there again on the next visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PJRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. Bring a copy of this email to receive a 5 percent discount or free room upgrade on your next reservation.
We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times for dog competitions in the area. The front desk staff have always been friendly and accommodating. The rooms are great, roomy and very clean with nice decor. The bathrooms are lovely with a large walk- in type shower and pretty granite countertop at the sink. It is convenient to just walk thru the hotel to the restaurant buffet or bar without having to drive anywhere. There is also a casino there but I have never gone into it.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idabob5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. Bring a copy of this email to receive a 5 percent discount or free room upgrade on your next reservation.
We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bed was fine. The bathroom was clean. No tub, just a walk in shower which was fine. The furnishings in the room were a little tired and old fashioned. The room was very, very quiet.

The breakfast buffet was pretty uninspired and ordinary: cold boiled eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, two kinds of cereal, bread and bagels to toast, apple or orange juice, coffee, instant oatmeal packets. So, lots of carbs not much protein.

I think this is the best place to stay in area and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelousas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Holiday Inn Opelousas
#1 of 7 in Opelousas
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 7 in Opelousas
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
21.3 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#26 of 50 in Lafayette
120 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Downs Hotel

Property: Evangeline Downs Hotel
Address: 2235 Creswell Ln Ext Ste B, Opelousas, LA 70570-1982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evangeline Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection® hotel, is connected to Louisiana's prestigious Evangeline Downs Racetrack & Casino, home of quarter horse racing, gaming, live entertainment, numerous restaurants and more. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are furnished with flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, desks, hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, irons, ironing boards, pillow-top mattresses and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like wet bars, sofa sleepers and balconies. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles. Additional attractions close to this Ascend Collection hotel in Louisiana include the Creole Heritage Folklife Center museum, Le Vieux Village historic landmark area, Opelousas Museum of Art and the Rural African American Museum. Opelousas is home to a number of annual events like the Original Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival, Yambilee Festival and the Holy Ghost Creole Festival. Hotel guest services and amenities: Direct access to Casino from Hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast served daily 6 am to 10 am, Two (2) Elevators giving easy access to all floors, Large indoor swimming pool, Large sitting area for guests, Large 6-8 person whirlpool/hot tub, Large exercise/fitness room with state of the art exercise equipment, Large attractive breakfast room w/ patio seating, Meeting room, seating capacity for 60 people, 40” LCDs in each room, Handicap designed rooms to exceed the ADA requirements, Ample on site parking with handicap parking, Large fireplace in the spacious lobby that has a warm and homey comfortable theme. All queen and king pillow top beds, In-room safes, Coin-operated laundry facilities with folding/work area, Free High Speed/Wireless in each room and throughout hotel, Microwaves and refrigerators in all guest rooms, Dry bar or wet bar in all guest rooms, Coffee makers, full length mirrors, recliners, ergonomic chairs, large work areas, hair dryers, irons and boards in all guest rooms. Business center with computers and printer. After a long day, guests of this Opelousas, LA hotel can unwind in the exercise room, or relax at the indoor heated pool and hot tub. For the corporate traveler, this Louisiana hotel provides an assortment of modern conveniences like an on-site business center, a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service. A banquet and meeting room is located on the premises and can accommodate up to 50 people for most functions. At the Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, you can surround yourself with an array of amenities and personalized service. Make a reservation with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Evangeline Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing